Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Origins a drag on the Comp

newc18

You should take some of your own advice. You've been whinging all thread at anyone who wants it to stay as is.
You're welcome to put me on ignore if you don't want to read what I have to say. It's really not that difficult.

We are on here to talk about footy. I'm giving my opinion on the subject matter and never once attacked someone because of their opinion like you just did. I don't comment on your posts when I don't like what you have to say and single you out to tell you to stop complaining. I just ignore it and move on because I know not everyone will have the same opinion as me and that's fine. Be a better human.

newc18

Still want international at the top of the tree imo
Internationals has huge growth potential especially as we invest more into the Pacific, and I would love to see the day we pack out a stadium the size of Accor for a Kangaroos game, but I don't think that growth needs to come at the expense of Origin. Both can grow.

Wb1234

Internationals has huge growth potential especially as we invest more into the Pacific, and I would love to see the day we pack out a stadium the size of Accor for a Kangaroos game, but I don't that growth needs to come at the expense of Origin. Both can grow.
Last team to beat Australia in a series in Australia was the French

Crowds were massive too

England being useless killed off international rugby league

Vlad59

can this thread just die now?
the afl are do desperate for headlines they are spouting stories about who will be in the sprint race they hold on their grand final day.
origin kills all other local sports discussion for nearly two months simply because of its scheduling. It’s a bloody monster and our opposition would love us to deplete it. What ever anybody thinks here (and boy are there some small thinkers) origin is a unique opportunity given to us every year to solatter the headlines with rugby league.
And for those sooking about the lack of top players for some games, crowds and ratings have barely been affected this year, and the newest crop of players have had a chance to play for their clubs in front of big crowds. That’s some great succession planning going on there.

If more eligible PI'ers choose NZ and it'll die naturally anyway, especially when WA, PNG and Vic are also supplying NRL talent. The more it moves from the 'best of the best' narrative the less credibility it will have as the pinnacle of the Australian game.

For now its a massive cash cow to be milked and generates national interest more than any other aspect of the sport.

soc123_au

I don't think Origin is what it used to be. I'm not too sure if it is the actual product or just a case of now I don't need the sideshow to fill the fix each year of hoping with a somewhat realistic chance to see a team I care about actually win something.

I have no where near as much love for it as I used to, but I still cant imagine ever switching it off or not at least being invested on game day. I just dont care that much about the result by the morning after where as before I'd be either dirty (most of the time) or happy for weeks after. Also the result management seems a lot more obvious now at least in my eyes than it used to. I remember the Gommersal years, but didn't watch games with the same scrutiny as I do now.

It will never die, and I dont think it should. It is built to give some reason for 2 headed inbreds and supporters of shit teams something to be invested in. I'd just like it to have less impact on the regular season. I'd be interested to hear if a supporter of any team would give up even one premiership to have their state win 10 straight, I know I wouldn't.

soc123_au

If more eligible PI'ers choose NZ and it'll die naturally anyway, especially when WA, PNG and Vic are also supplying NRL talent. The more it moves from the 'best of the best' narrative the less credibility it will have as the pinnacle of the Australian game.

For now its a massive cash cow to be milked and generates national interest more than any other aspect of the sport.
The NRL wont allow that to happen. If the day ever comes where a PI nation goes tier one, it will also be the day Origin eligibility changes to State eligibility regardless of international allegiance. Players like Radley, Leota etc would also then become eligible. Which I personally believe is what it should be anyway.

Way too much money at stake to let it die over a stupid rule.

Jonno

Origin was also about selection for the Australian team.
That area also has died off to a point that there are limited Test matches and even players in Origin can represent Samoa or NZ.
Not sure the rules anymore, but could Stephen Crichton even play for Australia if he was picked?

Chins

The NRL wont allow that to happen. If the day ever comes where a PI nation goes tier one, it will also be the day Origin eligibility changes to State eligibility regardless of international allegiance. Players like Radley, Leota etc would also then become eligible. Which I personally believe is what it should be anyway.

Lots of racist undertones from people who don't want the Islanders to play

Wb1234

Tonga and Samoa are tier one now if we’re being real

I don't think Origin is what it used to be. I'm not too sure if it is the actual product or just a case of now I don't need the sideshow to fill the fix each year of hoping with a somewhat realistic chance to see a team I care about actually win something.

I have no where near as much love for it as I used to, but I still cant imagine ever switching it off or not at least being invested on game day. I just dont care that much about the result by the morning after where as before I'd be either dirty (most of the time) or happy for weeks after. Also the result management seems a lot more obvious now at least in my eyes than it used to. I remember the Gommersal years, but didn't watch games with the same scrutiny as I do now.

It will never die, and I dont think it should. It is built to give some reason for 2 headed inbreds and supporters of shit teams something to be invested in. I'd just like it to have less impact on the regular season. I'd be interested to hear if a supporter of any team would give up even one premiership to have their state win 10 straight, I know I wouldn't.
I think I would give up 1 premiership for a decade of Origin, but that is sitting from the position I am in today. Even a year ago (after 3peat) probably wouldn’t say the same.

Caveat to that is I want that to be on the basis of a contest. In terms of result management, even the Gommersal years added to the SOO mystique; each state chose a ref during the series and they were going to be biased. But to a certain extent that was purer, based on parochialism. Today it seems to be based on ensuring a certain outcome (getting to a live game 3) and that just makes this feel less like sport and more like entertainment.

I do want to add that while I have issues with Game 2, I don’t want to take anything away from the QLDers in game 3. Much better team and played the conditions and the ref so much better than NSW.

can this thread just die now?
the afl are do desperate for headlines they are spouting stories about who will be in the sprint race they hold on their grand final day.
origin kills all other local sports discussion for nearly two months simply because of its scheduling. It’s a bloody monster and our opposition would love us to deplete it. What ever anybody thinks here (and boy are there some small thinkers) origin is a unique opportunity given to us every year to solatter the headlines with rugby league.
And for those sooking about the lack of top players for some games, crowds and ratings have barely been affected this year, and the newest crop of players have had a chance to play for their clubs in front of big crowds. That’s some great succession planning going on there.

Yeah and imagine splattering the headlines wall to wall in a three week block!

Very few people in this thread want to deplete Origin. Calls for it to be better balanced in the modern NRL where the season proper is so much longer and more valuable aren't "sooking". Ratings aside this was the most boring Origin series in years dominated by Klein doing his best to ruin the spectacle - which if anything demonstrates people will still watch it.

Chins

Yeah and imagine splattering the headlines wall to wall in a three week block!

Very few people in this thread want to deplete Origin. Calls for it to be better balanced in the modern NRL where the season proper is so much longer and more valuable aren't "sooking". Ratings aside this was the most boring Origin series in years dominated by Klein doing his best to ruin the spectacle - which if anything demonstrates people will still watch it.
Its normally the worst footy of the year. Getting the squads together for 3 straight weeks would help this

Vlad59

You're welcome to put me on ignore if you don't want to read what I have to say. It's really not that difficult.

We are on here to talk about footy. I'm giving my opinion on the subject matter and never once attacked someone because of their opinion like you just did. I don't comment on your posts when I don't like what you have to say and single you out to tell you to stop complaining. I just ignore it and move on because I know not everyone will have the same opinion as me and that's fine. Be a better human.
You are a flog