Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Attention Sladden and Shadow - The Beer that Talks

Out of necessity I've had to take a second job at a bottlo a long way from home, somewhere between Blacktown and Penrith. A very long way from Gamay.
I drank Coopers Sparkling Ale way back in the late 80's early 90's, when it was something stupid like 6.9 0r 7.2%.
We'd go to Promises and not eat from lunch time so drink these Coopers on an empty stomach and see what happened.
We tripped far worse than any mushy or acid could go. We came up with a saying "Coopers - The Beer that Talks"
Later on I'd add-on "and it talks through me"
No one at that time would drink Coopers, even when I lived in the inner west in 97 to '11 no-one did, except me.
That all changed around 15 years ago, and Coopers Green became trendy. By then I hadn't been on Coopers for a good 7 years. I'd been touring Spain playing rock and drinking Euro trash beer for a few years, maybe some other stuff with it, well no maybes about it, real cocaine and hash. Coopers was no where near my wants.

So back to now. I've been working nights for months, 9pm to 5am, but it's been too erratic, some work here, some there. I needed at least one stable shift, enter a Bottlo where my mate is the manager, it's in Glendenning. History shows that the manager and I work very well together, he was the Brewer and Licensee at Shark Island when I was Cellar Door Manager.
I'm looking at what to take home to "wind down", and what is actual value. In saying this I'm recognising the both of you, sladden and shadow about the Balter XPA.
I went against all my Coopers mind troops and bought a case of Coopers XPA for $66! A fecking steal for 24 cans.
Verdict? It tastes great, t doesn't make me feel loopy like the Old Time Coopers, and more importantly the New Time Balter.
It's even got a higher ABV at 5.2% but the angst that goes with the Balter XPA isn't there.
I mean at 66 bucks a case of 24, which means $11 per 4-pack, compared to Balters $25 approx. Forgeddabouddit.

The real test is to come.
As I'm in total night vision, lifestyle wise, my arvo drinking started at midnight.
We're gunna see what lasts longer, the case or my disturbing habits raising glory.
Could be fun, for some.

The Beer is Talking

PS: for the last few weeks, and tomorrow, I have been working at Maitland on a Monday night.
Leave home at 7pm, finish shift and drive home to Gamay at 5.30am.
That leaves today as a small window of depravity.

Cheese sandwich

Out of necessity I've had to take a second job at a bottlo a long way from home, somewhere between Blacktown and Penrith. A very long way from Gamay.
I drank Coopers Sparkling Ale way back in the late 80's early 90's, when it was something stupid like 6.9 0r 7.2%.
We'd go to Promises and not eat from lunch time so drink these Coopers on an empty stomach and see what happened.
We tripped far worse than any mushy or acid could go. We came up with a saying "Coopers - The Beer that Talks"
Later on I'd add-on "and it talks through me"
No one at that time would drink Coopers, even when I lived in the inner west in 97 to '11 no-one did, except me.
That all changed around 15 years ago, and Coopers Green became trendy. By then I hadn't been on Coopers for a good 7 years. I'd been touring Spain playing rock and drinking Euro trash beer for a few years, maybe some other stuff with it, well no maybes about it, real cocaine and hash. Coopers was no where near my wants.

So back to now. I've been working nights for months, 9pm to 5am, but it's been too erratic, some work here, some there. I needed at least one stable shift, enter a Bottlo where my mate is the manager, it's in Glendenning. History shows that the manager and I work very well together, he was the Brewer and Licensee at Shark Island when I was Cellar Door Manager.
I'm looking at what to take home to "wind down", and what is actual value. In saying this I'm recognising the both of you, sladden and shadow about the Balter XPA.
I went against all my Coopers mind troops and bought a case of Coopers XPA for $66! A fecking steal for 24 cans.
Verdict? It tastes great, t doesn't make me feel loopy like the Old Time Coopers, and more importantly the New Time Balter.
It's even got a higher ABV at 5.2% but the angst that goes with the Balter XPA isn't there.
I mean at 66 bucks a case of 24, which means $11 per 4-pack, compared to Balters $25 approx. Forgeddabouddit.

The real test is to come.
As I'm in total night vision, lifestyle wise, my arvo drinking started at midnight.
We're gunna see what lasts longer, the case or my disturbing habits raising glory.
Could be fun, for some.

The Beer is Talking

PS: for the last few weeks, and tomorrow, I have been working at Maitland on a Monday night.
Leave home at 7pm, finish shift and drive home to Gamay at 5.30am.
That leaves today as a small window of depravity.
Maitland you say. Dm me one day and we'll catch up, I live here (lucky me...)

Sladden and shadow, this is where Coopers XPA and myself combine for music.

I just posted a story on farcebook on how I played a gig at Jack Gibson's house on the Port Hacking.
This song first then I'll post the story, which is very true.

I feel like telling a story.
Title: The day I played Jack Gibsons house.

In 1990 I'd come back from surfing Europe , drinking Kalimoxto in Spain, knives at my throat in Morrocco etc. I was 20 years old.
We were living at 100 Elouera Rd Cronulla.
Our garage band, Hellth, would do our stuff in surprisingly enough, our garage.
Local surf/muso Gary Hughes lived across the road. One day he came across to us jamming with his dog, Rebel, and asked us to play a SIDS benefit at WANDA Surf Club with Gary Hughes Charm School and Death By Bunta. Bunta were real Cronulla legends Dick Bent and the Bentniks rebranded. The gig was signed off as "On Bondage Up Yours", how that related to SIDS I'll never know.
Anyway besides the point.
A few weeks later, Herb ( Cronulla legend, Richard Herbert aka Dick Bent, aka lead singer of Death By Bunta) rocks up to our house on a Satdy morn with a mate of his called Matt.
Herb asks us if Hellth could play a show with Bunta for Matt's going away party.
I'm like "Yeah man, cool. Where ya going?"
"To manage a Cattle Station" he said.
Herb says to me "Look mate this isn't a money gig but we can sling you 100 bucks."
"Thats cool" I say. I didn't care, we had a show.
Herb then goes " Look, it's Matty's going away but ya know there can't be shenanigans going on"
I'm totally confused.
"what do you mean, mate?"
"Drugs" was his answer
I assured him that we're not the so way inclined.
Then Herb let it out
"it's more about his dad"
Me, confused as hell "Whose his dad?"
"Jack Gibson"

We were a light weight band doing covers that we loved. Basically, Birdman, Rifles, Stooges, MC5 and Hellmenn covers with a few others mixed. That was what we surfed to so that is what we played to.

The gig is on the Port Hacking . Jack Gibsons house. Super excited.

We set up.

Jack is there with his cronies looking over from his top balcony and all his mates happy to be in the frivolities.
I think we did "I-94" first.
Half way through the song I gain the confidence to look up at Jack, at the same point Jack points to his mates to leave downstairs.
Never to be seen again.
Doesn't't change the fact.

I Played Jack Gibsons House.