Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: BBQ thread (suggestions on what to buy)

Poss

I am looking to purchase a new bbq and am becoming quite confused about which is the best way to go. I have a "Kmart special" 4 burner jackeroo which has done me the last few years but am now wanting to upgrade to something a bit better. My budget is around $1000 and I'm looking for either a 5 or 6 burner. Stainless steel or stainless steel/black enamel.

I like the looks of Beefeater or Masport or Gasmate.
Will probably steer clear of the BBQ's Galore brands.
Here is a Masport 5 burner that I am considering:

http://www.masport.com.au/lifestyle-products/barbecues/supreme-plus-rbw-210

Masport%20552734%20-%20Supreme%20Plus%20RBW%20210.jpg

So anyone got any advice or suggestions?
What do you all cook on?

I am really coming around to the idea of a Family sized Weber Q3200.
So many reviews and forums say this is the best thing since sliced bbq'd bread. It is all hood down cooking and acts like an oven, uses less gas, gives great flavours etc. I just worry that the size might not be suitable for party's, grand final day etc....

http://www.weberbbq.com.au/CompareProducts.php?comparisonId=3

57062124_pp.jpg

Feej

I've had a Weber Q for a couple of years and they are great! You have to change the way you BBQ a little, but it's so worth it. Best roast pork and crackling ever!

Poss

How does it go just cooking a steak and some snags though?
I like to see the meat cooking and wouldn't be able to do that with the lid down.
How am I supposed to stand around and jab the meat with tongs to pretend that I know what I am doing if the hood is down all the time?

Feej

It does steaks beautifully. Snags, for me at least, are a bit hit and miss. You really have to get used to keeping the lid down and following the cooking times. If you like to fiddle with your meat (there you go uncle Sad), then you'd be better off with a regular BBQ.

I have 2 webers
1 povo model Q for camping and a 4 burner ( silver series )with side wok burner thingo for home.
I have used the 4 burner approx 4 times a week for 10 years.
Never covered it ....it gets rained on all the time.
stainless steel and plastic side tables .
wok dial doesn't turn anymore and ignition button is worn out.
I do everything on it.
roasts , steaks , seafood....even made beer on it.
the 2 things wrong with it can be fixed in about 20 mins by a BBQ dude I'd imagine.
I never really used the wok burner thing so I never bothered getting it fixed. All it is , is the dial has seized up.
Like I said though .....I have flogged it to death.
Probably get another 5 years out of it.
If it was kept under cover it could last for as long as you want.

Poss

The weber BBQ range like yours are amazing but way out of my budget.
You're looking at $2k plus for anything more than a 2 burner aren't you?

My other option is to look at getting a Weber Family Q3200 and a Weber Kettle for times when I need to cook more food for parties. The kettle cooks using charcoal... But I have never done charcoal cooking before so it might be a bit too tricky/messy/time consuming for me.

Weber Q

Fantastic for steak and standard BBQ things.
Cooks a great roast too. Beef, chicken, pork etc. absolutely fantastic.
Roast pork on the Weber is the way forward.

Love the thing

Poss

So all you blokes that have Weber Q's....
What do you do if say you have Grand Final day at your place and you have 30-40 people coming. How do you cook a bbq for that many people on something that doesn't have a very big cooking surface?

The weber BBQ range like yours are amazing but way out of my budget.
You're looking at $2k plus for anything more than a 2 burner aren't you?

My other option is to look at getting a Weber Family Q3200 and a Weber Kettle for times when I need to cook more food for parties. The kettle cooks using charcoal... But I have never done charcoal cooking before so it might be a bit too tricky/messy/time consuming for me.

yeah probably , Mine was about $1500 10 years ago.

don't waste your time with coals...they take too long IMO.

I Just went camping with people who had the Q32OO . They are great for a family but party might be tough.
My little one can fit 1 kilo of snags on the extra flat plate...or the other night we had about 8 chicken thighs and 2 big steaks on all at once.

What do you do if say you have Grand Final day at your place and you have 30-40 people coming. How do you cook a bbq for that many people on something that doesn't have a very big cooking surface?

Time management I guess

Cook stuff early, keep it in the oven under foil keeping it warm.

Start chicken first etc.

Depends what you cook

This feb at our Super Bowl party I did all the wings early then had em warm in trays in the oven

and then had a big roast pig in there.

Was good

southland

We have a weber baby Q and it hasn't missed a beat. Takes a bit to get used to i.e. cooking with the lid down but the results are simply awesome!

Lid down would spoil the fun IMO, it's important to stand near the bbq with a beer in one hand and tongs in the other while you watch things cook.

um

borrow a bigger BBQ.

Stand there cooking all day

just do snags

chewsta

Lid down would spoil the fun IMO, it's important to stand near the bbq with a beer in one hand and tongs in the other while you watch things cook.

This place needs a "LIKE" button.

My missus just bought me a new bbq for fathers day from Masters.
All stainless body, 4 burners plus one side Wok Burner, hood, heating shelf, lockable doors/under cabinet AND a rotisserie. all up, under $400.

Cooked a few chooks and a big f**k off pork and crackling on the rotisserie. My god it was delicious!

I got one from bunnings, similar to the Masport one in the OP.

Works a treat, within about a week or two when this shit Melbourne weather finally f**ks off, we'll have most of our meals through til April on it,

The only real value in the Weber Q in my opinion anyways, is that its portable. Which is a big bonus.

But if you just want something to sit on the porch/verandah etc then may as well save some bucks and get a stainless steel get up. They all do the same shit really.

Windy70

They won't all turn up at once and they won't all want to eat at the same time.....so just keep it coming Poss and all will be happy.

Cept you cause your at the BBQ all day not the lounge watchin the footy.

They won't all turn up at once and they won't all want to eat at the same time.....so just keep it coming Poss and all will be happy.

Cept you cause your at the BBQ all day not the lounge watchin the footy.[/QUOTE]

Are you saying He should BBQ alone instead of watching the footy?

bluey

I like the Volcanic rocks or the ceramic
the taste is far better than just straight gas.