Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Legal Eel

I have not looked into the pardon, but it did come as a surprise.

I will wait for legal analysis, however I do know this; once pardoned it cannot be re-tried by any new evidence or reversed by a new president.

I bet you $1 that there were mutterings around Capital Hill they they planned to put Hunter away for a long time, just because.

Personally, I get that you can pardon a turkey at Thanks Giving and maybe even pardon someone who was sentenced never to be released for good behaviour. However this mates rates BS in America has become a bit of a joke.

It will be interesting to see how many of the Jan 6 merkins get pardoned late Jan.

Thank f**k we have separation of the judiciary and the executive branches in Australia.
This.

The American pardon system is an absolute clown show of self serving interest on both sides under the guise of "clemency."

Legal Eel

The King, or indeed the GG acting in his place has the same power, it's just not frequently used, and accepted practice is not to pardon "mates".

This what happens when leaders of democracies loose sight of their conventions, I've said it before, so much that we take for granted in our democracy is governed by convention, not law. It's why leaders not following the conventions is serious shit.
Our GG doesn't quite have the same discretionary power- but i see your point,

Bully for you mate, but all this confected outrage about shit is just that.

Whoa there laddie, who's talking about shutting down conversation? If I choose to ignore merkins getting riled up about dumb shit that's my business, i'm not demanding they be silenced, but by the same token am I under some social obligation to accept any given grievance as valid? You're free to express your grievances as you please, but there is no inherent right that they not be smugly dismissed, the world of ideas doesn't need f**king participation awards.

There are some serious issues around the day, but News Corp fawning outrage over a group of pubs not celebrating it, or last years effort of Woolies not selling tacky plastic patriotism is not one of them.

These things literally affect no one in any meaningful way, and I dare say we'd near all be oblivious to it if not for the likes of News Corp whipping up a storm in a teacup over it. You wanna talk about shutting down debate? what do you reckon these kind of stories and the way they are pitched does for debate?

Particularly given the story is based on the lie of the group not celebrating being sold as the group banning celebration.

But as we see from above, the group's been beaten into submission. Great result for freedom of expression that hey?
Angry word salad.

I'd rather see constructive contributions from both sides of the debate. Definitely not the biggest issue in the world, but important to some.

Angry word salad.

I'd rather see constructive contributions from both sides of the debate. Definitely not the biggest issue in the world, but important to some.

we're back to left V right again, I don't disagree with your view of constructive contributions from both "sides" if they have a view and wish to express it

what about those who don't give a shit and just want the day off with their family bbq and don't want to debate the issue ?

I believe that would apply to a lot of people, if not most

bazza

what about those who don't give a shit and just want the day off with their family bbq and don't want to debate the issue ?

I believe that would apply to a lot of people, if not most
enjoying a day with your friends and family doesn't get the clicks like something that can cause arguments with your friends and family

lol .... i dont understand the context ... whats this about? .... seems to have lost its meaning. Dont know why its still here.
Birds aren't real is a conspiracy theory. Apparently. They don't want you to know the truth.

Bandwagon

Our GG doesn't quite have the same discretionary power- but i see your point,

I didn't mean to suggest he or she does, as the representative of the monarch, in such a case the GG is exercising the power of the monarch, not his or her own.