Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Since when has Putin been man of his word ?

I’ve been arguing the ukkies should have sued for peace 690,000 deaths ago.

I think you were calling for defcon 4!

It’s not a matter of who was right, it’s about saving lives.

There’s as much blood on the wests hands as there is on russias in this.

Raytheon etc share price went ballistic. The snouts in the trough feeding on dead kids has been disgusting.

Who is we ? Cos I didn’t offer an opinion. All I did was show there was an option on the table which is an alternative to carving up Ukraine and giving Putin what he wants for the sake of “peace“. Cos that’s what his proxies are hoping for.
My bad. That you posted a video titled, Quiet part out loud, suggested you believed dodgy shit was going on. I guess not.

What does the shutting down of USAID mean to our region? Musk has frozen funds to medical treatment facilities in refugee camps, vaccination programs, food relief etc across the world. He will only reactivate funding IF he thinks that it benefits USAs interests. So in the SE Asia / Pacific region it means that China will step in and fill the void. I guess unless we do.

The richest country in the world, run by a non elected richest man in the world is now determining the health and fate of humans with the flick of a pen.

Yet somehow Musk is a good guy and Gates is Dr Evil.

The Western world isn't as powerfull as it thinks. The East is exploding. The transfer of power and who calls the rules will change within 20yrs.

Their middle class is increasing rapidly whilst most western countries is shrinking.
China went from 3.1% in 2000 to over 50% in 2018.
India's is rising.

America's basicaly a duck in the water. We are just watching an empire crumble which is natural. I reckon Trump knows it and his plan long term will be to make America self sufficient. That's when they'll say f**k the world,wars etc.

If I was going to back a horse it would be India. That's my diamond in the rough. I think they will become a super power.
Heaps of people, decent army, have the nukes. Hard working, reasonably educated and dedicated. And sneaky.
If they got close to China between the two they would control the world

As someone who has done business with both, I can tell you they are chalk and cheese. Indians are not hard working; many are scammers and are always looking for a shortcut to money.

The Indians have no pride in their work, they will quote you a fee, get halfway through the job then ask for more money, which you have to pay or you don't get the product, and when you get it, the materials are very poor standard (soft metals) and the tolerances are very high, so much that some of the items I bought needed to be machined again here in Australia.

The Chinese take much pride in their quality, quote you a fee, and deliver on time and the quality is excellent.

I have been sourcing mechanical equipment from both countries for over 15 years and the sample size is quite high. With the experiences that I have had, I would imagine that India is on a downward spiral.

What does the shutting down of USAID mean to our region? Musk has frozen funds to medical treatment facilities in refugee camps, vaccination programs, food relief etc across the world. He will only reactivate funding IF he thinks that it benefits USAs interests. So in the SE Asia / Pacific region it means that China will step in and fill the void. I guess unless we do.

The richest country in the world, run by a non elected richest man in the world is now determining the health and fate of humans with the flick of a pen.

US AID isnt a humanitarian agency.
It might put money into some "aid" causes but its in the interest of buying favours.

China does the same and we all shit the bed over it.

JokerEel

Its shit that they have basically just stopped funding it but maybe if it wasn't poorly run they wouldn't have to stop the funding?

King-Gutho94

As someone who has done business with both, I can tell you they are chalk and cheese. Indians are not hard working; many are scammers and are always looking for a shortcut to money.

The Indians have no pride in their work, they will quote you a fee, get halfway through the job then ask for more money, which you have to pay or you don't get the product, and when you get it, the materials are very poor standard (soft metals) and the tolerances are very high, so much that some of the items I bought needed to be machined again here in Australia.

The Chinese take much pride in their quality, quote you a fee, and deliver on time and the quality is excellent.

I have been sourcing mechanical equipment from both countries for over 15 years and the sample size is quite high. With the experiences that I have had, I would imagine that India is on a downward spiral.
Its iroinc you say this because I know a few tradies that refuse to do any more simple residential work for Indians as they been burnt multiple times as they try and squeeze down your price after the job has been completed about the specifics.

And good luck getting a variation from them.

My brother did a basic plumbing job once which was an investigation to see the problem was.

It was like getting blood out of stone getting the money in the end.

At the end of the day people don't want to deal with the hassle. You do a job as you quoted it you get paid.

It was almost like after that fixing the issue wasn't going to be worth the trouble in the end because getting paid to investigate it for a day was painful enough.

USAID is not poorly run. It just runs counter to Chumps conception of what charity is. That is handouts to the Uber Wealthy while letting the poor and destitute "fend for themselves".