Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

I find sub continent people difficult to deal with on a business sense.
I reckon plenty would agree but dont have the balls to admit it cause they are worried how they'll be labelled.
Oh well. I guess it takes a little bit of sustained effort over time to feel comfortable in (business or other) interactions with the full diversity of people. And there's nothing wrong with people having the balls to admit their own flaws and areas for further development and growth (including in their business).

Thanks for clearing that up. Globalism and globalisation has zero to do with it eh.
Globalism is an inherent part of capitalism.
Who do you prefer as your future overlord.
China or India?
It doesn't bother me. As The Who once sang: "Meet the new boss, same as the old boss."
I'm not against immigration. If you'd read what I wrote you'd know that. I am against having so much of it that my culture is being replaced by another in the country I love and live in.
Yeah, I read what you wrote. Have fun at your protest about that this Sunday...
I don't know why you mention Trump. He's as bad as the rest of them as far as I'm concerned.
If you'd read what I wrote you'd know why.

Globalism is an inherent part of capitalism.
It is now. No need for it to be so though. Not to this extent.
It doesn't bother me. As The Who once sang: "Meet the new boss, same as the old boss."
As I suspected.
Yeah, I read what you wrote. Have fun at your protest about that this Sunday...
You're making an assumption there. I'm still undecided.
If you'd read what I wrote you'd know why.
Oh I know why as far as your motivation goes. I just don't know why you'd think it was relevant to me.

Got anything else I didn't write to put in quotation marks?

Oh well. I guess it takes a little bit of sustained effort over time to feel comfortable in (business or other) interactions with the full diversity of people. And there's nothing wrong with people having the balls to admit their own flaws and areas for further development and growth (including in their business).

I don't see it as a flaw at all. I see it as an opportunity to charge more.
That's business.

King-Gutho94

I find sub continent people difficult to deal with on a business sense.
I reckon plenty would agree but dont have the balls to admit it cause they are worried how they'll be labelled.
There is one nationality that i know a lot of tradies have told me they wont deal with.

There painful and try to screw you down for every dollar when asked to quote or do any residential works.

And as they say to me no point upping the price for quotes with these people as a measure to deal with the drama because at the end of the day they come back with a billion questions anyway to screw you down from the original price.

Some can't be bothered good luck to those who want to deal with it.

Then you have to make sure you get the $$$ off them when the job is complete.

I think the Anti-immigration rallies should be banned because they are likely to disrupt traffic and a public nuisance. They could turn violent too.

And my guess is half of the rascals organising it won’t actually turn up.

There is one nationality that i know a lot of tradies have told me they wont deal with.

There painful and try to screw you down for every dollar when asked to quote or do any residential works.

And as they say to me no point upping the price for quotes with these people as a measure to deal with the drama because at the end of the day they come back with a billion questions anyway to screw you down from the original price.

Unfortunately, this has been my experience.
Either try and screw my price down or attempt to pay less at the end.
It's happened too many times for me that I now refuse to do any more work for them.
Yes, they are Indians. To preface that, I have a lot of Indian friends who are very nice people and I happily socialise with them. I just won't do business with them. Full stop.

You can say it you know. It's not racist.
E.g. This true story. I was talking to a white Australian woman about 2 yrs ago at my local butcher. She had her 6 yr old daughter with her who had henna or hanna or whatever you call them brown temporary tattoos that the sub continental ladies like to adorn themselves with on the back of both hands.
I enquired about it and was informed that the daughter was the only non sub continental kid in her class and none of the sub continental girls wanted a bar of her.
In an attempt to fit in, the hands were done with Mummies assurances that things would improve. Over the 7 days the tatts had been on the daughter, there was no improvement from the attitude of her fellow class mates.

You then have to ask yourself how the f**k do 6 yr olds get to be like that?
I'm not sure about it but I have my suspicions.
I've deliberately used the term sub continental here as once you get past the white ones, discerning between an Indian or a Sri Lankan can be difficult even for this seasoned pro.

Until governments are prepared to implement policy that brings the price of housing down, shit will just get worse.

What government is gonna implement policy that deliberately means anyone who already owns a home loses. f**king none, instead we'll get more of the same dumb shit that subsidizes merkins getting into the market and inevitably makes house prices grow, thus meaning next lot of merkins need even more government help to get into the market.

We are dumb, because we reward this behavior, and will punish any merkin who actually does what's needed
This. If proper reform occurred that made all housing more affordable people who already have properties would blow up deluxe.

Housing is seen as an investment. Even people who own one home expect growth because it has been happening for decades.

We didn’t do a lot to our last house that we recently sold, but the amount it increased over 4 years was ridiculous. That’s a fairly normal experience though and I’m noticing how hard-nosed people selling can be now that we are looking to buy again.

I talk to younger people at work and its beyond many of them unless they want to live in the middle of nowhere.

It is now. No need for it to be so though. Not to this extent.
Horse bolted, decades ago.
You're making an assumption there. I'm still undecided.
Do let us know when you do make your mind up. Many of us saw who/what organisations are running the protest and could decide instantly that this Sunday wasn't something we wanted to be associated with.
Oh I know why as far as your motivation goes. I just don't know why you'd think it was relevant to me.
My motivation didn't come into it. It was a sentence explaining how western industrialised societies under capitalism need migration - which is why it tends to be bipartisan, except for when the likes of Trump and Hanson (and Howard/Scomo) want to try and shore up some support.
Got anything else I didn't write to put in quotation marks?
More lyrics from The Who...?

Horse bolted, decades ago.
No shit Sherlock. Thanks Lima agreement.
Do let us know when you do make your mind up.
None of your f**king business. I've not mentioned it once.
Many of us saw who/what organisations are running the protest and could decide instantly that this Sunday wasn't something we wanted to be associated with.
My primary concern is who has organised it and what I believe it will deteriorate into. I'm not personally worried about violence but it's not a good look. I have no doubt Uncle Clauses lackeys will be there to stir shit up.
We (you) wouldn't go if Penny Wong herself organised it so moot and disingenuous.
My motivation didn't come into it. It was a sentence explaining how western industrialised societies under capitalism need migration - which is why it tends to be bipartisan, except for when the likes of Trump and Hanson (and Howard/Scomo) want to try and shore up some support.
Case in point.
More lyrics from The Who...?
Granted it wasn't the post I quoted but I was referring to "sorts of things" and I cbf to look up if The Who ever managed to get them lyrics into the shit music they play.

Welcome to white replacement theory.

Best of luck with that shit.
I think white displacement would be more apt terminology.
That describes perfectly what I see with my own eyes on a daily basis.
We need more than luck to counteract it.
Employ a few Indians. I dare you. They'll do the job for less than anyone else.
I'll give it 10 yrs but you'll change your tune eventually.

Maybe get a couple of hundred brain dead no-hopers per white rights rally.

Be good for them to have a break from pulling wings off flies, stealing truck batteries and putting their spy cameras in public toilets.

I suspected as much, from the wording of the posts you made on the subject.

Well, if that's what you need or choose to do, all power to you.

Firstly do you or have you ever run own business?

Being in a trade I will explain to you what's happened or happening.

Gyrbockers,tilers,painters have been taken over by mostly Asians. In domestic situations you will see a van rock up with 4 guys who speak zero English and highly likely illegal immigrant's who are slaves to the owner who is English speaking. He pays them shit and flogs them. Forget safety standards. They don't have any.
Nobody can compete with these people's prices for this reason. And most people these days just go with cheapest.

So why am I going to hand over my knowledge to people who's goal is to do the same down the track. Id rather be selfish and unkind. It's about staying ahead of the pack.