Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Super League starts this weekends

beekershark said:
Also, remind me, that when I next need to sell a house or car, to get frenz or reefy to write the advert, you certainly can find positives and paint a rosie picture of anything you choose to back :)

beekershark

But ! back on the topic. I for one can't wait to see the replay later in the week, but I think it's ridiculous that fox, neither channel, showed any UKSL games live over the weekend, there was plenty of golf replays and rugby on , but the lack of league was terrible, it's poor in my view.

I hope Zuess kills it at 5/8, fullback , centre, wherever they play him over there. I've always had a soft spot for Cas and have spent a bit of time there myself, they'll take to him fantastically if he puts in and finds form , same with all aussie players that go over there.

My only concern for zuess at 5/8 is kicking. I'm not sure what kind of work he's done in that area recently, but I know most UK clubs expect pretty high things from the boot of both their halves, both general play, and certainly if zuess has been given the goal kicking duties. If he fires off the boot it will only pose more questions as to why the hell he wasn't given a shot in our backline as a goal kicker before Covell was saught after and whilst noddy was struggling with the kicking duties.

I also think ryans speed and evasive hip swivel has the potential to cause pommy back rowers and props all manner of trouble if he runs the pill from 5/8, the same could be said if he plays at 1 and comes into the line around the ruck.

Will be great to see it on thursday like you say BT.

beekershark

Bwah ! I'm sorry mate, I just can't see the attraction of it ! I've tried , but you really are a perplexing individual :)

Unless you are listing the numbers you think will make up our team this year, starting at fullback.,.......???? :)

beekershark said:
But ! back on the topic. I for one can't wait to see the replay later in the week, but I think it's ridiculous that fox, neither channel, showed any UKSL games live over the weekend, there was plenty of golf replays and rugby on , but the lack of league was terrible, it's poor in my view.

I hope Zuess kills it at 5/8, fullback , centre, wherever they play him over there. I've always had a soft spot for Cas and have spent a bit of time there myself, they'll take to him fantastically if he puts in and finds form , same with all aussie players that go over there.

My only concern for zuess at 5/8 is kicking. I'm not sure what kind of work he's done in that area recently, but I know most UK clubs expect pretty high things from the boot of both their halves, both general play, and certainly if zuess has been given the goal kicking duties. If he fires off the boot it will only pose more questions as to why the hell he wasn't given a shot in our backline as a goal kicker before Covell was saught after and whilst noddy was struggling with the kicking duties.

I also think ryans speed and evasive hip swivel has the potential to cause pommy back rowers and props all manner of trouble if he runs the pill from 5/8, the same could be said if he plays at 1 and comes into the line around the ruck.

Will be great to see it on thursday like you say BT.

beekershark

sorry, didn't realise you had ownership sir.

hope my piss taking of your weird behaviour hasn't ruined your enjoyment of your games Frenz. :)

ali

Don’t forget to watch Nuts and McGoldy in action for Cas this arvo, kickoff 2:30. This is followed at 4pm by Les Catalans featuring Chris Beattie. According to some people on totalrl.com Beats had a blinder and wasn’t far off man of the match.

ali

Yep it's usually replayed a couple of times. Usually late at night, often when I am out late somewhere on a Friday night.

ali

Fecking useless Fox Sports. :evil:

I'll have to set the video for some ridiculous hour over the weekend just to watch these games. I assume the tapes didn't arrive in time and that's why they showed old games today.

beekershark

Kidding me ali ? f**k it ! I was looking forward to going home and checking the digital recorded to watch both games :(

ali

The tapes didn't arrive on time. It should be on at 4am tomorrow morning and a similarly ridiculous time on Sunday morning. To politely mention your displeasure to Foxsports they can be contacted on;
02 9776 2600

beekershark

well I finally got the chance to rev up the IQ and watch the Cas V Hull Match tonight. For fear or triggering another count-a-thon from Frenz, I thought I'd call Zuess's first match touch for touch objectively :-

*was named as 5/8 in the run on side.

*did not recieve a touch in the first 10 minutes and defended the entire period in the left centre position, not 5/8. Also did not stand at 5/8 in attack but also at left centre.

* Did not make a tackle in the first 10 minutes, but was not called upon to make one.

* Kicked off after Hull kicked a penalty early on.

* The first time Hull attacked the left side they scored. Hull got a roll from a fast play the ball and one quick pass from first reciever saw Zuess and his winger isolated and over-lapped, Zuess ran in and half shoulder charged the inside man but the pill was cut outside him and a simple HUll try eventuated. Couldn't blame for the try although he certainly could have stayed out and allowed the ample inside defence to cover the inside men.

* NOt long after Zuess makes his first tackle in the left centre position, seemed to be directing his inside men, although there weren't really any there, but he shepherded the ball carrier nicely to the wing and made the tackle with the winger. His habit of pointing at the ball carrying whilst crabbing sideways in defence has not left him.

* 10mins into the match and zuess has still not stood at 5/8 once.

* 11th minute Nuts makes a good charge and fast play the ball. Zuess steps into f5/8 for the first time as the ball is played on HUlls 25 metre mark approx. ( is this the game plan ? zuess going to 5/8 when on the attack only ? we'll have to wait and see)

Zuess takes pill at 5/8 and darts accross field, cramps the outside men a little but shows it inside before throwing a pressure pass on the second tackle to his outside man who is hit simultaneously and spills it. possession lost.

*14th min HUll attack the cas line and try the left side again. The left side it has to be said for cas looks terribly shakey and undecided, whittaker and Zuess standing next to eachother in defence. Whittaker gets stood up but the fullback makes the tackle, the line holds well considering that they dont look confident. More pointing from both zuess and now whittaker has taken up pointing at the ball carrying.

The pill is turn back again to the left and whittaker makes a good tackle, zuess again standing outside whittaker in the left centre spot and looks to either be coaching the line, or talking too much whilst crabbing.

*14.36mins-zuess feeds the cas scrum on their own 5metre line.

*15.30mins- just inside HUlls half now and zuess at 5/8 on the left side takes the pill first receiver and turns a lovely inside ball to Fa'osa who nearly breaks the line, crisp inside pass.

*next tackle zuess gets to dummy half and assists quick play the ball on the 5th. a beak is made and HUll forced in goal.

looking far more keen to get involved, finding his feet for sure.

*17th min- halfback and hooker continue to go right rather than to zuesses sidde-CAS take penalty for goal, Fletcher to take, not Zuess who was touted as a goal kicking back when they announced his signing.

*19th min-zuess receieves kick off and offloads to nuts-next tackle zuess gets to dummy half. not seen again that set and still hasnt done any general play kicking, they seem to prefer the right.

*20th min- zuess gets into dummy half in his own 10metres and darts, makes 2 metres but wins a much needed penalty in the play the ball, accused of diving by the other team but seemed fair.

* next set he actually gets into first reciever role on the inside and promotes the football, at the end of the set chased a kick through but failed to challenge, got back nicely into the line for the first tackle of the new set.

* following set again gets to 5/8 on the left and throw another pressure pass to his second rower who gets thumped but manages to stay on his feet and offload back to zuess who has stayed aware, he darts accross field and passes to support, the play peters out but was sparky and some good work.

*27thmin-bomb goes to zuesses centre side, 4 attackers on two, zuess and his wing, zuess does not challenge the ball and stands with his back to the attackers shielding his winger who takes it well in goal with 2 men on him.

*28th min, cas get penalty and are attacking the Hull line, 5th tackle up goes the bomb to the left side but it is shallow and cas still have it, quick hands needed to the left, zuess catches and passes in one motion but it goes along the ground, winger collects and hoists the bomb, cas knock on and lose possesion.

* cas still favouring the right and zuess seems firmly glued in the left centre role.

*29th min cas get a scrum feed on hulls 30metre line, great attacking position, zuess goes to 5/8 on the left side and hits the ball up at pace at first reciever from the scrum, tackled and a slowish play the ball for UK standards, next tackle the ball is lost and attack breaks down.

* Hull are gaining the ascendancy now but doing most damage down the right side, they score and zuess makes a good ball and all tackle on the left side from the 2nd play the ball of the set, looked a dangerous situation with hull getting outside the line now.

*35th min-cas have scrum feed on hulls 30metre line, zuess at HALFBACK feeds the scrum. backs up and his the line hard on tackle 2.

* Goes back to the left but standing at a more orthodox 5/8 position, chases a lovely kick by the halfback next to the sticks and forces the defender to knock the ball dead. Good involvement now in the attacking sets late in the game by zuess.

*zuess actually gets into the right side defence from the scrum, hard to tell but maybe he stood at halfback in defence ? odd this, because now he is missing for the last 3 mins when Cas score down their LEFT side, where he has been all night, now he must be on the right, because a kick is put thru by the prop forward, bounced nicely for the winger who pops it inside to Viale to score, zuess is on to celebrate the try, so he must have been either switched to the right, or playing halfback maybe ? hard to tell.

*fletcher takes the conversion.

Thats the first half over and if anyones interested I'll do the second half later on.