Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our attack? We need to get rid of the handbrake!!

I thought
Simmons today was good. he was ripped off from the kick off. There was no knock on & at worst it was 50/50 which we have not won one this year. His catch for the try was excellent.
If he plays like that every week, I am happy for him to be in the team.
Today he showed courage & execution.
The Cove had been doped. I cannot explain his lethargy.

spider

i didnt know simmons was on the field except for the first 5 seconds and the 53rd minute

yes good leap and catch - but it was a piss poor effort from his opposite

simmons could cement the wing spot - but strip him down in weight as we need speed on the flanks and he is slow as all f**k these days

im still pulling hair over covells game

Inferno

How about swapping moving Williams to the centres, starting Reni and benching Pom?

I reckon for sure Williams is quicker and has a better passing game.

reason is because we have no one that is quick enough to support breaks

just before half time morris was away - ferguson looked like he was running on the spot

I noticed that.

He stopped running!!

I thought that showed a lack of heart.

If a backline player doesn't chase who in the hell is he expecting will??

Pick up your act Ferguson!

This thread is the biggest load of shyte I have ever read on here.

FMD wrist slitters. f**k off.

Wrist Slitters?

Maybe it's because we're seeing the same pattern again with our attacking play.

It's Groundhog Day.

We've been competitive in every game we've played???

It's that sugar coating type of statement that gets our team in a false sense of security and doesn't address our chronic problems in the team.

We haven't played any of the really great teams yet.

See how competive we are then.

Just like in the final against Melbourne we'll get our wake up call soon enough.

Covell was badly exposed in that game for not being up to Group 1 company.

He has done well in the past against Group 2 company but this year his sparkler is smoking now.

Eion

I'm with reefy on this one. We're 1 win fom 3 with new people in key positions and some dreadful injuries. We need to hang on and keep defending well, get 1 or 2 wins from the next 4 or so games and allow seymour / barrett some time as well as a couple of our young guys in the backline.

I thought green was heaps better than I've seen him before and brown showed some promise. Fair dinkum - cov didn't have his best game but he's been just about our best in the other 2 games this year and one of our most consistent last year. We need his experience, defence and goal kicking. He's also very good in the air attack and defence.

DJDL

i didnt know simmons was on the field except for the first 5 seconds and the 53rd minute

I'm with ya Spide. I missed the first 5 minutes and found myself wondering just after half time if the Monz had been dropped.

That alone, to me, is indicative of just what is wrong with our attack:- we never see centres/wingers unless they get into dummy half. Something has got to change and change quickly

shintaro

I thought
Simmons today was good. he was ripped off from the kick off. There was no knock on & at worst it was 50/50 which we have not won one this year. His catch for the try was excellent.
If he plays like that every week, I am happy for him to be in the team.
Today he showed courage & execution.
The Cove had been doped. I cannot explain his lethargy.

I've said before that Simmons plays his best football at wing. Good front rowers are like hens teeth & with Ross gone , so are our chances of challenging for the title.

spider

i dont see out forward pack as the problem

we have the pack, i also think the halves are good - but we just dont have the back 5

I've said before that Simmons plays his best football at wing. Good front rowers are like hens teeth & with Ross gone , so are our chances of challenging for the title.

ken oath.
Imagine Broncs without Webke or any of the teams without Laz.

Simmo can catch I will give him that.
Although he looks like he hurts easily.

i dont see out forward pack as the problem

we have the pack, i also think the halves are good - but we just dont have the back 5

we only needed on quick player and we woould have won that.

seymour played we would've won.

I think you will be surprised. Also it is rnd 3 only, nothing stopping us from picking up another front rower.

Our problem is speed no doubt, and WTF was Green doing with the ball in the last five minutes? Those kicks did he know there was only minutes remaining?

The moment Barrett went off our goose was cooked. Pommeroy is useless, Fergerson is just just another toiler like Anderson, Covell is on valium, Simmo is hiding somewhere and all round reluctant to get involved... I agree Spider, they just arent good enough. Brown was good and like I've always said I rate him and can't work out why he hasn't played in the two games prior.

The Dodger

brown played well and has showed alot more promise than what kearney has.

covell had a shocker but pomeroy did'nt help.
kept sliding too much to the wing and was left with no options.
he should be dominating one on one tackles but simply hasn't been, its like he has lost his confidence.

fergo needs a good kick up the asss, got at least 7 missed tackles.

simmo was alright, much better than misi, but still runs sideway when taking the ball up.
towards the end he ran it hard a few times and looked alright.

im not worrying just yet, we were missing three of a top 25 (four if you count bukuya) and they have been key positions as well.(edit: i forgot about fraser anderson so that is five players from our top 25)

green played good but his fifth tackle options were dreadful.
im confident seymour will combine alot better with him next week.
even matua at 5/8 and seymour at half would be good to see.
you could even stick caine in the halves.

brown played well and has showed alot more promise than what kearney has.

covell had a shocker but pomeroy did'nt help.
kept sliding too much to the wing and was left with no options.
he should be dominating one on one tackles but simply hasn't been, its like he has lost his confidence.

fergo needs a good kick up the asss, got at least 7 missed tackles.

simmo was alright, much better than misi, but still runs sideway when taking the ball up.
towards the end he ran it hard a few times and looked alright.

im not worrying just yet, we were missing three of a top 25 (four if you count bukuya) and they have been key positions as well.(edit: i forgot about fraser anderson so that is five players from our top 25)

green played good but his fifth tackle options were dreadful.
im confident seymour will combine alot better with him next week.
even matua at 5/8 and seymour at half would be good to see.
you could even stick caine in the halves

I think that would be our best option next week.

Wouldn't mind trying Maitua at 6
Seymour at 7
Caine at 9

Hughes on the bench to give him a wake up call.
He could also play a bit at lock forward.

spider

green ------> anywhere that is not sharks

though green mad one nice half break, only problem there was that hughes was the support player - i think cov could possibly out pace hughes (with use of the after burners)

brown has the kick return in the skill set - now he needs to be attached to gallen and topous asses, more so, running a second line inside them for a barrett / buster bullet

Thanks for your contribution.

You didn't know who Anthony Tupou was last year enough said!
is that it?

you reckon they should sack the coach...and all I've got is that I don't know every fuggen player by name in the comp.

like I said .. you're a goose.