Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our recruitment and my story!

Bib

My referee co-ordinator at the school i attended, used to play first class cricket for Balmain, and was recently in the running for the NSW state cricket job. Anway he is friends with Steve Lavers and had a phone conversation with him yesterday. Here is what came out of it

* Brent Kite and Ben Kennedy's contracts are in the mid 300k's and the tigers didnt have the space to afford them, this is cool as i know we did a lot of purchasing last year

* Lavers, Sheens and Noyce are basically the clubs recruitment staff, and didnt have time to notice that carl webb was off contract, THE CLUB DIDNT KNOW WEBB WAS OFF CONTRACT for the last 2 months

* The club wasnt looking to be active!

* My mate offered his services in the recruitment department for free, and offered contacts through his cricketing mates and channel 9, Lavers said, WE WILL GET BACK TO YOU!

What does all this say?

We are a club under great pressure with human and financial resources. Sheens and Noyce should be sticking to their main jobs and there shoudl be a recruitment department

Guys the club needs all out support, so get on the phone and see how you can help the club, cos we cant afford to let blokes like Webb slip through our hands!

Eddie.

If the club didnt know Webb was off contract they should all hang their heads in shame, then sack themselves

Im sure Sheens would of known.

gr8_1

Im sure they knew. I emailed them enough times to remind them. :lol:

Noyce reported on 2SM today that we will be announcing 3-4 signings in the next few weeks and he is confident of re-signing Benji. :clap:

daslacker

gr8_1 said:
Im sure they knew. I emailed them enough times to remind them. :lol:

Noyce reported on 2SM today that we will be announcing 3-4 signings in the next few weeks and he is confident of re-signing Benji. :clap:

I hope those 3 or 4 signings are not includeing re-signing's

Dale.2.

Bib said:
* Brent Kite and Ben Kennedy's contracts are in the mid 300k's and the tigers didnt have the space to afford them, this is cool as i know we did a lot of purchasing last year

My understanding of what Manly have done to sign those players is to pay them extremely high sign on fees which come under the 2004 salary cap and then sign them for 2005 and beyond on at a low rate.

The Wests Tigers would have had at least $300,000 left over on this years cap,if we wanted one of those players we could have signed him for 3 years at a cost of $900,000 gave him a sign on fee of $300,000 and only had to pay him a $200,000 contract for the next 3 years.

Either our officials are not smart enough to come up with this sort of thing or we simply dont have the money needed to do it,imo we dont have the money,perhaps if our officials were a tad smarter we would have more money.

Stellar

With the amount of money Senter, Buettner, Sattler and Mears are on which i assume is pretty high then we'll have like a million bucks to buy some new players and to re-sign benji

HOT028

i think with those four players going it will only free up about 550k-600k not a million, still leaves the door open for atleast two good buys.

Im glad the club doesnt hire any old joe that happens to be walking by, offering their services for a job.

Tigerpete

Thats shocking in my opinion that Ben Kennedy is on that sort of money? He plays what? half a season and earns twice as much as the average player.........im laughing.......at manly. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bib

innsaneink said:
Im glad the club doesnt hire any old joe that happens to be walking by, offering their services for a job.

Yerh but someone with contacts, who is offering his services for free would have been a huge helping hand

RifRaf

Stellar said:
With the amount of money Senter, Buettner, Sattler and Mears are on which i assume is pretty high then we'll have like a million bucks to buy some new players and to re-sign benji
Senter is one of the lowest paid at the club and Mikey B is the lowest so not a lot of money there

Wrighty79

RifRaf said:
Stellar said:
Senter is one of the lowest paid at the club and Mikey B is the lowest so not a lot of money there

I've been saying that for ages! Senter signed a one year deal last year for what $70,000 with bonuses. He's on no more than $100K. I didn't know Beutts was on such a low wage, but I knew he wasn't on heaps.

RifRaf

Micky B took a massive pay cut when the Tigers had the option to cut him a couple of months ago. Quote "Just enough money to feed my family"..

Stellar

What do you reckon Sattler and Mears would be on collectively. im guessing that Sattler is one of the highest paid at the club. Mears wouldnt be getting much more than 150,000

Stellar

Bib said:
innsaneink said:

Yerh but someone with contacts, who is offering his services for free would have been a huge helping hand

We really need a person whose sole responsiblity is scouting players to sign.

MAFIA

RE- WEBB The bloke was never ever considering any sydney club newcastle was as south as he was going to go, so i dont see what all the fuss is about and for the cowgirls to pay a lazy 200k on a bloke who has only thrown into the broncos side and told by bennett you are on the market now make the best of it and take the highest bidder, because well before then webb was'nt even a part of the train on squad at the doncoes, bennett wanted him out and he got his wish ....again..

mafia