Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penalties

FACT:

Penalties Received in the 2nd half against the Broncos: 0
Penalties Received in the 2nd half against the Storm: 0

I'm willing to bank that we are the first team in premiership history that has not received a penalty in the 2nd half of a game two weeks in a row.

Now every die hard Roosters fan who watches every game intently knows there is an inherent bias, and Roosters games are treated differently to others. This is known, and there is nothing we can do about it.

My problem is with Trent Robinson. Not with the way he coaches, his player selections, or his strategy, but because of how classy he is. I have no doubt that after tonights pathetic refereeing performance (how can the Storm concede 6 penalties in the first half, remarkably improve their discipline at half time, and then concede 0 penaties in the second half?), Robbo will speak to the Press about how high a quality the game was, and how both sides played incredibly well in difficult conditions. He is dead set the most composed and polite bloke of all time, even after difficult 1 point losses. This needs to be changed.

Forget winning the premiership this season. We will not win another game unless Trent draws some attention to the pathetic incompetence that we receive week in week out from the refs. It is simply unfathomable that both the Broncos and Storm were perfectly disciplined for the second 40 minutes, two weeks in a row, against us.

I'd also be willing to back that everyone that sits in the Chookpen every weeks would gladly donate to a "Robbo have a go" fund, in order to pay Trent's $10,000 fine for having a go at the refs in the press conference. I'd happily throw in $20 every week to see Trent point out their obvious blunders that have already cost us premiership points this season.

I am aware that to any non-Roosters fan this rant will seem like a massive whinge, and you will no doubt point out how we constantly intentionally give away penalties to reset our defensive line. To you people i say: The penalties we give away have absolutely nothing to do with the penalties we don't receive, and would advise that you stop listening to the Channel 9 commentary team (speficially senile Ray Warren), because anyone who actually thinks we intentionally give away penalties are morons.

rabbitohs95

I genuinely believe the refs have just got a bad wrap on the Roosters because of how consistently undisciplined they are. I don't believe the Roosters give away penalties on purpose, no team would do that. They do however have a lot of aggressive players and a lot of clumsy ones that give away penalties a lot i.e. JWH, Napa. That is their biggest problem, discipline (or lack thereof).

I think that you'll find a correlation when the Roosters don't give away many penalties and stay disciplined other teams tend to start giving away penalties. If you start off a game undisciplined the refs are gonna give it to you every chance they get, It's just the way things go.

It just comes down to a lack of initial discipline which triggers the refs to come down harder on you. The Roosters just seem to have a bad wrap on them and have for a while.

I genuinely believe the refs have just got a bad wrap on the Roosters because of how consistently undisciplined they are. I don't believe the Roosters give away penalties on purpose, no team would do that. They do however have a lot of aggressive players and a lot of clumsy ones that give away penalties a lot i.e. JWH, Napa. That is their biggest problem, discipline (or lack thereof).

I think that you'll find a correlation when the Roosters don't give away many penalties and stay disciplined other teams tend to start giving away penalties. If you start off a game undisciplined the refs are gonna give it to you every chance they get, It's just the way things go.

It just comes down to a lack of initial discipline which triggers the refs to come down harder on you. The Roosters just seem to have a bad wrap on them and have for a while.

I think you may be right on this one.

I've got no doubt we are one of the most undisciplined teams in the NRL. JWH, Napa and Maloney, as well as Guerra and Friend to an extent are some of the most undisciplined players in the competition. However, in theory, this should have no bearing on the penalties we receive. But as you point out, it definitely does.

In THEORY, we should be around the top of the competition in terms of penalties received. The most dominant forward packs tends to win control of the ruck, which puts other teams under pressure to make tackles when they are offside, or illegally slow the ruck down. This should in effect win us penalties as their is no denying we have a dominant forward pack:
JWH - NZ International
Moa - NZ International
Cordner - AUS/NSW Rep
Guerra - AUS/QLD Rep
Aubusson - most underrated player in the comp
Taukeiaho - absolute animal
Evans - absolute animal
Napa - will probably play for QLD this year

Thanks for the intelligent comment though. I think you're 100% spot on with the lack of initial discipline.

neeknitsuj

JWH didn't even play in the second half so if you're blaming Napa for conceding 4 penalties and us receiving none you're highly deluded.

Parkway_Drive

Two of the penalties that the Storm received which led ultimately to tries the first one was just a bobble from McClean which the ref penalised us for suposedly having a hand on the ball when no hand was anywhere near the ball. This led to the Kaufusi try in the first half. The second one in the second half was a blatantly obvious dropped ball. It was like everytime in the second half Melbourne dropped the ball they got a penalty.

I cannot fathom how teams can magically improve their discpline at half-time when they play us especially in close games leading up to half time. It appears the refs will let our opposition do what they like and they penalise us to give us a chance to reset our line. :p

I had a Bulldog mate who texted me and said we were absolutely rorted after I had a debate with him at work yesterday and asked him to watch our game and see how the referees treated us. He said to me yesterday I was having a whinge but I said just watch the game and we will be lucky to get more than 1 penalty in the second half. Well we got none and he reckoned Cameron Smith was committing indiscretions in pretty much every tackle he was involved with in the second half.

Anyway I am thinking a writing a letter to the media and to Greenberg, Smith...not that they will read it. Telling them because of the refereeing not just in our games but other games too is so bad I refuse to watch most other NRL games now and although I will always be a member of the Roosters I am seriously thinking of getting just a 3 or 4 game membership instead of a season ticket. Plus just take my daughter to one or two games a year and cancel her season ticket too. I am sure there are plenty of others who are prepared to do the same. It has become a farce!

rabbitohs95

JWH didn't even play in the second half so if you're blaming Napa for conceding 4 penalties and us receiving none you're highly deluded.

I'm not saying it's just purely those two. I'm saying those two do tend to lead the charge when it comes to giving away penalties.

rabbitohs95

I think you may be right on this one.

I've got no doubt we are one of the most undisciplined teams in the NRL. JWH, Napa and Maloney, as well as Guerra and Friend to an extent are some of the most undisciplined players in the competition. However, in theory, this should have no bearing on the penalties we receive. But as you point out, it definitely does.

In THEORY, we should be around the top of the competition in terms of penalties received. The most dominant forward packs tends to win control of the ruck, which puts other teams under pressure to make tackles when they are offside, or illegally slow the ruck down. This should in effect win us penalties as their is no denying we have a dominant forward pack:
JWH - NZ International
Moa - NZ International
Cordner - AUS/NSW Rep
Guerra - AUS/QLD Rep
Aubusson - most underrated player in the comp
Taukeiaho - absolute animal
Evans - absolute animal
Napa - will probably play for QLD this year

Thanks for the intelligent comment though. I think you're 100% spot on with the lack of initial discipline.

Well it's good to see i'm not getting flamed for my comments which is nice for a change. That's the only logical thing I can think of, honestly you can't say the refs have it in for the Roosters without them putting in at least a little input.

Tommy Smith

Two of the penalties that the Storm received which led ultimately to tries the first one was just a bobble from McClean which the ref penalised us for suposedly having a hand on the ball when no hand was anywhere near the ball. This led to the Kaufusi try in the first half. The second one in the second half was a blatantly obvious dropped ball. It was like everytime in the second half Melbourne dropped the ball they got a penalty.

I cannot fathom how teams can magically improve their discpline at half-time when they play us especially in close games leading up to half time. It appears the refs will let our opposition do what they like and they penalise us to give us a chance to reset our line. :p

I had a Bulldog mate who texted me and said we were absolutely rorted after I had a debate with him at work yesterday and asked him to watch our game and see how the referees treated us. He said to me yesterday I was having a whinge but I said just watch the game and we will be lucky to get more than 1 penalty in the second half. Well we got none and he reckoned Cameron Smith was committing indiscretions in pretty much every tackle he was involved with in the second half.

Anyway I am thinking a writing a letter to the media and to Greenberg, Smith...not that they will read it. Telling them because of the refereeing not just in our games but other games too is so bad I refuse to watch most other NRL games now and although I will always be a member of the Roosters I am seriously thinking of getting just a 3 or 4 game membership instead of a season ticket. Plus just take my daughter to one or two games a year and cancel her season ticket too. I am sure there are plenty of others who are prepared to do the same. It has become a farce!
You're certainly not the only one.

ANZAC will be the last game I watch all season. I need a break from the NRL and the biased officiating.

It's now gotten to the point where I suspect opposition teams deliberately drop the ball cold on occasions because they know they'll receive a penalty. They also place a huge emphasis on completions because they know we receive next to no penalties, especially in the 2nd half.

I'll always be a member of the Roosters and I'll be checking the results all season but I simply can't invest anymore emotional energy in a competition that i believe to be tainted by suspect officiating.

The amount of flops the Storm got away with last night was obscene. Smith was flopping everywhere. It's a joke that I refuse to be the butt of any longer.

Bgoodorgoodatit

ANZAC will be the last game I watch all season. I need a break from the NRL and the biased officiating.

It's now gotten to the point where I suspect opposition teams deliberately drop the ball cold on occasions because they know they'll receive a penalty. They also place a huge emphasis on completions because they know we receive next to no penalties, especially in the 2nd half.

I'll always be a member of the Roosters and I'll be checking the results all season but I simply can't invest anymore emotional energy in a competition that i believe to be tainted by suspect officiating.

The amount of flops the Storm got away with last night was obscene. Smith was flopping everywhere. It's a joke that I refuse to be the butt of any longer.

Watching smith closely last night it's absolutely obscene the amount of shit he gets away with. In the second half I heard "give him room Cameron" through the refs mic at least 4 times and he'd still lean in with the knees/have his hands on the ball and not one whistle.

It's starting to get hard to stomach. All you want is for refs to ref the game as they see it. But its clear that there's preconceived ideas influencing the decision making when in two consecutive weeks you receive zero penalties in the second half.

Lambretta

I genuinely believe the refs have just got a bad wrap on the Roosters because of how consistently undisciplined they are. .

There is a myth going around League Unlimited that the Roosters are ill disciplined. This myth has been derived from the fact we've won 5 penalty counts out of more than 100 games played. It's a simple conclusion to draw, but when you look at the statistics you will see that it's not true

In round 1 we played the Cowboys and lost the penalty count 10 v 2
In week 2, the Cowboys conceded 6 penalties against the Knights

In round 2 we played Souths and drew the penalty count 4 all
In round 1 Souths conceded 10 penalties, in week 3 they conceded 9

In round 3 we played Penrith and lost the penalty count 8 v 5
In round 2 Penrith conceded 7 penalties, in round 4 they conceded 11

In round 4 we played Canberra and lost the penalty count 7 v 6
In round 3 Canberra conceded 11 penalties, in week 5 they conceded 7

In round 5 we played Cronulla and lost the penalty count 6 v 4
In round 4 Cronulla conceded 6 penalties in round 6 they conceded 12

In round 6 we played Brisbane and lost the penalty count 9 v 5
In round 5 Brisbane conceded 7 penalties, in round 7 they conceded 5

Over that period the Roosters conceded 44 penalties, an average 7.33 penalties per game. The only team we had played to round 6 that had a lower average number of penalties conceded was Cronulla. YES, that's right Canberra, Brisbane, North Queensland, Souths and Penrith have ALL conceded a higher number of penalties per game than us

So how are we ill disciplined? WE ARE NOT ILL DISCIPLINED - it is a complete and utter myth.

EXCEPT according to NRL referees we appear to be more ill disciplined than our opposition during our game time.

For that time and that time ALONE we are more ill disciplined. At all other times the other teams are more ill disciplined.

Now if someone can explain how the team that concede the lowest average number of penalties LOSES every penalty count I'm all ears

Mathematically, it is not possible without some form of intervention.

The week before and after teams play us they concede more penalties than they do when they play us. As a mate of mine said "you seem to bring out the best in others".

JohnLawrence

Great post Lambretta it's amazing to see those stats you provided seems to me we have to shame the NRL into fixing the problem I'll keep my fingers crossed cheers

This
I'm still gonna go to games however but more as a social occasion with my mates. I'm not going to invest any emotion in it any more, for the time being at least. Too big a call to say forever.

redvscotty

Jesus, all of your games suck now with soulless empty stadiums week in week out... imagine if you all now stop going to games because you don't get a handful of penalties in second halves!

Chook

You just know when we're onto something when Phil Rothfield is standing up for us.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...osters-nrl-hopes/story-fnp0lyn3-1227310846066

DAMNING statistics reveal the Sydney Roosters’ premiership hopes are being slaughtered by referees and lopsided penalty counts this season.

For the third time this year, the Roosters played a “perfect’’ football team during the second half against Melbourne Storm on Saturday night when they were not even awarded one penalty.

That’s 120 minutes of football in which their opponents have not made one single ­infringement.

In four away games this season the Roosters have received just two second-half penalties — both of them against the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

The startling statistical analysis provided by Fox Sports also shows the club hasn’t won a penalty count since round 23 last year — which is 13 straight games.

More alarmingly, the stats reveal that since 2013, EVERY team in the NRL has conceded their least amount of penalties in games against the Roosters.

Surely that is the proof they are being “picked on’’.

In 67 games in the last three seasons, the Roosters have won just 12 penalty counts (17 per cent of their matches).

Roosters coach Trent Robinson would not comment when I spoke to him because of the pathetic new rules banning clubs from commenting on referees.

843451-85bc783c-e66e-11e4-b722-cf4cf8a3a293.jpg

The stats on the Roosters’ penalty plague. Source: DailyTelegraph

Since he has been in charge, the Roosters have gone without second-half penalties in 10 games.

So let’s get this right. No one at the Roosters is complaining about the number of penalties they give away.

They play an explosive, power game which can be high risk in conceding penalties when working players over at the play-the-ball and other areas of the game.

It has become a trademark of their footy and they accept that.

What they can’t come to grips with is the obvious impression that referees, while policing the Roosters so heavily, are ignoring their opposition’s infringements.

It is almost impossible in the modern game to believe even the most disciplined teams can go 40 minutes without one ­infringement.

846040-8573dba4-e66e-11e4-b722-cf4cf8a3a293.jpg

Yet it has happened three times in seven weeks.

It’s interesting if you ever ­listen on Sports Ears when the Roosters are playing.

You could get the impression that one side is being refereed more than the other.

Lines like “play it with your foot” or “watch the 10” or “hands away from the play-the-ball” or “move away’’ seem to be directed at the Roosters more than their opponents.

What we can reveal is that every week in preparing for games, the refs have as part of their preparation a session they call “around the grounds’’.

They sit around a room and discuss the different habits and idiosyncrasies of players.

While it is fantastic they are doing their homework, it could also lead to suggestions they are going into games each week with preconceived ideas.

For example, if say five Roosters players have been spoken about during “around the grounds’’ and only two Storm players, does that mean the Roosters will be watched more closely than the Storm?

It certainly appeared to be the case on Saturday night against the best referee manager and negotiator in the game, Cameron Smith.

Not getting any penalties obviously affects field position and becomes a bigger issue when you lose your best metre-eater Jared Waerea-Hargreaves like the Roosters did.

Three losses on the trot now leaves the Roosters under enormous pressure in the race for the top four in the finals. They will also lose players to the Kangaroos and Origin.

Someone has to blow the whistle on the penalties before it’s too late.

● REFEREE boss Tony Archer did not return phone calls or text messages yesterday.

Chook.

Chook

Arrr merge fans, a couple of wins and they embrace the troll within them.

Chook.

pink v

Refs are conditioned to penalising Roosters been going on for years. Just like video refs give Manly every decision good thing youse have a good team. Ha Dragons forums are working overtime.

Bgoodorgoodatit

You just know when we're onto something when Phil Rothfield is standing up for us.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...osters-nrl-hopes/story-fnp0lyn3-1227310846066

DAMNING statistics reveal the Sydney Roosters’ premiership hopes are being slaughtered by referees and lopsided penalty counts this season.

For the third time this year, the Roosters played a “perfect’’ football team during the second half against Melbourne Storm on Saturday night when they were not even awarded one penalty.

That’s 120 minutes of football in which their opponents have not made one single ­infringement.

In four away games this season the Roosters have received just two second-half penalties — both of them against the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

The startling statistical analysis provided by Fox Sports also shows the club hasn’t won a penalty count since round 23 last year — which is 13 straight games.

More alarmingly, the stats reveal that since 2013, EVERY team in the NRL has conceded their least amount of penalties in games against the Roosters.

Surely that is the proof they are being “picked on’’.

In 67 games in the last three seasons, the Roosters have won just 12 penalty counts (17 per cent of their matches).

Roosters coach Trent Robinson would not comment when I spoke to him because of the pathetic new rules banning clubs from commenting on referees.

843451-85bc783c-e66e-11e4-b722-cf4cf8a3a293.jpg

The stats on the Roosters’ penalty plague. Source: DailyTelegraph

Since he has been in charge, the Roosters have gone without second-half penalties in 10 games.

So let’s get this right. No one at the Roosters is complaining about the number of penalties they give away.

They play an explosive, power game which can be high risk in conceding penalties when working players over at the play-the-ball and other areas of the game.

It has become a trademark of their footy and they accept that.

What they can’t come to grips with is the obvious impression that referees, while policing the Roosters so heavily, are ignoring their opposition’s infringements.

It is almost impossible in the modern game to believe even the most disciplined teams can go 40 minutes without one ­infringement.

846040-8573dba4-e66e-11e4-b722-cf4cf8a3a293.jpg

Yet it has happened three times in seven weeks.

It’s interesting if you ever ­listen on Sports Ears when the Roosters are playing.

You could get the impression that one side is being refereed more than the other.

Lines like “play it with your foot” or “watch the 10” or “hands away from the play-the-ball” or “move away’’ seem to be directed at the Roosters more than their opponents.

What we can reveal is that every week in preparing for games, the refs have as part of their preparation a session they call “around the grounds’’.

They sit around a room and discuss the different habits and idiosyncrasies of players.

While it is fantastic they are doing their homework, it could also lead to suggestions they are going into games each week with preconceived ideas.

For example, if say five Roosters players have been spoken about during “around the grounds’’ and only two Storm players, does that mean the Roosters will be watched more closely than the Storm?

It certainly appeared to be the case on Saturday night against the best referee manager and negotiator in the game, Cameron Smith.

Not getting any penalties obviously affects field position and becomes a bigger issue when you lose your best metre-eater Jared Waerea-Hargreaves like the Roosters did.

Three losses on the trot now leaves the Roosters under enormous pressure in the race for the top four in the finals. They will also lose players to the Kangaroos and Origin.

Someone has to blow the whistle on the penalties before it’s too late.

● REFEREE boss Tony Archer did not return phone calls or text messages yesterday.

Chook.

if that part in bold is indeed true, (and it is rothfield so lets take it with a grain of salt) then as we suspected chances are we're being refereed differently to other teams as the refs are going into games with preconceived ideas and notions on what and who to penalise.

that in and of itself compromises the fairness of the comp as refs are basically not refereeing what they see just what they have been told to expect to see.

words fail me as to how broken that system is. not just for us but for every team in the competition.

Parkway_Drive

if that part in bold is indeed true, (and it is rothfield so lets take it with a grain of salt) then as we suspected chances are we're being refereed differently to other teams as the refs are going into games with preconceived ideas and notions on what and who to penalise.

that in and of itself compromises the fairness of the comp as refs are basically not refereeing what they see just what they have been told to expect to see.

words fail me as to how broken that system is. not just for us but for every team in the competition.

The problem is that it is more broken for us....