Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penalty Differentials

dogslife

Reckon Jack Hetherington has been binned more times than some teams.

He's as dumb as dog shit, but some of the treatment he cops is borderline spasticated

yobbo84

you-lack-discipline.jpg

Cockosh

We could certainly improve our discipline but we are far from the worst in giving away penalties since 2013. The reason for our lopsided penalty count since then is the lack of penalties received. Robbo needs to speak to the other coaches to understand what their secret is in improving their discipline when playing us. They all seem to miraculously give away a lot less penalties when playing us.

yobbo84

We could certainly improve our discipline but we are far from the worst in giving away penalties since 2013. The reason for our lopsided penalty count since then is the lack of penalties received. Robbo needs to speak to the other coaches to understand what their secret is in improving their discipline when playing us. They all seem to miraculously give away a lot less penalties when playing us.
Oh that's an easy one - no-one likes the Roosters. ;-)

In all seriousness it would be multiple things:

- Teams lifting when playing (admitting through gritted teeth) one of the best 2 sides of the decade. This would account for a lack of your opponents conceding some of the sloppier penalties (kicking out on full, offside in attack, etc).

- Roosters attacking style. As mentioned previously, you slow the ruck against Souths you'll win more than you lose. It's worth the risk of conceding a few penalties and this lack of potency against slow rucks is the main the reason we haven't won another comp or even made a GF since 2014. With Penrith, they play up-tempo and again, you need to break their rhythm. This is not the case with the Roosters where you need to get back onside quickly to stop your edge players running amok. Admittedly this is not a solely Roosters trait but it does explain some of it.

- Win the ruck, con the ref. Refs are human and can be conned like anyone. Hold the back of the neck, flop around like a fish out of water, do the "Y" in the YMCA at dummy half every time the ruck is slightly slow, stay down if hit neck or higher. This is a sh*t go and it might be an admirable stance (like Bennett's somewhat flawed "no wrestling" mantra), but it does get you penalties.

There's probably more but there would be reasons other than "these incompetent refs are systematically cheating us".

Cockosh

Oh that's an easy one - no-one likes the Roosters. ;-)

In all seriousness it would be multiple things:

- Teams lifting when playing (admitting through gritted teeth) one of the best 2 sides of the decade. This would account for a lack of your opponents conceding some of the sloppier penalties (kicking out on full, offside in attack, etc).

- Roosters attacking style. As mentioned previously, you slow the ruck against Souths you'll win more than you lose. It's worth the risk of conceding a few penalties and this lack of potency against slow rucks is the main the reason we haven't won another comp or even made a GF since 2014. With Penrith, they play up-tempo and again, you need to break their rhythm. This is not the case with the Roosters where you need to get back onside quickly to stop your edge players running amok. Admittedly this is not a solely Roosters trait but it does explain some of it.

- Win the ruck, con the ref. Refs are human and can be conned like anyone. Hold the back of the neck, flop around like a fish out of water, do the "Y" in the YMCA at dummy half every time the ruck is slightly slow, stay down if hit neck or higher. This is a sh*t go and it might be an admirable stance (like Bennett's somewhat flawed "no wrestling" mantra), but it does get you penalties.

There's probably more but there would be reasons other than "these incompetent refs are systematically cheating us".
Mate your 1st lol and 3rd points have some merit. Not really buying into the 2nd. I think you are clutching at straws there.
I don’t think they are systemically cheating us. They aren’t smart enough for that. Best guess is some sort of bias.
Regardless of the reasons it must be one of the great statistical anomalies that 9 years straight we finish bottom 4 for receiving penalties. To be fair broncos have a similar record but unlike the chooks they rank 2nd best for penalties against so it closes the gap in differentials. On south’s I think they haven’t won since 2014 because the penalties dry up in semis. Maybe that’s why we are successful. We don’t need to rely on them to win

Someguy

On south’s I think they haven’t won since 2014 because the penalties dry up in semis.

it’s more that less games being played, higher stakes so more spotlight on uneven reffing. Souths 2013 campaign was sunk by Thurstons big whinge about reffing, it’s hard to get back to back to back favourable games with all the attention of the finals. Reallly need to be able to win the majority on your own merits

siv

Robinson hired a referee on his coaching team

It had little to do with teaching the players the rules

But a lot to do with how far can you bend the rules or push the referees before they will make a decision

Giving away repeat penalties 10m out from their line was a tactic to reset their line

Just like today giving away a 6-again on the 1st tackle has become a tactic

Robinson hired a referee on his coaching team

It had little to do with teaching the players the rules

But a lot to do with how far can you bend the rules or push the referees before they will make a decision

Giving away repeat penalties 10m out from their line was a tactic to reset their line

Just like today giving away a 6-again on the 1st tackle has become a tactic
How did that work out for him? Badger is also part of Tigers coaching staff btw.

Cockosh

Penalties counts split by 6 agains vs regular penalties.

Attachments

• CB66066B-2EBA-42C2-B744-664E2D6E0073.jpeg
    CB66066B-2EBA-42C2-B744-664E2D6E0073.jpeg
    277.5 KB · Views: 25

yobbo84

Penalties counts split by 6 agains vs regular penalties.
Souths have only won 9 penalty counts and lost 13 - your chart shows that the other way around.

If you're adding penalties and set restarts they are two totally separate things (as a set restart on tackle 0 from a scrum play has no business being conflated with a cheap relieving penalty from inside your 20m).

Even if you want to include that (you shouldn't), your chart should make it clearer.

Anyway, by your own logic the Roosters have received the 4th-most penalties and restarts - which defeats the whole argument of this thread, that the Roosters don't receive penalties... it's just as I said, you lack discipline.