Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penrith v Souths semi final

The_Frog

Winners from all this are Manly.
Belted but not a physical game. They should be to good for the chooks and I don't think a tought game. They will fancy themselves against Souths.

Storm won't be happy. But either way it is a one horse race for me now I think. I hope I am wrong. But they look certainties.
Bennett did his homework on us. He'll do it on Manly too.

Manly are somewhat unpredictable. Probably in Friday night is they tried to go wide early and made mistakes. They did find space. It was about the 5th minute when Harper come back on inside. They had the overlap. It would of resulted in a try but would of meant they make 30mtrs and on attack. Instead balls dropped and Storm go 50mtrs. Off kick off Tapau head high. Strom score in the last.
It was 10 nil basically off that one error. If you can keep Storm outside of your red zone like the Eels did they are beatable.
Manly I think are capable of turning it around against Souths. Id favour the Rabbits but not heavily.

Penrith haven't had a good hit out for a while. They've not fielded there best side often and not against good opposition.
Its easy to forget how high an intensity is required if not played many of those matches.
Tamou was missed. He knows what it takes. When all is said and done it was 1 try loss. Edwards and Leota may of been enough to overturn the result. Means you face the Storm a week earlier. They will be fresh. But you had to face them at some point. And if won you'd go into Gran final as favourites for sure.

DinkyDi

Well I,d say that's the end for Penrith ,U give them next to no chance of threatning the storm ,as for the so called late tackle on the golden boy Nathan what a joke , good on sths they deserved to finish Penrith off,
Another troll. Tell me is your teams supporters enjoying your off season?

soc123_au

What about that late tackle on poor little Nathan ,what a joke!it's been happening all season his old man has made him a protected species ,looks like son will be a wimp just like dad bit embarrassing ,so now sths could lose a player for doing nothing wrong ,they deserved to lose ,if they get to play storm it will be storm win by 40 points .

What about
Are you lost Anthony? Dragons avatar, 9 posts, and all about Penrith.

The_Frog

Penrith haven't had a good hit out for a while. They've not fielded there best side often and not against good opposition.
Its easy to forget how high an intensity is required if not played many of those matches.
Tamou was missed. He knows what it takes. When all is said and done it was 1 try loss. Edwards and Leota may of been enough to overturn the result. Means you face the Storm a week earlier. They will be fresh. But you had to face them at some point. And if won you'd go into Gran final as favourites for sure.
Edwards would have supported the Yeo break. This break really should have led to 6 points. Have to ask yourself why someone else couldn't have done this, Crichton or Burton or even Cleary. Crichton was too far back.

murraymob

What about that late tackle on poor little Nathan ,what a joke!it's been happening all season his old man has made him a protected species ,looks like son will be a wimp just like dad bit embarrassing ,so now sths could lose a player for doing nothing wrong ,they deserved to lose ,if they get to play storm it will be storm win by 40 points .

What about
The only late tackles your lot made was on the way to the bbq and even the De Belin missed his he was hiding under the bed

Vicpanther

Penalty against TPJ for kicking the ball out of the ruck when the replay showed he didn't touch it. Crichton was contesting the bomb.
As much as these penalties went against us it didn't cost us the game. They didn't score off them.
What cost us the game was our inability to make meters. The Rabits always looked offside or never square. But our attack just flounded.nit sure what's happened but it has gone AWOL the last few weeks.

lsta5838

Hard to disagree. I’m not a huge Staines fan but he actually made the right read for that play, he got bounced off cos we were back tracking. Martin half played for the penalty rather than covering the space which gave Gagai an extra half metre which he took.

Fish was really ordinary. South’s clearly made a point to batter him early. Surely on his 3rd hit up in a row when the entire Souths pack have come out of the line to smash him, the word comes out for a couple of short passes between the forwards to break South’s up. Instead we/he just kept running one off the ruck.
Glad he didn't as not in his game, and he was gassed... but I think he had to slightly check his run when Gagai ran next to another souths player, and I reckon Liam would have gotten him or slowed him down enough to stop the try... not sure why it wasn't reviewed by bunker!!

mxlegend99

Penalty against TPJ for kicking the ball out of the ruck when the replay showed he didn't touch it. Crichton was contesting the bomb.
We played terribly but South's got a lot of bonus footy for soft penalties. Their first 6 again came on last tackle after a forward pass. The 6 again was warranted but they just ignored the forward pass and got a complete extra set when it should have been our ball. Then they got a penalty for a strip after that when Murray was trying to offload and we just tried to stop him doing so. It was aloose carry not a strip.

High shot penalties and crushers for nothing contact which only went the one way. It's not enough to excuse our pack bitching it. But it's a very big worry for us if we will get penalised so strictly and not get those same penalties in return.

Even last week Fish is hit high. No penalty comes and a few tackles later it goes on report but we gained nothing from the contact. After getting all those penalties against Souths last time they have dried up completely. We seem lost when things don't go our way.

Storm will put 50 on us. Eels probably have a better chance at beating them. Although realistically I think Storm destroy either team. We are a shadow of the team we were before Origin 1. Too many disruptions and even back to near that roster they just aren't in sync like they were

Same old thing, as soon as we Burned our challenge , the Ref...aah who cares.
It may be a benefit to continue playing rather than have a week off , especially if the weather conditions are like last night.