Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Performance enhanced

carinashark

Has anyone here played any type of football and used cocaine or any other drug? What was the effect, did you play better? I'm not talking about pain relief or steroid drugs. Having tried a few of these drugs way back when ( I'm 64 now ) I cannot imagine playing any sport any better. Maybe this whole drug issue should be looked at differently .

Playing music/bumping uglies/talking shit about how awesome you are, definitely.

Sport/academics/controlling heavy machinery, definite no.

I've never tried cocaine but I've been told its an excellent laxative.
I only played rugby league as a school kiddie in the 70s and we had no knowledge of performance enhancing substances, we smoked both conventional and irregular brands back then and they were no help at all.

Amin Yashed

I tried playing on speed years & years ago. So to answer the question I played terribly. I couldn't concentrate properly at all in defence. A mate of mine tried stoned as well, he told me that wasn't good either.

Amin Yashed

On this subject, didn't Fatty have a story about this in his book? Was given an upper of some description before an origin game & said it was terrible. From memory he didn't name the person, but I suspect who it was.

Eion

Thinking you're doing something better and actually doing something better are 2 different things.

So anything where you need to be a wanker would be good on any type of juice. Journalism would be perfect.

chewsta

Have some mates that would do the odd bender and rock up on the pingers and play. They would always play shithouse and looked like they would drop dead at any moment.
The poor trainer would have to run about 300 kilometers and go through 12,000 litres of water every time the merkins did it.

Born BB&W

My father always told me the sooner you get your beer goggles on the sooner you will get laid and he was so right. Does that count as sport?

Have some mates that would do the odd bender and rock up on the pingers and play. They would always play shithouse and looked like they would drop dead at any moment.
The poor trainer would have to run about 300 kilometers and go through 12,000 litres of water every time the merkins did it.

My father always told me the sooner you get your beer goggles on the sooner you will get laid and he was so right. Does that count as sport?

It's like that old line some blokes trot out that they play pool better when boozed. If you were playing pool, professionally, for money, and spent a lot of time practicing do you reckon you'd want to play the tournament pissed? No way.

Maccas4177

It's like that old line some blokes trot out that they play pool better when boozed. If you were playing pool, professionally, for money, and spent a lot of time practicing do you reckon you'd want to play the tournament pissed? No way.

Professional darts players used to play hammered!

Many decades ago (4 1/2 approx I'd say) I was playing as a younger member of a team of blokes of mixed ages. One of the blokes gave me a magic pill prior to one of thos game.

I felt like shit the entire game and played accordingly. But at around 10pm-ish that night at the after game piss-up I was bouncing off the walls and it wasn't just from the piss.

Never took another one after that.

My body was / is a mosque. It used to be a temple but it got bigger.