Sat night/Sunday arvo finals footy week 2
Friday night/Sunday arvo week 3
he wanted the best for fans and families and has delivered
I think the thing that most pleases me about this is that it seems to be showing the NRL are being able to dictate terms to Nine instead of vice-versa. This would appear to bode well for future tv negotiations with NRL having a lot of confidence in their products value.![]()
NRL hands Broncos Sunday afternoon preliminary final against Panthers or Bulldogs
The NRL has arranged special travel conditions for the Sydney team that plays the Broncos.www.smh.com.au
Ideally, I would've preferred Sat night/Sunday also for week 3 (like it was during 1999-2005, 2007). Nevertheless, absolutely fantastic Sunday arvo prelim finals are back! Have lots of great memories from the mid '90s (when I first began following RL) onwards of Sunday preliminary finals.
However, although not mentioned in that SMH article, 1st PF on a Friday night was probably the compromise Channel 9 demanded from the ARLC in order to seal the deal of having the other PF on Sunday.
After 17 years of Friday night/Saturday night week 2 and 3 finals, I'm so glad that Abdo et al. at the ARLC finally had the balls to stand up to Ch9 and do something ideal for the fans for a change. Good to read in the SMH article that the commission was also in favour of daytime football. How Ch9 were allowed to get away with this for so long is a joke. Week 2 and 3 finals on Sunday should've been brought back immediately once Ch9 got their coveted night GF back in 2013.
Hopefully these scheduling changes are the starting point to getting the GF kick-off time changed in 2028 (when the next tv rights deal begins). 7:30pm kickoff is way too late!
Need to push for a daytime grand finalI think the thing that most pleases me about this is that it seems to be showing the NRL are being able to dictate terms to Nine instead of vice-versa. This would appear to bode well for future tv negotiations with NRL having a lot of confidence in their products value.
Need to push for a daytime grand final
Day time footy is heaps better standard
Need to push for a daytime grand final
Day time footy is heaps better standard
I think it was Abdo who was attributed in an article I read saying it would remain a night time Grand Final (I just can't remember exactly where I read it though).
I don't think it will change in the short term somehow.
They`re probably too busy making sure the loins and sons are there next year. It seems they think that Queensland is their best hope for expansion presently.There is a comment on that Roar article that there is zero coverage of the AFL finals in Sydney without any local involvement…. No wonder the AFL gives the Swans every leg up to have a competitive team every year ….im sure they will be back in the Top 4 next year ..
GWS have more members than most NRL clubs, looking at Lions & GWS crowds and more pertinently TV ratings it shows you how irrelevant a metric memberships are these days.that fact that the Lions have more members than the Broncos if true what do we make of that? i would say it isnt one thing it is a combination of 1. AFL inflates the numbers and 2. NRL clubs still bludge in this department and probably some other things.
For sure but also on the other hand it could be that nrl clubs need to lift their game in this area. The only time there was ever a big jump was the few years the nrl took control of membership.GWS have more members than most NRL clubs, looking at Lions & GWS crowds and more pertinently TV ratings it shows you how irrelevant a metric memberships are these days.
Lol.GWS have more members than most NRL clubs
that fact that the Lions have more members than the Broncos if true what do we make of that? i would say it isnt one thing it is a combination of 1. AFL inflates the numbers and 2. NRL clubs still bludge in this department and probably some other things.
Cause the membership figures are made up to try and seem like their expansion is workingthat fact that the Lions have more members than the Broncos if true what do we make of that? i would say it isnt one thing it is a combination of 1. AFL inflates the numbers and 2. NRL clubs still bludge in this department and probably some other things.