What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Places to live in Melbourne

Floods

Juniors
Hey, I am thinking about moving across the ditch to work in Melbourne. I work in the printing industry and most of the bigger printing companies are in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne like Clayton, Mulgrave, Knoxfield etc.

Can anyone tell me what the suburbs around those areas are like as far as moving a small family over there, what are the neighbourhoods like, are they relatively safe, good for transport etc?

Brisbane may also be an option but I already know people working in Melbourne so am looking there first.

Any help would be appreciated.

madunit

Super Moderator
Staff member
If you are going to rent, there's a shitload of units, new and old in around Bayswater, Bayswater North, Croydon etc.

Try and steer clear of Dandenong, Boronia, Rowville etc and places in the South east, like Frankston etc.

Box Hill is very busy with lots of asian shops and restaurants.

If you want be in a more 'well-to-do' area, go to inner east, like Burwood, Toorak, Hawthorn etc.

If you are looking to buy, avoid the east side and go to new housing development areas with a large property developer, most of these are West of the CBD and in the North.

I lived in Knoxfield for a couple of years and would consider it quite safe for a family. Never had any issues there, quite a lot of young families etc.

I'd call it a fairly "Aussie" area, a few young bogans cutting donuts in utes on a Friday night would be the worst you would come across.

I would have considered Croydon, Bayswater and Boronia a bit more gnarly.

Bayside is ok but as mentioned Frankston, Dandenong, Springvale, Noble Park should be avoided.