Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Player ratings

1 Gardner - 7 Typical game which is always above average
2 Wright - 7 We managed to run down his side a bit which resulted in two tries, great carries as usual.
3-Pom - 6 Good work rate put some good hits on, plus standard unco shit
4- Best - 7 He's going great atm, runs hard starting to see some good.
5- Stapo - 7 Best performance from the backs imo.. He is super safe under th high ball and ran the ball hard and was in everything.
6 Graham - 6 Good involvment but his kicks are still lacking a bit.
7- The Chad - 6 Good game, a few errors but he's got alot on his plate for a rookie.
8 - Mannah 6 Not enough h/u although I dont have the stats.. Good defender.
9 - Morris 8 Classy game and kept the bunnies on the back foot for most of it.
10- Dougy 7 Stepped up a peg in Gals absence, probably one of best out there.
11 - Bakuya 6 he was a bit quiet but defended everything, fell off a few tackles in the second half.
12 - Toops 7 love the offloads. See dougy.
13 - Smith 7 Probably the hardest player in the eyes of the opposing players, his ankle taps saved a few meaties too.
14 - Corboda 6 Some good carries, good game for him.
15 - Taga - 6 Loving the line breaks and big hits, just not on the field for long to rate higher
16 - Phlanngo 4 Please.. He is a waste of a bench spot...
17 - Taitai 7 Worked his arse off and held his own.

numbers different re Snowdens late w/d ? Anyway.

millersnose

1 Gardner - 7
2 Wright - 7
3-Pom - 7
4- Best - 5 blew a couple of chances
5- Stapo - 7
6 Graham - 5 still getting charged down
7- The Chad - 8
8 - Mannah 6
9 - Morris 8
10- Dougy 9
11 - Bakuya 6
12 - Toops 9
13 - Smith 7
14 - Corboda 5.
15 - Taga - 6 winning that turnover with a big hit was an important play

16 - Phlanngo 2 nice attacking kick on their line......

17 - Taitai 75

Weaponhead

1 Gardner - 7 Dangerous with the ball. Solid positional play
2 Wright - 7 Strong game. No frills but dependable.
3-Pom - 6 Mixed bag
4- Best - 7 The last 2 games have been good. Getting more involved and playing footy.
5- Stapo - 7 Strong running. Excellent offload for the Graham line break. The stint in reggies has done him the world of good.
6 Graham - 5.5 Tries really hard. Played hurt but is not effective. Kicking game was poor again.
7- The Chad - 6 Doing well but can be so much better. Ran the ball once and scored a try. There is a lesson there young fella.
8 - Mannah 6 Has not been dominated in one tackle in the past 2 games. PTB is much quicker now. Showing some promise.
9 - Morris 7 Solid game. Nice play with Douglas for the first try.
10- Dougy 7.5 Very strong. Dominated the Souths pack.
11 - Bakuya 6 Not bad. A few misses in defense.
12 - Toops 7.5 Has really stepped it up in the past three weeks. Quality offload for Wright's try.
13 - Smith 7.5 Leader. Asserted authority in the ruck.
14 - Corboda 5.5 Did OK but made an error.
15 - Taga - 6 Has all of the physical attributes but lacks intensity. Bad missed tackle led to a line break. Strong running and nice hit on Sutton.
16 - Phlanngo 4 Adds nothing. This spot would be better servied with a utility such as Peachey, AK or Graham.
17 - Tautai 7 Excellent performance. Stepped up and worked very hard.

1. Gards - 6.5
played pretty good. didnt look 100 percent under thehigh ball tho. dropped one. nearly dropped another.
2. Wright - 7
good game from wright. finished nicely on 2 moves. defended well.
3. Pommeroy - 6
he's a damaging runner. but a bit of a spaz. solid performance though. he has a real dig.
4. Best - 6
Scored a try. looked pretty good with the ball. did muck up a couple of attacks though. another solid performance though.
5. Stapleton - 7
Safe under the ball. great offload...trailing smith like a fullback would in the firts half caused souths grief. he's doing well.
6. Graham - 6
defensively strong. dosnt have the greatest pass on him though. also not all that quick for a 5/8. lock should be his go.
7. Townsend - 6
Solid game. scored a nice try. missed 1 bad goal kick...kicks were a bit hit and miss but his short kicks are so much better than what weve had in the past. should remain in firsts till we are mathematically out of it given he needs 1 more TC game to qualify.
8. Mannah - 6.5
Solid start to the game.should get a bench spot more often IMO when Snowwy is back.
9. Morris - 8.5
Best game as a shark. killed them at the ruck. should play 80
10. Douglas - 8
Another good one from Douggie. ill miss him.
11. Bakuya - 6.5 looked good early. got a bit of a niggle and didnt come back. hope he is fit.
12. Toops - 7 had a good game. great offloading and tough defence. chances his arm a bit though. good when it comes off.
13. J Smith - 8
its no coincidence that he comes back and we win 3 in a row. the guy is class. leads by example, has mongrel. hope he's fit for the next game.
one thing i will say is that sometimes he kinda lopes into the line. he could do more damage IMO

14. Cordoba - 5. made a solid return. nothing all that special though. solid
15. Tagatese - 5. bit of a mystery this guy. he smashed sutton. had 4 good runs...and did little lese. needs more time.
16. Flannagan....3. he got little time. he didnt do all that much...had one woeful kick...were better when morris is on anyway so dunno why we have him on the bench.
17. Tautai - 7.5
Best game as a shark IMO, played really tough off the bench. well played TT

Poss

1. Gards - 6.5
played pretty good. didnt look 100 percent under thehigh ball tho. dropped one. nearly dropped another.

That one in the second half where Gards moved his hands out of the way of the ball and then picked it up and ran 80 odd metres.... I reckon he touched it. I reckon he knew that he touched it too. Would have been interesting to see what he would have done if he was in open space with the tryline in sight..... Do you slow up and wait to be tackled, or do you hedge your bets and cross the srtipe and leave it up to the video ref to bring you back 80 metres downfield for a Rabbits scrum....

Poss

Stapleton had his best game for us I reckon.
Made a nice supporting break up the middle in the first half.
Great offload to put Gards away (I think it was Gards).
Great hitups from dummy-half... He made more metres than the props on a lot of his hitups.
Very sold under the high ball.

I reckon he knew that he touched it too. Would have been interesting to see what he would have done if he was in open space with the tryline in sight..... Do you slow up and wait to be tackled, or do you hedge your bets and cross the srtipe and leave it up to the video ref to bring you back 80 metres downfield for a Rabbits scrum....

well.

i reckon he knew, stopped, ran and maybe made sure he got tackled.

but then we farked up anyway

Vin Fizz

How many tries did we bomb yesterday?? We got to make sure of it.
Yeah Coolum I agree. It was great to watch us win but, we bombed 2 deadset tries imho. A few more possibles as well. Also had a couple dissallowed (fair enough). Would have loved to see us put them to the sword. We won quite easily yesterday, but a change of momentum (ie Gards being pulled up for a knock on) followed by the Bunnies scoring can change the complexion of a game. Should have been 30 or more up by then! Still great work Sharkies!!!!

Poss

The Graham break in the first half wasnt really a bombed try I dont think.
It was just a good read in cover defence by Wesser and a great chase from that souths forward. Graham had Chad on his inside but Wesser positioned himself in a way that made it hard for Wade to throw the ball. He took the best option of throwing the dummy, which would have seen him in under the posts if not for the souths forward which Wade was unaware of. What was the other bombed try?

spider

It was just a good read in cover defence by Wesser and a great chase from that souths forward. Graham had Chad on his inside but Wesser positioned himself in a way that made it hard for Wade to throw the ball. He took the best option of throwing the dummy, which would have seen him in under the posts if not for the souths forward which Wade was unaware of. What was the other bombed try?
yeah, spot on

it was the chase from behind graham that allowed wesser to make his choice on the support player

cool head shown by graham to not force the pass and take the tackle - though he would not have had any idea how close behind him the player was

spider

wesser would have tackled him mate, possibly intercepted it - hindsight is wonderful though

Vin Fizz

McQueen was the bunny that chased him down. You're right Poss. All academic now. In real time it looked like Chad would have scored. He was running to Wessers inside shoulder (left) toward the posts. He may have got him, but Mcqueen wouldn't have that's for sure (too far away and focused on Graham). The other one was in the first half not long after. We had em at sixes and sevens on our left and threw it forward I think (Maybe Morris). It was 3 or 4 on one about 10 out. Maybe i'm tripping!!!

1 Gardner - 7 Dangerous with the ball. Solid positional play
2 Wright - 7 Strong game. No frills but dependable.
3-Pom - 6 Mixed bag
4- Best - 7 The last 2 games have been good. Getting more involved and playing footy.
5- Stapo - 7 Strong running. Excellent offload for the Graham line break. The stint in reggies has done him the world of good.
6 Graham - 5.5 Tries really hard. Played hurt but is not effective. Kicking game was poor again.
7- The Chad - 6 Doing well but can be so much better. Ran the ball once and scored a try. There is a lesson there young fella.
8 - Mannah 6 Has not been dominated in one tackle in the past 2 games. PTB is much quicker now. Showing some promise.
9 - Morris 7 Solid game. Nice play with Douglas for the first try.
10- Dougy 7.5 Very strong. Dominated the Souths pack.
11 - Bakuya 6 Not bad. A few misses in defense.
12 - Toops 7.5 Has really stepped it up in the past three weeks. Quality offload for Wright's try.
13 - Smith 7.5 Leader. Asserted authority in the ruck.
14 - Corboda 5.5 Did OK but made an error.
15 - Taga - 6 Has all of the physical attributes but lacks intensity. Bad missed tackle led to a line break. Strong running and nice hit on Sutton.
16 - Phlanngo 4 Adds nothing. This spot would be better servied with a utility such as Peachey, AK or Graham.
17 - Tautai 7 Excellent performance. Stepped up and worked very hard.

1 error loses you 4.5 points?

Anyway, I would go pretty close to yours on the rest.

Taga needs more time to get into the game I reckon. Gards is looking sus under bombs. When The Sharks play some better teams I reckon he'll think it's raining arrows with the aerial pummelling I expect him to get.

Weaponhead

1 error loses you 4.5 points?

Anyway, I would go pretty close to yours on the rest.

Taga needs more time to get into the game I reckon. Gards is looking sus under bombs. When The Sharks play some better teams I reckon he'll think it's raining arrows with the aerial pummelling I expect him to get.

1 error costs you .5 a point if you have an average 6 out of 10 game.

Agree re Taga. He is doing OK considering he would still be learning the structures. Has massive upside when his head is in the right place.

Fair 'nuff.

I reckon Cords went OK.

His 5 hitups netted over 50 metres. That's good yards. His total of 9 runs for 80 isn't too shabby either. Not bad in 29 minutes.

Tucky

Fair 'nuff.

I reckon Cords went OK.

His 5 hitups netted over 50 metres. That's good yards. His total of 9 runs for 80 isn't too shabby either. Not bad in 29 minutes.

Agree, Cords had one his best games for us. Our bench was good yesterday other than Flano.

As others have already mentioned, we need to do away with Flano off the bench and leave Morris on for the full 80 at dummy half.

Weaponhead

Our ruck defence was very ragged when Smith and Douglas were off the field.

I may have been a bit tough on Cordoba given it was first game back from injury. Our bench should be a lot stronger next season with Green and Taufua as depth forwards along with Cordoba