Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Player Turnover

Magpies Forever

Well, we have the following players whose contracts are up either this year or next. Will be interesting to see who will be extended or go.

As far a I can figure the following is correct:

end of 2012:
Bell, Chisholm, Grant, Groat, Humble, Miller, Moltzen, Moors, Ryan, Tuqiri, Utai, Cashman, Ellis.

end of 2013:
Farah, Fulton, Galloway, Heighington, Murdoch-Masila, Reddy, Spencer.

Signed for 2013:
Anasta, Leilua

Radical Rat

Well, we have the following players whose contracts are up either this year or next. Will be interesting to see who will be extended or go.

end of 2012:
Bell, Chisholm, Grant, Groat, Humble, Miller, Moltzen, Moors, Ryan, Tuqiri, Utai, Cashman, Ellis.

end of 2013:

Signed for 2013:
Leilua

I wouldn't be re signing Tuqiri or Utai. And I hate to say it but I'd be tapping Heighington on the shoulder as well. No doubt he could get himself a nice payday in England.

No Ellis, Tuqiri, Utai and Heighington would free up some much needed funds.

Magpies Forever

I wouldn't be re signing Tuqiri or Utai. And I hate to say it but I'd be tapping Heighington on the shoulder as well. No doubt he could get himself a nice payday in England.

No Ellis, Tuqiri, Utai and Heighington would free up some much needed funds.

I agree on Tuqiri and Utai, in fact I'd be encouraging Tuqiri to explore RU offers in Europe for an early release. Agree Heigho is surplus now and should look to ESL early. Moltzen may not be re-signed (no loss), Ellis will be a huge loss. I'm concerned over the halfback / utilities ending up this year- a decision has to be made soon as they're looking around now. I'd suggest extend Humble & Miller / Chisholm. Havent a clue on Grant's potential.

Of the other 2013 guys Farah, Galloway and Murdoch-Masila would be the only ones I'd rush to re-sign early (i.e now).

macnaz

Im over it !! Lets just get rid off all the tigers heart ?? players like Heingno are just the same to a side like Gallen, Gibbs, Hindmarsh , Oneill ... f**k it lets just start again here with players like Blair . Anyway all bitterness aside we are headed in ONE direction from here and its down f**king hill .... its ironic but with Shines panther love affair ,he not only likes to get players from their club.... we will be languishing with them at the bottom for years to come. MARK my words!!

WE HAD OUR CHANCE .. ITS NOW OVER !!! get rid of the fonz is our only hope .

R2Coupe

I say bullshit and supporters like you Macnaz should p_ss off and support a State Cup team.

I get sick of your anti Sheens' agenda and it is obvious Heighington with his British passport can make significant earnings in the UK. Fulton can fill the role of Heighington providing an opportunity for BMM and Fotuaika to come into the NRL.

macnaz

I say bullshit and supporters like you Macnaz should p_ss off and support a State Cup team.

I get sick of your anti Sheens' agenda and it is obvious Heighington with his British passport can make significant earnings in the UK. Fulton can fill the role of Heighington providing an opportunity for BMM and Fotuaika to come into the NRL.

f**k YOU ..

macnaz

Dont you tell me what to feel and say about a club i have been supporting for 40 years u narrow minded grub..... I SUPPORT THE CLUB !!!!! i dont have to support the prick that coaches us... FU!!!!! you wanker.

macnaz

While im at it.... RC stop the bullshit and have some balls and own up to WHO you f**king are ..... YOU are linked to Sheens somehow ,,, your continual blind 100 % support for the dickhead time and time again proves it ..
BALLS UP FFS !!!! or STFU!!

Fordy20

end of 2012:

end of 2013:

Signed for 2013:
Leilua

Anasta will be with us in 2013.

Im over it !! Lets just get rid off all the tigers heart ?? players like Heingno are just the same to a side like Gallen, Gibbs, Hindmarsh , Oneill ... f**k it lets just start again here with players like Blair . Anyway all bitterness aside we are headed in ONE direction from here and its down f**king hill .... its ironic but with Shines panther love affair ,he not only likes to get players from their club.... we will be languishing with them at the bottom for years to come. MARK my words!!

Unfortunately Mac, I do think Heighington has done his dash here. He makes plenty of hit ups and that quantity of his work cannot be argued, but really the majority of it is of little quality and he seems to be on the downhill slide. Matt Bell at lock last weekend was refreshing to watch. A player who can dominate on and off the ball.

hybrid_tiger

This idea of clinging onto players who are way past their best or simply not good enough in the first place continually amazes me.

The same was said when we let Halatau go: "heart, part of the 2005 side, we will miss him" etc. etc. The reality was he is a bog average first grader who played three good months of football and we haven't missed him one bit.

Heighington should be moved on at the end of this year. He offers zero impact, is one of the most ineffective players in the game and is a huge part of why our pack is constantly dominated.

Magpies Forever

I think Gibbs is more of a loss for 'heart and soul' but I respect Heighington heaps. I recall him turning down an good offer from Saints (?) a few years ago to stay with WT. But unfortunately, in my humble opinion, I reckon next year we will mostly see Heigho, if he stays at WT, on the interchange bench, he could do better at another club or in the ESL. Representing England must be a good thing for him still to aim for- not sure he could still do it from the interchange bench though.

Alas. unless we totally tank this year and there are secret performance bits in his contract I reckon we are struck with Teflon till 2014.

magpie guy

I think Gibbs is more of a loss for 'heart and soul' but I respect Heighington heaps. I recall him turning down an good offer from Saints (?) a few years ago to stay with WT. But unfortunately, in my humble opinion, I reckon next year we will mostly see Heigho, if he stays at WT, on the interchange bench, he could do better at another club or in the ESL. Representing England must be a good thing for him still to aim for- not sure he could still do it from the interchange bench though.

Alas. unless we totally tank this year and there are secret performance bits in his contract I reckon we are struck with Teflon till 2014.

I tend to agree. Seems like a great bloke has heart and has performed well for the club in the past. Unfortunately he is a toiler backrower and you can only really afford one of those in a side. Fulton is a better "toiler" but I believe that Heigho has better impact from the bench than Fulton as long as he is running wide.

super_coach

With the salary cap you can't afford to have a work horse bench player eating to much into your cap.Maybe different if rhino was a explosive impact player but he isn't.His contribution to the WestsTigers has been massive but his days in the sun are all but over.

buying more and more players from elsewhere just chews up more cap space and depletes our depth immensely.

We're in a situation where the top team, even when fully fit, has major gaps that need to be filled by specialist players, as well as having next to no quality depth at all. This was seen last year, albeit fleetingly.

It's been abundantly clear this year. We put all our eggs in the Blair basket and we now have a shithouse omlete!