Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Politis laughable

Pigskin

PINGU said:
Lets be honest here, how many other clubs within the NRL have had to dump players they have produced as to stay under the salary cap? None that I can think of.

let me know when the Roosters are in the same ballpark for producing talent as the Broncos

I presume the quote above was in sarcasm

Oink !

Grantwhy

Tamazoid said:
Finch won't get any more money - he's midway through a contract, and there's no way he'll be playing another Origin match, ever. He isn't rep standar and thus can't demand more money.

Want to bet on that?

Just about every player's contract would include clauses that if that player plays a representative game they get a bonus payment from their club.

It's part enticement by the Clubs to sign representative/fring representative players and also encouragement for the players to play well enough to get picked for Rep games.

I believe however, that any such bonus payments don't count towards the Clubs Salary Cap payments for the current season, but they do count for the next season's Salary Cap.

If I am right :roll:, Finch playing in Origin 2 might mean the Roosters pay him a 'rep bonus' of, say, $5,000-$10,000. That wouldn't affect the Roosters Cap for this season but would be added to their player payment for next season (even of Finch isn't playing for them).

Well . . . . . that's how I think it goes ...... :?

Probablility of being correct is about 15.72% and falling :lol:

Please feel free to say what really happens :D.

melon....

Kiwi said:
melon.... said:
If the little Mercury story is accurate, IF, then Saints dont look as dumb do they? But their supporters still do, because to come to the conclusion Easts are going to be over the cap or how can Easts sign Firman, you really need to KNOW who is OFF CONTRACT at Easts.

Robinson
Cross
Cusack
Lester
Dorn
Phillips
Catic

for starters.

Now see if you can put the peas in your head to motion and figure..."Are Easts going to retain all these off contract players?" Therein lies your answer. My guess is Cross will go, Cusack maybe, Lester and Dorn Goodbye. Possibly phillips. Catic or Cusack will stay but I think only 1 of them. Add to that Fittler's dollars and Id say we can pay for Firman and stay under the cap....assuming the Mercury is accurate. Otherwise, Saints can prepare their chequebooks.

The big mistake many Mongo's make is they assume Easts will retain all their players without knowing who is off contract.

The only player on that list worth talking about is Cross. The rest are PL players at best. Good for nothing more than covering injuries every now and again. Phillips was great once, but what do you reckon he'd be on? And if Phillips and any of the others are on good money, what do you reckon the likes of Wing, Fitzgibbon are on?

Wait till the silly season has finished, we'll compare gains and losses then see what you have to say. It's one thing to say we lost these players, when better players are signed in their place for less money as other contracts are upgraded.
Speaking of potential salary cap accusations and rorts...tell me kiwi, have the Broncos devised a new one?

Whats the deal with Smith playing, and how long before Renouf is back in first grade? Having asked the question, with Renouf's salary coming from a local Brisbane comp team, I assume he will receive "Match Payments" only at the Broncos for any appearances. Are these covered by the Salary Cap (1st or 2nd Tier)? Or will it be a case of play for nix and get your face on a poster on every bus in Brisbane ala Lockyear?

OVP

Big Mick said:
I think you guys must be giving Mr Ian Schubert a bit of your salary cap because there is no way Morley is on $200,000 when he could be on $600,000 in England.

For the record, yes Morley could easily earn 3 times more in England. But why did he choose not to ? Is it the same reason that Peacock will want to play at the Roosters ? Perhaps, just perhaps these players may wish to play at a top NRL club so they could further their knowledge of the game and hence earn 5 times more when they get back home in the future. Did you think of that Mick ? Peacock will be paid no more than Morley is and i can assure you that Firman would be on the same wages as Finch (175k per yer). Thats two player we can sign and easily fit them WELL under Fittler's wages.

And since Cross is more than likely going to accept a huge Rugby offer (no club can compete with Rugby when it comes to money), then im sure that money will be used to top up our current players contracts. Did u know that Mini and Hegs are only on 150k ? Why ? Because they resigned their last contract BEFORE they became Rep players.

Anyway, my club doesnt need to prove itself to idiots like those on this stupid forum ... keep thinking we are breaking the salary cap all you like, but there's no way in hell any of you have a clue as to how much our players are being paid, nor WHY they want to play for us. Let your jealous little, tiny minds fester more and more hatred of my great club ... but all it shows it that you are just jealous because these players WANT to play for us, and not your crap clubs !! :lol:

ozzie

Stgillaman said:
nqboy said:
From Roy Masters in the SMH 18/6: "Politis, the Roosters chairman, has already complained to NRL chief executive David Gallop about the effect the upgraded status of new Blues half Brett Finch will have on his contract and, therefore, the club's salary cap. With seven Roosters playing Origin in 2004, the irony of the Bondi Junction club being the financial loser of a series designed to fill the game's coffers is not lost on the billionaire businessman."

Should've thought of that when you signed him Nick. Take it up with your Goose of a mate, the club's coaching director, who drafted him into the side above other more worthy options.

Trust me it's another ploy. You watch Finch will probably come out and state, he does not want the money. he is also playing for the love of the Roosters.

Yep Finchy, and if your carreer ends this season, Will you regret it, or run to switzerland for some Swiss cheese..

:roll: :roll:

In regards to politis, he is only doing his job. The strain of having 11 rep players is starting to show on the books.

But hey, if Souths and the Eels can spend 3.5 Mill on their Squads, the Roosters management are the most creative accountants in all of Australia.

I Should know, a mate was one for them. :D

you are now telling me you got a mate?? Yeah and the pope is an Anglican..

melon....

DJ1 said:
DJ1 said:
melon.... said:
DJ1 said:
The point is that we didn't already have 15 rep players when we signed new players.
Are you saying we had 15 rep players before we signed more first graders?

Are you saying that you havn't signed Firman?

Just ignore this question, melon!

Ooops, just noticed that you did. :roll:

Sorry for not replying sooner Dirty Dog, some of us actually work for a living, and a good one at that!!

Hmmmmm....no Im not saying we havent signed Firman, although after we finish with him, you can add to our rep list :lol:

Im saying we are no different to Brisbane, Newcastle, The Warriors, and CANTERBURY. In that we have rep players, that we made rep players, and we buy first or fringe first graders when we are required. Same as your club, same as everyone.

Thats the stupid thing about the Mongs arhuing the point. They cant see past their hatred for the Roosters, especially you, whos team are PROVEN CHEATS, to see that all clubs do what you claim the Roosters do. The Roosters just do it smarter and more successfully.

ozzie

Rooster Cogburn. said:
Stgillaman said:
I never said Roosters accountant, but if you must know.. A Backer of the Club.. 8)

Roosterphobiaman's mate put's his wages through the pokies at Easts every week! :lol:

probably one of those backers that you make sure you got your back to the wall!!

taxidriver

"Did u know that Mini and Hegs are only on 150k ? Why ? Because they resigned their last contract BEFORE they became Rep players"

geeze, their managers must be pretty poor not having bonuses for rep sides like almost every other player in the NRL.

TRANSLATION

Kiwi said:
melon.... said:
If the little Mercury story is accurate, IF, then Saints dont look as dumb do they? But their supporters still do, because to come to the conclusion Easts are going to be over the cap or how can Easts sign Firman, you really need to KNOW who is OFF CONTRACT at Easts.

Robinson
Cross
Cusack
Lester
Dorn
Phillips
Catic

for starters.

Now see if you can put the peas in your head to motion and figure..."Are Easts going to retain all these off contract players?" Therein lies your answer. My guess is Cross will go, Cusack maybe, Lester and Dorn Goodbye. Possibly phillips. Catic or Cusack will stay but I think only 1 of them. Add to that Fittler's dollars and Id say we can pay for Firman and stay under the cap....assuming the Mercury is accurate. Otherwise, Saints can prepare their chequebooks.

The big mistake many Mongo's make is they assume Easts will retain all their players without knowing who is off contract.

The only player on that list worth talking about is Cross. The rest are PL players at best. Good for nothing more than covering injuries every now and again. Phillips was great once, but what do you reckon he'd be on? And if Phillips and any of the others are on good money, what do you reckon the likes of Wing, Fitzgibbon are on?

Wait till the silly season has finished, we'll compare gains and losses then see what you have to say. It's one thing to say we lost these players, when better players are signed in their place for less money as other contracts are upgraded.

Typical, I wanted to see a post of your to gauge your intellect on football, and you are seriously deluded, if that is your view on those players.

Cusack is what the Broncos require from a prop with Webke, Pedro andd Parker.

Chad Robinson is a very good player, as is Lester for backup.. Phillips could hold his own anywhere. Cross is average to good, never incredible.

Kiwi

melon.... said:
Kiwi said:
melon.... said:

Robinson
Cross
Cusack
Lester
Dorn
Phillips
Catic

for starters.

Speaking of potential salary cap accusations and rorts...tell me kiwi, have the Broncos devised a new one?

Whats the deal with Smith playing, and how long before Renouf is back in first grade? Having asked the question, with Renouf's salary coming from a local Brisbane comp team, I assume he will receive "Match Payments" only at the Broncos for any appearances. Are these covered by the Salary Cap (1st or 2nd Tier)? Or will it be a case of play for nix and get your face on a poster on every bus in Brisbane ala Lockyear?

Renouf wont be back in first grade, Smith dunno what he is on, wont be much, maybe a bit of what Tony left when he was released. Ikin is very publically on $200 match payments, and like Smith will only be used when desperately needed. It's not like the Broncos have signed a Chris Walker or David Kidwell mid-season now is it? Players in their primes, no they have asked for help during origin and with injuries from a few former players who have said yes. You forget the Broncos lost Lee, Ikin, Swain, Gee and Prince last year, only signing Tony who has now left at his request. Ikin has returned, but like I said for peanuts.

The Broncos don't dip into the player market like some other clubs like to, they prefer to develop loyalty, it's cheeper than buying it.

On the bus comment, how are the sunsilk boys going Melon? Every team has players with extra money coming in from sponsors, at this point you would be calling someone an epod for saying the same thing.

Kiwi

Stgillaman said:
Kiwi said:
melon.... said:

Robinson
Cross
Cusack
Lester
Dorn
Phillips
Catic

for starters.

Typical, I wanted to see a post of your to gauge your intellect on football, and you are seriously deluded, if that is your view on those players.

Cusack is what the Broncos require from a prop with Webke, Pedro andd Parker.

Chad Robinson is a very good player, as is Lester for backup.. Phillips could hold his own anywhere. Cross is average to good, never incredible.

Oh no I don't agree with Stgillman I must be deluded. :( :(

Tell me if Phillips was that good still, after serious injuries, then why is he still in PL? Why isn't he at fullback for the Roosters with Mini on the wing and the slow arse Byrne or mr inconsistant turnstyles Walker dropped? Lester couldn't break into the Broncos team, and we need a winger.

Cusack is good, but not that good, Robinson is a rookie bench player who is yet to do anything that says he's a very good player.

I like this not being liked by someone, it's gives me someone to laugh at and annoy.

Chook

melon.... said:
DJ1 said:
The point is that we didn't already have 15 rep players when we signed new players.

Lets look at that now....this is good, I hope youre learning from this...

1. Anthony Minichiello - Wasnt a rep. Is one now
2. Todd Byrne - Nope
3. Ryan Cross - Nope. Is one now
4. Shannon Hegarty - wasnt a rep. I think he played some grade at Perth Reds. Is one now
5. Chris Walker - Granted
6. Justin Hodges - Wasnt a rep. Is one now
7. Brad Fittler - Granted
8. Brett Finch - Not a rep. Is one now
9. Peter Cusack - wasnt a rep. Is one now
10. Michael; Crocker. Wasnt a rep. is one now
11. Craig Fitzgibbon - wasnt a rep. Is one now
12. Adrian Morley - Granted
13. Craig Wing. Not a rep at Souths. Is one now
14. Ned Catic. Nope
15. Jason Cayless. Nope. Is one now
16.Chris Flannery - Nope. Is one now
17. Stuart Webb - nope.
18. Anthony Tupou - Nope. But will be next year.

I count 3 or 4 Rep players prior to joining Easts. Funnily the rest BECAME REP PLAYERS AT EASTS.

Now you said we already had 15 rep players. Where? we made them reps, but only 4 were reps when we bought them. Half of the rest made their first grade debuts at Easts.

Any thing else you would like explained for you?

Don't you just love the way the so called "learned" ones have purposely ignored your point here Melon?

DJ1 once again you are made to look the complete and utter fool you are.

Chook.

DJ1

Another utter fool misses the point.

The bottom line is that you already have 15 rep players in your current squad.

melon responded with a comment which can only demonstrate ignorance of the Firman signing,

Then changes the subject towards the representative advantages which the Rooster coaching staff give their players. No relation to the discussion point.

TRANSLATION

DJ1 said:

melon responded with a comment which can only demonstrate ignorance of the Firman signing,

Then changes the subject towards the representative advantages which the Rooster coaching staff give their players. No relation to the discussion point.

I Quite enjoyed Brian Fletchers comments in the League week a couple of weeks ago when he stated that the Rabbits beat the Roosters where he stated that he knows that their Flegg side is worth a Huge amount.

What ??.. Paying Flegg boys more than what some of your First graders get ?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chook

Stgillaman said:
DJ1 said:

I Quite enjoyed Brian Fletchers comments in the League week a couple of weeks ago when he stated that the Rabbits beat the Roosters where he stated that he knows that their Flegg side is worth a Huge amount.

What ??.. Paying Flegg boys more than what some of your First graders get ?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Once again you make a complete and utter fool of yourself Stfairweatherfanman. The Rabbits beat our SG ball side, not our flegg side. DUH!!

So much for what you know :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chook.

DJ1

There is nothing wrong with paying your Flegg players. There is a primary and secondary cap relating to your top 25 squad and then the rest. The 25 squad is detirmined by the top 25 contracts for that year in dollar value. So a player outside the 25 would not be able to get paid more than a player in the 25. If the rules are adhered to.

TRANSLATION

Chook said:
Stgillaman said:
DJ1 said:

Once again you make a complete and utter fool of yourself Stfairweatherfanman. The Rabbits beat our SG ball side, not our flegg side. DUH!!

Chook.

So your SGBALL Side earns more than some of your first graders, Who looks like an idiot now..

Shit your a Goose. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chook

Stgillaman said:
Chook said:
Stgillaman said:
DJ1 said:

Chook.

So your SGBALL Side earns more than some of your first graders, Who looks like an idiot now..

sh*t your a Goose. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

According to who, you? :lol: :lol: You who doesn't know the difference between Flegg and SG ball.

I agree with Fletch, our SG ball is worth heaps. The talent in that side will put us in good stead for years. And that makes you burn more than anything doesn't it Stfairweatherfanman?

Chook.

TRANSLATION

Chook said:
Stgillaman said:
Chook said:
Stgillaman said:
DJ1 said:

Chook.

According to who, you? :lol: :lol: You who doesn't know the difference between Flegg and SG ball.

I agree with Fletch, our SG ball is worth heaps. The talent in that side will put us in good stead for years. And that makes you burn more than anything doesn't it Stfairweatherfanman?

Chook.

No it does not, you have been doing it for 30 Years. You have 1 Premiership to show for it.

Thats a Big Failure..

Chook

Stgillaman said:
Chook said:
Stgillaman said:
Chook said:
Stgillaman said:
DJ1 said:

Chook.

Chook.

No it does not, you have been doing it for 30 Years. You have 1 Premiership to show for it.

Thats a Big Failure..

Can't count either I see. 30 years wouold take us back to 1974 where we won two GFs 74-75, and again in 2002. That's 3 in my books. Maybe they count differently in Stfairweatherfanman land?

Keep going fool, I'm loving this.

Chook.