Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Possible reason for Vella's crappiness v Warriors

Hurriflatch

PARRAMATTA v ROOSTERS

Parramatta Stadium, tonight 7.35

Second-rower Michael Crocker (ribs/ankle) was still in the Roosters side late yesterday but not given much hope of playing. Chris Flannery coming up from a five-man bench to lock with Luke Ricketson shifting into the second row is a likely scenario. Parramatta forward Michael Vella is in doubt with a sternum injury and Justin Tsoulos is his possible replacement.

Hurriflatch said:
PARRAMATTA v ROOSTERS

Second-rower Michael Crocker (ribs/ankle) was still in the Roosters side late yesterday but not given much hope of playing. Chris Flannery coming up from a five-man bench to lock with Luke Ricketson shifting into the second row is a likely scenario. Parramatta forward Michael Vella is in doubt with a sternum injury and Justin Tsoulos is his possible replacement.

I reckon it's what is behind the sternum that is his problem!

scottyeel

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Hurriflatch said:
PARRAMATTA v ROOSTERS

I reckon it's what is behind the sternum that is his problem!
Thers nothing there to be a problem :evil:

Give him a break - if he does have some sort of sternum injury then thats a pretty painful thing to have to deal with, esp playing in the forwards against the Warriors big boppers.....it would explain the lack of game time and stats.

And, infact, you'd have to probably say he showed some heart to return to the field in the second half even tho injured because we were already down a man after Muckert went off early and couldn't return.....I mean Dykesy damaged his stenum/ribs and was carried off on a stretcher (yeah I know it was worse, but still) - chest injuries are bad news in footy games cos your chest is pounded all game.

I really would rather have Tsoulos and Vella NOT play if they are not fit. Why risk further injury?

Shoulder and chest injuries are horrendous - painful, and can often be career-threatening. Just ask Ryles a year ago whether he thought in all honesty he'd be back playing Origin.

Vella when he's fit and prime for a good night is great - just ask the Panthers a few weeks ago. He was awesome. And against Manly.

I think if we are to keep Vella (which I think we should; he's a Parra boy, it would be a shame to see him go), he needs to be an impact prop coming off the bench from now on. Maybe a quick, strong, mobile prop like himself would work better against tired opposition.

Credit where it's due. He stepped up for the Roosters game, injury or not. :clap:

Vella with tackles and hit-ups to his name - that's what he and the team need consistently!

Utey

You guys dont see the effort that our starting props make. We bought big propas but they are all injured so they aere doign the best they are able to do. We dont dominate veyr often and when we do i like to give them credit> Credit is dfinatley due in this case against the roosters.

fish eel

Agreed. You people are not Parramatta supporters! You are all just knockers.

so.....what are you with your sig then??

vella was non existant v warriors, but really stood up saturday night

aphelion

ParraDaze said:
eelsta said:
leave him alone :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :twisted: :twisted:

Agreed. You people are not Parramatta supporters! You are all just knockers.

I'd be changing my sig if I was you then. Pot, meet kettle.

True EEL

Vella did step up and play like he can....but the reason was the fact that next year he will be competing with Cannings, Stringer, Robinson and maybe Cayless for the 2 frontrow positions......not Stapleton, Pearson, Moimoi, Kaufusi etc etc.....

oldmancraigy

So Vella doesn't get any credit for his barnstorming game against the Roosters???

He made 43 tackles, 21 hitups and 153 meters! Just plain awesome!!!!

Funniest thread in ages. :lol: :lol:

He's had 4 good games all year.........Thats not good enough.
After three seasons of infrequent decent performances, I wouldn't shed a tear if he left.

Redback71

the boys on fox sport seemed to praise him for his performance the last several weeks shame u lot cant do the same thing