Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Power Rankings

Lowdown

I don't know who does the LU Power Rankings, but I think you have some explaining to do. I understand the 'everyones opinion is different' but I reckon fundamentally the process is out of whack. What criteria are you applying here?

1. Manly? Boring, uninspiring and wins over the rusty Raiders, Toothless Tigers and a 2nd half against the Rooted Roosters...wow. If there is a more boring team..please let me know.

2. Souths? Come on. We all get excited, but similarly, they've not played a singly serious top 8 contender as yet. We can go on about 1971 (or whatever), but when they beat a top side, then fine. Until then: 4th at the absolute most.

3. Cowboys? Should be number 1. Beat last years Grand Finalists and look the goods. Faded against Dragons - but Thurston was in the bin. Enough said.

4. Storm? 4th? Behind Souths and Manly - hmmm. Their win over the Warriors should be proof alone that they should be top 2.

5. Penrth - OK - they smash the Doggies and towel up the Lockyer Broncos and so you put them 4 spots behind Manly? Come on - they should be top 3.

6. Warriors - fine.

7. Knights - You've ranked the hapless Knights (complete with Johns) ahead of the Raiders who flogged them easily. On what basis are you ranking this?

8. Raiders - sure 1 win does not make a side. But behind the Knights..ROFL.

Seems to me you are putting too much emphasis on the NRL League Ladder, which for mind, is not the point. Whose recent form - based on the quality of the opposition- should be the determinant for these Power Rankings - not simply the 2 points.

Here's my 2 cents:

1. Cowboys - class, dangerous and Thurston as the absolute best player in the comp by a mile.
2. Storm - the yardstick of the comp is warming up. Bashed a full strength Warriors team (which you guys ranked numero 1 last week..go figure)
3. Penrith - excuse round 1. Focus on rounds 2 and 3. Wow.
4. Manly - 3 wins counts for something...but looking at their opponents - I'd discount it.
5. Souths. Good Job Bunnies, but play a decent team then we'll talk.
6. Warriors - big loss against the Storm, and tough win against Broncos minus Lockyer...hmmm.
7. Raiders - excuse round 1 also. Focus on tough loss to the Storm, great win over Knights.
8. Knights - pathetic, and deserved to be punished despite only 1 loss. It was just how they lost which should speak volumes. Do they practice tackling, or just scoring?

its a rolling form guide. you cant exclude results, that would defeat the purpose of the idea

Lowdown

I didnt say exclude results...simply dont base so much on them. Its not a ladder, its a ranking on how powerful side is performing.

In theory, we could have bottom 4 side in the top 8 if they've beaten some good sides (in a row) - classic example is the Eels last year. They were smoking in the back end, and should have been ranked in the top 4 (I think they were too), despite struggling to even make the 8.

Its hard at this early stage to have it really much different than the ladder, since only 3 games have been played, not much separates the teams in terms of wins, you'll find as the season gets into about round 7 that it will be a lot easier to tell who should be where.

Charlie124

I agree with Lowdown, quality of opposition and effort should count for more than just the win.

Sugar

top 2 defensive teams lead the power rankings seems fair,Its better than being 15th like last season

mxlegend99

Agree with lowdown. Storm and Cowboys have beaten the best opposition so far. Storm smashed the Warriors, one of the form teams of the comp, and Cowboys beat the Broncos in a nice hard game, absolutely smashed that joke of a team, the Roosters and put in a convincing win over the Dragons with Thurston sidelined for 10mins.

Manly have beaten easier sides in less then perfect games. They're doing well for sure... but i'd rank the teams as this:
1. Storm - 2 easy wins in the first rounds, then a hard game comes up and they rise to the occassion and exceed it by miles. Warriors were never in it.
2. Cowboys - 3 solid wins, 2 against decent teams, and the other was the biggest hiding of the year. They have the form halfback of the competition who could beat any team, or just about.
3. Souths - 3 good wins. Not great teams, but they have been very convincing wins, and Souths have played some good footy. A loss to the Doggies will drop them considerably, but a win makes them a legitimate Premiership threat IMO.
4. Manly - 3 big wins, and leading the competition. Unfortunately it's against teams that would have lost no matter who faced them, and the Sea Eagles looked very rough for big patches of the game. Storm, Souths and Cowboys all would have touched them up big time... possibly even the Panthers and Warriors.
5. Panthers - Pathetic Round 1, but in the past 2 weeks have scored 12 tries and looking like a dangerous team for anyone if we can hold onto the ball a bit better. Most of our conceded tries are through drop ball or silly passes rather then sloppy defence.
6. Warriors - I would have had them top 3 till they got smashed by the Storm. Even a close loss would keep them top 3. But they still managed to beat the Broncos very easily.
7. Raiders - Absolutely annihilated the Knights. But the Knights were never convincing opponents to me. A 1 point win over a 12 man bulldogs side, and a 4 point win over the Dragons thanks to a lot of drop ball got them home. Playing a team that was equal in numbers and able to hold onto the ball for the second half, they got smashed.
8. Knights - By default. THe other teams haven't done anything as yet, and the Knights lucked out with a couple of wins. With Buderus and Joey back against the Storm, and trying to get rid of the himilation of a 30 point loss to the "wooden spooners" they might play some decent footy.

SOULS 04

mate its a topic... obviously some people do as they have replied... im so sick of ppl saying who cares... if you dont care then dont post on that topic. then if no one cares then no one posts and the thread will dissapear rather quickly.

i do think that newy should be a little further down and cows and strom should be top 2.

MSIH, if you have nothing to offer, don't bother posting.

Otherwise its a very good discussion. :thumn

legend

I based the rankings on a number of factors and the reason Manly gets top spot is because they have won three games without three of their best players and two were away from home.

Souths have been extremely strong and have really dominated their opposition. Their biggest test comes this week against the Dogs.

Melbourne I feel are in cruise control at the moment and still have a lot of improvement left in them so whilst they are playing well, they are not at the height of their powers. I think most Storm fans would agree.

The Cowboys are going well and Thurston is the best player in the NRL at the moment without a doubt, but looking at who they have played so far, the should be 3-0 and third spot is pretty impressive if you ask me.

mxlegend99

legend said:
Melbourne I feel are in cruise control at the moment and still have a lot of improvement left in them so whilst they are playing well, they are not at the height of their powers. I think most Storm fans would agree.
Storm aren't playing their best footy yet, but they are by far and away playing the best footy of any team. Why should the fact they have improvement left in them hurt their Power Ranking? They smashed the Wariors, who were ranked the highest not too long ago. They won against Raiders and Tigers without leaving cruise control.

Cowboys have had any easy run, sure. But it has been a harder run them Manly.

Cowboys have played Broncos, Roosters and Dragons.
Manly have played Raiders, Eels and Roosters.

Manly have yet to face a half decent challenge, Cowboys have had 2 in which they won. Manly have had the easiest run of any team so far.

JJ

legend said:
I based the rankings on a number of factors and the reason Manly gets top spot is because they have won three games without three of their best players and two were away from home.

Souths have been extremely strong and have really dominated their opposition. Their biggest test comes this week against the Dogs.

The Cowboys are going well and Thurston is the best player in the NRL at the moment without a doubt, but looking at who they have played so far, the should be 3-0 and third spot is pretty impressive if you ask me.

sounds reasonable

personally I'd still have Melbourne at 1 and Nth Q at 2... Manly and the Rabbitohs are top 4, but on form would you pick either of them to beat Melbourne or Nth Q?

legend

And when the tougher tests come for Manly, they will be judged accordingly but at the moment, they don't have a great side on paper and are still winning.

BTW, Manly have played Raiders, Tigers and Roosters. The Tigers game they were rank outsiders playing away from home and they won, which added to their merit.

mxlegend99

legend said:
they don't have a great side on paper and are still winning.
So a team with a crap side on paper that is winning ranks ahead of a team with a great side on paper, who is also winning?

legend said:
BTW, Manly have played Raiders, Tigers and Roosters. The Tigers game they were rank outsiders playing away from home and they won, which added to their merit.
The Tigers also played pathetically and any team who could hold onto the ball would have won. God, the Eels played some terrible footy and beat them. Storm never got out of first gear and beat them.

yobbo84

mxlegend99 said:
3. Souths - 3 good wins. Not great teams, but they have been very convincing wins, and Souths have played some good footy. A loss to the Doggies will drop them considerably, but a win makes them a legitimate Premiership threat IMO.

Bingo, everyone is saying that we've only beaten 3 crap teams.. but failing to look at the result in context of the match. We have dominated each time, and never looked like losing a game at any stage. This Friday is a massive, massive game for Souths' credibility. If we beat the Dogs, and beat them well, the entire League world will stop and take notice. Bring it.

Lowdown

yobbo84 said:
This Friday is a massive, massive game for Souths' credibility. If we beat the Dogs, and beat them well, the entire League world will stop and take notice. Bring it.

And if the Doggies win...will everyone jump off the bandwagon like it was never there?

I hope not. I'd love to see Souths win, but I think the Dogs will 'Bring it'.

Inferno

Where exactly are the power rankings?

Didn't they used to be on the left of the forum?

*edit, never mind found them.