Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Prediction time

I cant see us making the finals... Too many better squads in front of us but as we know footy isn't played by teams on paper.

The defence looks as bad as it has previously... we'll win a few and score some flash tries which will keep the true supporters happy

JT will probably be upgraded

Tigers Tale

I think 12th or 13th, I just can't work out if we will be in front or behind the Dogs.

We are a weaker side this year than last, we have lost more attack than we have gained. I still think Addo-Carr will be a bigger loss than we realise and if Rankin is his replacement for the year we might finish lower than I predicted.

If Taylor keeps his job I will be very disappointed. We could win the comp and I'd still not warm to him. He has no man management skills and treats this team with contempt. He has to go and a strong coach (Cleary perhaps) with progressive thinking must come in while we still have some talent for them to work with. At the end of the Taylor 'era' we could be the laughing stock of the NRL. If he wants to prove me wrong please feel free to do so....but I doubt he will.

Shredder

Between 6th and 8th.
We lose in the first week of the finals.
Moses is the one of the big four we dont sign and he goes on to great things at the dogs, who also fire Hasler this year.
Taylor gets extended.

I like to think I'm pretty realistic about our team. The last 4 years I've tipped us to be around the bottom 4. However I'm fairly optimistic about 2017. I saw a lot of improvements in the side as a whole and most individuals last year.

To me we have virtually the same side. As much as we loved Halatau he was only ever a stop gap hooker. Ballin, Liddell and even McIllwrick will all be better then him. JAC is a loss but I believe Idris will be a great signing, our backs are all under sized and he fixes that immediently.

The whole Farah drama is gone and that is a god send.

I think the team developed a lot of confidence yet realized they are still a bit off being a consistent top team. I also feel a lot of excuses that we used in the past aren't accepted anymore by the playing group.

I'll be very surprised if we miss the 8. I see us coming around 6th. The only way I see us missing the 8 is if we have long term injuries to either Teddy or Moses, or if the contract sagas end up going badly and we lose a couple of key players for next year. Otherwise I see nothing but a positive year ahead.

I think we are easily a top 8 team if we don't implode. It'll be interesting what happens next year if we have a good season this season.

Tigers Tale

I admire everyones confidence but when I look at where we are this year and what other teams have done/bought I just can't see us making the 8. I have the Broncos, Cowboys, Storm, Eels, Raiders, Sharks, Panthers and Roosters ahead of us by a fair bit. Then we have to contend with the Titans who seem to always beat us and then the closer teams like Manly, Dragons and Dogs....plus our usual loss to the Knights.

As I say, I admire the confidence but with our coach and his game plan I just can't see it. Our dummy half this year, whomever it is, will wan't to have the season of their life because there is a terrible expectation on them. Idris may have a great season but he isn't going to be our saviour, at the end of the day it is going to come down to Brooks and Moses and I just don't think they will carry us through to the 8.

Shredder

TT, Im thinking that 3/4 of our spine being off contract might inspire them to greatness. Our 6 and 7 seem to think they are God's gift, so they want to show it if they want to see the money.

Plus Im quietly hopeful that Idris does OK to.

As much as I agree with what your saying, I think this year is our best year to win the whole thing within about the next 10 years.

My biggest concern on the park is the lack of a good goal kicker.

Clifferd

Truly if we play to the absolute best of our ability I reckon the highest we finish is around 6th.

Our backline is insanely talented but imo our forwards just lack the size and aggressiveness. If our forwards somehow aim up this year we could be in for a decent one

My prediction: anywhere from 6-10th

Mr_Raditch

We'll finish somewhere between 13th & 8th. As usual we'll put 50 on some teams & look like world beaters but when the close games come & we need to rely on defense & smart football we'll capitulate & lose the close ones.

simmo05

It will be like 2009 when hayne was playing for a contract, unseen and never to be seen again form from our off contract players, make the 2nd week of finals. Moses to go elsewhere, idris and kev to have blinders, taylor extension, miss the top 12 in 2018

Tigers Tale

I really hope I am wrong with my prediction(12 - 13). I think back to last year and everyone said we just missed the semi's. In fact we missed by miles. The Dogs finished 7th and they were 5 points ahead of the Titans who made the 8 when the Eels were docked points. We were in fact 2 games out of the 8. 30 points made the top 8 last year.

This year our best tackling forward is playing for Souths and we are relying on Idris who has proven himself to be incredibly lazy on the field. I just think the team isn't better than last year and others are more potent.

Hey, I'll be cheering as loud and as hard as everyone but I think we are in for a long and frustrating season

rabbitohs95

Not my place but you guys are on the fringe of the 8. Could make it with some luck but I think the quality of other teams is a big thing stopping you guys, similar to us and the Roosters too.

I still firmly believe you guys need a big aggressive backrower and a quality experienced half. Those are the only two pieces you are missing from a quality top 8 side.

Anywhere from 7th to 12th for mine.

BrotherJim05

A good team on paper doesn't mean anything. Look at Manly. Everyone tipped them to be a Top 4 team but they finished bottom 4. Players lose form and other regain it. Look at the Panthers, on paper they looked like they would miss the 8 but they proved everyone wrong.

I reckon we will make the 8. Too many players are playing for a contract so laziness will not be tolerated. Move Sue to back row and give players like Felise more game time and our pack will shape up fine.

Tiger Ted

We will finish 12th - 17th.

Don't have the grit or defence required to win enough games over 26 rounds to make it.

We also have both the most insecure coach & the dumbest halfback in the NRL.The former won't b @ WT in '18 & for the latter we will b stuck with this impostor coz no other club wants him.

The other problem we face is our best player the no.1 is injury riddled & could b sidetracked by the crazy money that Politis has offered him.

I think we will get to 10th spot.

Easts and Manly were off last year and don't expect that to be the case again.
We haven't brought anyone except Idris of note, so nothing should change, we may improve, but so will the other teams.

I think Moses will go, he wants to play finals footy. Brooks will stay, because he won't have any other offers. Teddy will stay because we will throw money at him, Woods will stay because he is a WT for life.

The coach will be told before the end of the season that he will not be retained for 2018.

Then the rebuilding starts all over again.

phenisha

Prediction: Taylor will make idiotic and contradictory statements at a press conference after a match

We will finish 12th - 17th.
TT, 17th ? Is that wooden spoon + 1 ?

I believe that the wooden spoon is a big chance though simply based on the fact that Chooks and Eels could have/should have finished higher in 2016, Manly as well and besides their rosters I believe that those 3 clubs have better people managers in their coaches than Taylor. Their game plans will be more positive.

Newcastle (who will beat us, as sure as the sun does rise in the east) will improve but I think we should finish above them, then there is the Dragons and I think their game day plan may be as bad as Taylors.

Dogs, well they have to improve and believe they will.

So for me and boy do I hope I'm so, so wrong, but it's 14 to 16.