Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Premier League Round 8

Jeffles

Cougars v Wests

The Cougars come back fresh from a bye to take on their greater west rivals, the Western Suburbs Magpies at St Mary's on Saturday. On paper, all roads point to Cougarmania with the home side up on all fronts. The Magpies lost to lowly North Sydney last week and to make matters worse for the Maggies, their two try star for that game Luke Duffy, has been called up to make his NRL debut. Well done to Luke.

The Cougars will have last week's Kiwi international Frank Pritchard. He will add a bit more class to an already strong lineup. The Cougars play well in the intamite surrounds of St Mary's and they should add Wests to their list of scalps for 2004.

----------

Newcastle v Souths

Not the game of the week by any stretch of the imagination. This Saturday afternoon game is the battle of the cellar dwellers. Both teams blew early leads last week to lose to much fancied rivals. Both teams play good football in patches and if anything, this unglamourous fixture should provide a see-swaing contest.

Newcastle will have a big crowd on their side. The fans love to get in early and cheer on the Knights. Souths however have demonstrated margnially better form and should prove too strong for the Knights.

----------

Cronulla v St George-Illawarra

The local derby will provide plenty of emotion for this Saturday evening match. Both teams were involved in spectaculare tugs of war last week. The Sharks blew a huge lead against Parra while the Saints came back from an early 16-0 deficit against the Roosters.

The Dragons are one of the form teams this year in PL, and while the Sharks have played well in some games, they do not have enough to stop the 2nd place Saints.

----------

Parramatta v Newtown

This will be an important clash for two teams at the crossroads this Saturday evening. Last week's comeback kings of Parramatta need a strong performance to prove they're title credentials. No doubt the said comeback against the Sharks will boost their confidence. But on the whole Parra haven't won any friends with their performances despite winning 4.5 from 7.

The Jets are also at an important stage of the season. With just one win under their belt, the Bluebags want to convert their good football into victories before the finals move beyond their grasp and their motivation deteriorates. Hopefully the players are match fit. They've played only 5 matches (the least of any team in PL) and are coming off a bye.

----------

Roosters v Canberra

This match sees the 5th placed Sydney Roosters at home to the 7th placed Canberra Raiders. The Roosters blew a 3 try lead last week to the Saints and they will have to be on their toes if they are to beat the Raiders, a team that came from behind themselves last week over the Knights.

The Roosters will be aided by a backline featuring a wealth of NRL experience (Phillips, Lester, Hegarty and Dorn). There are plenty of scoring options there. The Raiders will rely on their basic no-nonsense brand of Rugby League to bring them the points. I don't think they can stop the Roosters though.

----------

Bulldogs v Balmain

Jeffles choice for match of the round features the top placed Balmain Tigers away to the 7th placed Bulldogs. Both teams have played below their best last week. The Bulldogs that got away with 2 points over the Bunnies while the Tigers have come back to earth with a shock loss to Manly.

Both teams have a lot to play for. The Bulldogs will want to consolidate a position in the top 8 while the Tigers are out to get their season back on track after some questionable performances against Manly and the Saints. The Bulldogs have been winning despite their lapses against Norths and Souths and will probably start favourites wth their big home crowd behind them.

----------

Northern Sydney rivals Norths and Manly have the bye this weekend. Both teams will no doubt relish the week off having caused the two major upsets of the week last week.

Fanny Batter

i reckon easts v canberra is the match of the week. it will b heaps betta than the bulldogs game.

i pick

cougars
souths
saints
parra
roosters
dogs

Souths showed some promise last week in going down to Canterbury, however Craigie and Shane Walker have been promoted to the NRL team and I can't see them doing without those two. Newcastle should sneek home with another massive crowd behind them.

Jets to sh*t on Parra!!!

Fanny... No Norths this week, what will you do?

Jeffles

Newcastle and Souths will be a close one. It may even have the closest result of the round. But I'm not expecting the greatest quality of games. A dour struggle is what I envisage

For sheer entertainment and quality I went for the Dogs v Tigers as game of the week. Raiders and Roosters will also be a beaut clash. It was a tough call but this game is so important for both Balmain and Canterbury.

Fanny Batter

im glad u hav a sense of humor brook. u really luv your team. i reckon the dogs will win by 10

hornet, if i can make it, im gunna go to watch the cougars play wests at st marys. i like the sat arvo games. plus i hav a soft spot 4 the westies.

Jeffles

Cougars 44-34 Wests
Newcastle 12-26 Souths
Saints 32-16 Sharks
Parra 30-30 Newtown
Bulldogs 26-12 Balmain
Roosters 18-42 Canberra (I think)

The Cougars went to first place with a big win over Wests, 44-34. The Cougars trailled 24-12 in the first half but it wasn't long before the Cougars points machine started to fire. The reputation of Western Weekender Stadium as a graveyard for travelling teams continues, as the Magpies slump to second last.
------
Newcastle were unable to draw upon the big home crowd, going down 26-12 to South Sydney. The clash of the bottom two proved close but it was the well drilled class of the Bunnies that got them home.
------
St George Illawarra took the points in the local derby with a 32-16 win over the Sharks. The home side's poor form continues as the Saints took second place on the PL ladder.
------
Newtown blew a 24-6 lead to draw 30 all with Parramatta. A second half riddled with Bluebag mistakes brought Parramatta right into the match. A conversion attempt after the siren to win the game for the Eels went well wide of the uprights. The Jets should consider themselves lucky to get the point.
------
Canberra made light work of the Roosters with a big win at Aussie Stadium today. The Raiders never looked like losing, with some late tries for the Roosters flattering the result for them.
------
Balmain's poor form continued with a loss to the Bulldogs. A slow start for the Tigers put them beyond reach. A much improved second half from the leaders wasn't enough to stop the Bulldogs, who ran outr 26-12 winners.

LADDER

TEAM / PLAYED / DIFF / POINTS

Saints / 8 / 56 / 13
Cougars / 7 / 48 / 13
Balmain / 7 / 30 / 13
Manly / 7 / 56 / 12
Bulldogs / 7 / 32 / 10
Parra / 8 / 9 / 10
Raiders / 7 / 7 / 10
Roosters / 8 / - / 9
------
Norths / 6 / -70/ 8
Jets / 6 /-44 / 7
Souths / 7 /-10 / 6
Wests / 7 /-29/ 6
Sharks / 8 /-32/ 6
Knights / 6 /-44/ 5

brook

Very disapointing for Balmain - imo this was a must-win game for both PL and Flegg and it sounds like we were well below-par in both matches.

I'm not sure what PL can actually do to regain their earlier form either - we are missing Lima but with the amount of forwards available to us we should still be able to cover that loss easily, I think bringing Dickson back into the team from flegg would help (the kid is severly underrated, one of those players you don't realise how important they are to the team until they are missing) but that still wouldn't be enough to help us beat the roosters.

The good news I guess is I expect a few more players to be available to us in the coming weeks as we are almost due to have luland and bowman back from france and the wests tigers have a few players due back from injury which should see some fringe players shifted back to Balmain

Jeffles

Magpie

I got the score from the NSWRL website. It says 24. The scorers even check out to add up to 24 (4T, 4G). If that source is wrong I will change it. I was listening to the radio but didn't hear the updates at the end of the match because I had to leave for Parra Stadium to watch the Jets.

One beef I have is the byes. Another issue I have is giving points for the byes. The table as it stands is disadvantageous to those that haven't had the bye.

This is the adjusted table. It expresses a team performance as a percentage. The figure is the amount of points (excluding byes) the team has earned as a percentage of the amount of points they could've earned. In other words, if a team was undefeated they'd have 100%, whether they'd played 6 games or 7. It takes byes out fo the equation and gives you a fairer indication of a team's perfromance.

Saints 81
Manly 71
Cougars 64
Balmain 64
Parra 63
Dogs 57
Canberra 57
Roosters 56
------
Sharks 38
Souths 33
Wests 29
Jets 25
Bears 25
Knights 21

I'm pretty sure the score between Easts and Canberra was 42-8 to the Raiders, but I was too busy checking out the Easts female fans... they are some stunners!

Magpie

Not having a go at you Jeffles!
Definately 44-34,as i was there!
Both sunday papers had 46-30!!!!

Jeffles

HPH

the Easts game was 42-18 according to the papers (although they aren't reliable).

Magpie

I changed it. Thanks for that. It really is silly that we got so many different scores. I thought there was only one official scoresheet :?:

This also effects the ladder because of changes in points difference.

TDT-1

The slab is on its way (but I don't know how reliable the current will be).

Nfed

I find it amazing there is so little control around the scores too.

Last year after the Bulls v Cougars semi-final, former Bulls player Sami Chamoun rang the scores in and added himself as kicking a field goal for the Cougars. It was reported that way in the Sunday papers!

Jeffles

The onus is on the home club I understand. For finals it should be neutral.

The scores usually get through OK. But other stuff takes longer. For PL and JBC I think the NSWRL should start sending the AAP ladders, top pointscorers and next weeks games to be published in sports details section. Same in Qld for the QLD Cup. There should be more coordination of A-Grade scores too.

The AFL are more on top of that, even suburban RU. Their results are in there every week. I'm sure ours aren;t in there because they are not sent to the AAP. If we submit our results we would get more column inches (in the details section at least). It helps the lower competitions publicity wise and gives the impression that RL administrators care about more than just NRL.

Spike

It's not suprising that the Knights are struggling in Premier league since they are using mostly jersey flegg players in the side. This is going to happen for some time to come too I think

Jeffles

The Knights aren't a rich club. NO LEAGUES CLUB! This has effected their PL for some time since what little money is available away from juniors is pushed to NRL. Players that would do well in PL for Newcastle can do better playing elsewhere such as the local comp.

Back to my point about results. The JBC ladder was in the paper yesterday. That's OK but I'd rather see it Monday. Monday is the big day for weekend sports results so it is when people will be looking to the relevant section in the paper. NSWRL results have to be there then. People lose interest by the Tuesday. The news becomes old and stale.