Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Preston Campbell

Cockadoodledoo

This was posted on the Roosters unofficial website message board a couple weeks ago but I just stumbled upon this now.. The guy who posted this, posts on this site occassionally under another nick but I thought this was worth sharing.. Hope you don't mind Rusty.. It' a great story.. I have always been a fan of the guy and my impression of him has grown even further.
mekarsabit rusty
Roosters Premier League Player
Words_to_Live_By.jpg

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 5:59 am Post subject: Preston Campbell Well yesterday we played against preston campbell in our cricket competition in the penrith comp.

Well to make a long story short, his team beat ours by 3 runs, i was rooted having kept for 45 overs and then batting for the whole of our 45 overs for 108 no, Preston comes up to me and says can you hang around for 5 mins bro, i told him i was so buggered it would take me 50 to get changed, so he jumps in his 4wd drives down the road and comes back with 2 ctns of crownies.Wlaks over to our team gives 1 ctn to me and seens most of his team had left opens the other ctn and has a drink with our guys, then to my amazement when i opened the ctn when i got home theres an envelope with 100.00 in it and a note

People pay good money to watch me perform, so i thought i had to after your effort today.

What a top bloke

He surpised me.

lainey

Presto is one of the nicest guys in Rugby League. He ALWAYS stops for a chat whether it be at training or a game and he loves mucking around with the kids. I'm going to miss him big time in 2007.....:(

choc_soldier

That anecdote just sums up the man. One of the true nice guys in the game.

Our loss is the Titans gain in '07.

PLease note i am MEKARSABIT RUSTY and this post whilst true in part has some inclusions(not by cockledoodledo).

A work colleague of mine(an avid panthers fan) decided to post the story with some inclusions.

I did get 108 against him, he did offer me a ctn of crownies, but there was no money or note left.
I didnt accept his offer of beer and went home because i was stuffed.

Dont get me wrong he is a top bloke and plays hard but fair but is anybody really that genouous?

*Sandy*

I knew I shouldn't have left cockadoodledoo's post there without asking for a legite source to the post. :oops:

A carton of Crownies aint cheap though...

BuBz81

Money or not.... it was still really nice of him.... he's a star..... Why do we keep losing all the really nice guys!!

:(

Cockadoodledoo

PK said:
I knew I shouldn't have left cockadoodledoo's post there without asking for a legite source to the post. :oops:

A carton of Crownies aint cheap though...

My post was legit, a mate of Rufus's had logged in on the Roosters website under Rufus's ID and posted the story.. just clearing this up..

*Sandy*

That's cool. Rufus isnt jumping up and down about it and has cleared it up with his post so it ends well I guess.

As I said .. A carton of crownies aint cheap and by that it still keeps the topic in the right spirit it was originally intended to be in.

Fibroman

I reckon if Preston tucked into a carton of crownies everyday for the next 12 months, he would like like Owen Cragie by Melbourne Cup day 2006.

Parra Guru

What a nice bloke. My partner is involved in community services and he says he has heard nothing but good stories about Preston and his work for the community and kids in need.

We do need more like him in the game.