Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pubs/Bars near Eden Park???

Evil_Mush

Just a quick question for the Aucklanders out there - where are the bars/pubs closest to Eden Park (or even part of the complex, similar to the Pavilion bar at Westpac..... I mean "Wellington Regional" Stadium)?

I'm going to be at the All Blacks v France RWC game on Saturday night, which means I'm going to miss at the very least the first half of the Storm game (if not the whole damn thing), so me & my mate are trying to figure out the logistics of how to catch any part of the Warriors after we witness the French get one over the ABs yet again.
If there's a way of footing it to a nearby pub, or the slim chance of not getting stuck in the inevitable traffic jams with a taxi or mate picking us up somewhere then we'll take it.

Such an annoying clash (especially considering the later kickoff for the rugby), not only is this my first international rugby test I've ever been to (not to mention the classic AB's bogey encounter of France at a World Cup), but I missed most of the last time the Warriors were in the prelim finals of 2008 due to playing a gig with my band the same night (only caught a couple of minutes of that one). Haven't seen a full prelim Warriors final live since 2003!!!

devoid

I have no idea about the bar you're talking about in Wellington, but the bars nearest to Eden Park are in Kingsland - Kingsland is the train station for the park itself, and the main road is probably 60% drinking holes. Google maps will show you - very close.

Evil_Mush

Alright, cheers man, good to know there's some real close (actually getting into any is another story of course).

Just googled, I have actually been to the Neighbourhood bar before, didn't realise it was so close to Eden Park (I was pretty drunk at the time admittedly).

Oh, and the bar I'm talking about is actually in the concourse within the stadium itself (pretty sure it's called Pavilion, though I may be mistaken). In any case, if Eden Park did have something similar, I highly doubt they'd be showing non-RWC content on it anyway.

devoid

No worries - yeah, I should've said the Kingsland shops/pubs/bars are literally 500m away from the park. I was at Eden Park for round 1 vs the Eels, and the Kiwis v Kangaroos/Poms v PNG last year, and didn't notice anything other than the usual eats and drinks found at any footy ground - there might be something else though?

I'm pretty sure every some of the pubs will flick the channel after the RWC - they apparently did on the big screens last week at the official RWC party central. So you should catch something. Hope you have a blast (this will probably happen after the Rugby finishes :D )

Sueb

There is a nice pub called the Horse and Trap which is about 15 mins walk from Eden Park. I got an email from them today saying they will switch to the warriors game as soon as the AB/france game is finished. They have buses from there to the game before hand too. http://www.horseandtrap.co.nz/

20:30 New Zealand v FranceAuckland
Catch the bus to the game. FREE buses leave every 10 minutes from the corner of Enfield Street (Horse & Trap end ) and Mt Eden Road.( www.maxx.co.nz for more info)or walk to Eden Park (15 minutes). see www.wises.co.nz for more detail.
3 Enfield Street, Mount Eden to Cricket Avenue, Mount Eden.

straight after the Rugby watch the League live at
22:15 NZ Warriors v Melbourne Storm

mean

I got an email from them today saying they will switch to the warriors game as soon as the AB/france game is finished.

Go find a decent bar that will play the league game from the kick off...

Kingslander is your best bet. Horse and Trap is good if you catch the train to the Mt. Eden stop, its a 20second walk.

If you're willing to venture into town, Fox's Alehouse on the viaduct plays the union and league, the league being a tiny LCD screen aroudn the corner from the projecter - but atleast they're playing it!

i was ta Fox's on Saturday night, there were like ten people watching the league an a couple hundred watching the rugby lol!