Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pursuing players who've been sacked from other clubs

Every season, without fail, a few high profile or up-and-coming players are sacked from their club for disciplinary reasons. No matter how egregious the player’s misconduct was, if he’s talented enough, he’ll have other clubs courting his signature. Accommodating the player under the salary cap may be difficult if he has a high asking price as most clubs spend to their cap limit without allowing for an unexpected event like that. Other clubs will wait until public condemnation of the player subsides before making an approach. Signing the player may cause initial disquiet among sponsors and fans but it’s unlikely to last long, particularly if the player performs well. The Telegraph will write a story lauding the club for rehabilitating the player’s career, insinuating that his former club, which brought him up through the junior ranks and endured his myriad of controversies, somehow failed in providing for his welfare. Of course, taking on such players carries the risk that the player will lapse into old ways and misbehave again. But the club can easily cast the player aside, especially if there’s a corresponding decline in his performances.

Its fair to say that the Tigers’ financial predicament has disqualified it from pursuing some of these sacked players in the past. But other times the club has had the opportunity to sign a very talented, albeit troubled player, only to be vetoed by the board or the senior player clique. I speak of Willie Mason and Todd Carney. Mason was not actually sacked from his former club, he was coming back from a stint in rugby, but his prior misdemeanours made many the club weary of the disruptive effect he might have on the player group. Despite anything that Mason or Carney might have done in the past, they were both elite players and more importantly would’ve strengthened up very glaring areas of weakness in our team.

This year when the first star is sacked I only hope the Tigers are in the running to snatch him up. Provided the finances are there and the player hasn’t committed a very serious criminal offence, I don’t care what he’s done in the past. Call me cynical but I’m sick to death of seeing clubs like the Roosters land all these players, while we forge on with our useless but well-behaved squad.

Matchball

I said yes to all coming to the club. Except O'Donnell.
I'd even take Dugan if his bogan head was sacked but we seem hellbent on being the team everyone has a soft spot for by keeping clean.

We should have kept Lui and stood by him.

FootynRacing

Lui made it pretty hard to stand by him. I wonder how different things could of been if we still had benji / lui as our halves.

super_coach

I agree we should look at any player that comes onto the market with a open mind and look at their football talent first before worrying to much what has expired in their non football life.

Although I think the root of our problems lays with the Sheens/Mcdonald team, over a long period of time they recruited so poorly with little thought directed towards what sort of player we required to compete with the heavy weights.

We will be in the same position as Parra by the end of this season, where we will be forced to pay massive overs for elite players to come to our club and still have little chance of snaring them.

We have a ton of young talent, that will go down the gurgler if yoi cant give them a good team to learn their trade in.

Potter needs to gradually work through his top 25, give them all a fair go and those who dont cut the mustard have to be flicked. Its time to take a leaf out of Penriths book and build the team up from the bottom. My first
player to go would be little Matty Utai, big heart, but unless he can reinvent himself as a back up no9 he is just to short and slow to play in the outside backs. The coach has to be very clinical, and we are probably lucky we have a new coach who is not to connected with the players.

Iam not going to cut my wrists after yesterday, I have seen us win games and play at that same standard. l

Magpies Forever

Off ythe top of my head Taumata was the last time we took an opportunistic buy of a troubled player. We missed out big time with Mason- and thats our own fault- but we should never again miss out on a suitable 'opportunistic' buy.

mason was a risk, not just off field but on the field, he had been out of the NRL for a fair while and hadn't got any younger and would have still commanded a decent salary.

it was a 50/50 call, we got it wrong, but I'm not going to hold a grudge against the club on that one.

We should not have let Moors and Gibbs go, we'd be in a better situation if they were still here.

Anyhow, whinging about who we missed isn't the answer here.

BuffaloRules

Letting Lui go was the right call, particularly as he was banned from playing in 2012...

I dont really care how good the grub turns out to be....

Tigers Tale

I remember when there was talk of getting Mason I was all for it. Footballers are no different than any one else in that generally they have some pride in who they are and more importantly how they will be remembered in the game. Think about how many players say it is their last season and have a cracker of a year and everyone says "oh, he's going too early."

Players at the end of their career can often lift for that last hurrah, Mason being a good example. I am not naming any one particular player we should be chasing who fits that bill but there are a few that can turn out to be value to a team needing a few old hard heads....

hybrid_tiger

Well looks like Dugan and Ferguson may be available from Canberra shortly.

Dugan I wouldn't touch and don't think we need as Tedesco is a lock in for fullback but I would sign Blake Ferguson in a heartbeat. He is a dickhead but I don't care. He is talented, fast and can make an IMPACT. Can also play fullback, wing or centre so he is pretty versatile.

hybrid_tiger

Would love Ferguson. But he has had several drinking issues in the past. Would be a 50/50 in my book.

Sign him, tell him in no uncertain terms that the moment he is found to be drinking his contract gets ripped up.

If he chooses to piss away his career, we piss him off. If not, we've picked up a very good player who improves our team.

diggo

+1 for Ferguson or Dugan. It is exactly what we need.

I'd have a drinking problem too if I had to live in Canberra.

hybrid_tiger

1. Tedesco
2. Koroibete
3. Nofoaluma
4. Lawrence/Ayshford
5. Ferguson

An infinitely better backline than the one we have running out now mainly because the back three will at least contest a f**king aerial ball and not stand and watch the other team catch it and score.

The problem is Koroibete will drop it. He needs to stay in the squad because he is a great runner of the footy.

Personally I'm also willing to stick with both Ayshford and Lawrence in the centres. I think Utai needs to go to the bench or reserves.

I don't think recruiting players is really the answer at this point. I think Potter needs to pick the right team from who we have and try and get the most out of Benji and Robbie.

Choosing the right team + a good game plan and I think we can turn it around.

gordsy

Put Utai in the forwards. He'd make more metres and have more of a dig than than Blair and wouldn't miss anymore tackles.

macnaz

True gordy. He could our mini moi moi . I reckon he could be good there.

Perth Tiger

Put Utai in the forwards. He'd make more metres and have more of a dig than than Blair and wouldn't miss anymore tackles.

Not so sure about that. Plus we would have to put up with is 1 or 2 cold drops from a hit up per game