Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

QF 1 Vs Roosters

soc123_au

I think we can surprise them. Injuries & suspensions may give us a leg up for a change.

Sime_11

it should, but we still got to battle the Refs, and they will always favour the chooks lol.

its quite funny how Penrith have been written off all year yet we still keep coming and we make the 4, looking at the latest odds, looks as if we havent got a chance in hell of winning, keep writing us off :)

should be a cracker, i reckon this will be the best game of the weekend.

maple_69

Well I don't know if the refs always favour the Chooks. Theyve been the most penalised team for two years running now.
I'm happy for everyone to keep writing us off. Teams turn up a bit underdone and we click right into the grind and frustrate them into errors. Before they get their heads in the game we are 6 points up and dominating field position. Jamie then keeps them coming out of the corners.

Would be great to see Jamal cream Pearce early and get him rattled. He was untouchable on Thursday.

PANTHERMIKE

Chooks never win a penalty count, so we may get the rub this time too!

Keep Pearce quiet, send big Jamal at him all night :D

franklin2323

Johnson/Tomkins were shut down. As was Cronk, DCE and JT in recent weeks. So as long as we turn up in defence across the team we are fine

maple_69

Our main issue against the top sides has been our lack of spark. We've gone with them and often dominated them but couldn't crack them.. If you break down our games against Easts, Melbourne, Souths and Manly.
Both Melbourne games we didn't have Seg starting, Manly no Seg, Souths Seg wasn't starting. Easts was the only game we really flopped in and that was on the back of a terrible 5 day turnaround and losing our halfback.

We've been playing without the host of players for a while now and it seems that while we miss some firepower, Cleary has now adapted the game plan around what we have available and we're playing pretty consistently. We've only lost 3 games all year with the Seg/Moylan/Soward combo intact and have won the last 6 against quality opposition.

This looks like the best lead in we've had to a big match up all season and I am very confident we'll put in a good performance. Whether we win is probably up to the Roosters still but it's not the foregone conclusion most are tipping.

The Teach

I hope the roosters players go in as over-confident as my best mate who supports them. He messaged me last night saying he was hoping they would play us in week one as it gave them the best chance of a free ride into the prelim finals. My response: everyone has been writing us off every week with our injuries and yet we still keep winning. That stopped his cockiness as he knew there is no point arguing with the facts haha.

soc123_au

Anyone who whinges about shoulder charges doesn't love the sport. A embarrassing joke of a rule

Yep, The Napa charge is as bad as Latimore copping 2 for the "crusher" Guerra on the other hand should be longer than a week. Even though it was against one of our Matai on DWZ should be in the reckoning for hit of the year.

martielang

The rule is 'no shoulder charges'. The bloke does 3 in the first 10 mins, the last one connecting with a guys head after he passed the ball and the charge is bad? How?

Frankus

No better time to play the Roosters than this week with the number of troops they have missing. However it is still a very tough task.

I think we will need to score at least 20 points to win and I'm not sure we can lay that many on their defence.

Should be a cracking game though.

maple_69

So predicted teams?

Moylan
Mansour
Idris
Whare
Simmons
Smith
Soward
Mckendry
Segeyaro
Kite
Brown
Robinson
Manu
Latimore
Grant
BMM
Plum

I tend to think a bit more mobility will be better against the Roosters but while we have options, Ivan isn't going to want to throw anyone new in at this stage. Tough leaving Anderson and DWZ out as well.

MrAnonymous

Latimore in for BMM or Grant would be my only change would rather it be BMM.

Anderson deserves to keep his spot, him and Manu were the standouts in the forwards against the Warriors.

Randy81

So predicted teams?

Moylan
Mansour
Idris
Whare
Simmons
Smith
Soward
Mckendry
Segeyaro
Kite
Brown
Robinson
Manu
Latimore
Grant
BMM
Plum

I tend to think a bit more mobility will be better against the Roosters but while we have options, Ivan isn't going to want to throw anyone new in at this stage. Tough leaving Anderson and DWZ out as well.

I thought dwz had a cracker against warriors.
Hard to imagine he would miss out this week (I do like simmo though)

Frankus

I'd keep Anderson over BMM

And do we pick Simmo and just try hang in or DWZ and have go?

Why change a winning formula? After the game DWZ had last night, he doesn't deserve to be dropped, even if Simmons is 100% fit.

Both BMM and Anderson had solid games. Toss a coin on who we should keep. Tim Grant was probably the most disappointing player last night, I would probably drop him off the bench to bring Latimore back in.

Fibroman

I know big Manu is quick for his size, but I was surprised we didn't have a player that could get near him on the chase. I don't know how Simmons stacks up against DWZ for pace over 60m? If the likes of Jennings get the ball in some space, you can put down your glasses.