Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R14 v Dolphins 06/06 Friday @ Suncorp

Sloan Ranger

Hope you're right mate, that would be a great outcome for Fraudagan to be turfed this year.

This nightmare would finally be over and we could use it as an opportunity to get a much better coach and some structural changes around them (ie a coaching director, a recruitment manager, a pathways manager) with real ability to bring about change and improve the long term prospects of this once great club.
I love your optimism. I find it hard to believe that our organisation has employed a CEO capable of doing half of that!

RedVDave

Hope you're right mate, that would be a great outcome for Fraudagan to be turfed this year.

This nightmare would finally be over and we could use it as an opportunity to get a much better coach and some structural changes around them (ie a coaching director, a recruitment manager, a pathways manager) with real ability to bring about change and improve the long term prospects of this once great club.
Who would you like to see as coach realistically?

For mine the coach is irrelevant as long as we have the board we have we are absolutely cooked.

but I'm interested to know who you think is a better option you know my feelings on Flanno but Young & Carr are very bad support staff IMO.

InFlannoWeTrust

Not in anyway glossing over a heavy loss. Though Sharks got 40 put on them before Their bye and another 40 tonight .
The squad they have compared to ours is way better. Though these huge losses happen.
Just cause we haven’t seen success in 10 years it’s not built overnight.
coach changes just resets the whole process.
Yes injuries or players left in preseasons aren’t a excuses though here’s the list we’ve been dealt all year

- Molo
-Sele
-BMM
-Eisenhuth
-Fifita (still in top 30)
- R Couchman
- CT
- Allan
- Egan
- T Couchman (few weeks- At times)
- Sua (Few weeks)
-Guler (Suspended and injured - At times)

We can’t sit here and say that6 in the above that is in our 17.
There’s only a certain about of depth in forwards & outside backs.
Then we have :
Stewart handful of game
Loko handful of games
Lawson second games
King Togia handful of games

With all this in mind we have “been in the game “ for all but 2 this season!

dungay dragon

I don't know how you put Metcalfe in the same level as Flanagan. I can assure Metcalfe is a very good player and would be a good pick up. Flannagan is a reserve grader at best Sexton maybe worth a shot but I am not as convinced on him though better than Flannagan.
In the end we could Nathan Cleary and it would not matter as we have no descent front rowers.
Also we have no line speed in defence, if you do not move up on your opponents you will always get belted.
Some hard markers on here Thommo
Would take Metcalfe in a heart beat
The only thing he has in common with KF ..is they are best mates

Sloan Ranger

Not in anyway glossing over a heavy loss. Though Sharks got 40 put on them before Their bye and another 40 tonight .
The squad they have compared to ours is way better. Though these huge losses happen.
Just cause we haven’t seen success in 10 years it’s not built overnight.
coach changes just resets the whole process.
Yes injuries or players left in preseasons aren’t a excuses though here’s the list we’ve been dealt all year

- Molo
-Sele
-BMM
-Eisenhuth
-Fifita (still in top 30)
- R Couchman
- CT
- Allan
- Egan
- T Couchman (few weeks- At times)
- Sua (Few weeks)
-Guler (Suspended and injured - At times)

We can’t sit here and say that6 in the above that is in our 17.
There’s only a certain about of depth in forwards & outside backs.
Then we have :
Stewart handful of game
Loko handful of games
Lawson second games
King Togia handful of games

With all this in mind we have “been in the game “ for all but 2 this season!
You raise an interesting point, but that list of players tells me how average our roster is. It's not like there's Origin stars there. I think our problem is, with the exception of Gutho and Holmes, when everyone is fit, there isn't a lot of difference between our first 13 and our second thirteen.

InFlannoWeTrust

You raise an interesting point, but that list of players tells me how average our roster is. It's not like there's Origin stars there. I think our problem is, with the exception of Gutho and Holmes, when everyone is fit, there isn't a lot of difference between our first 13 and our second thirteen.
We’ve swang and missed in recruitment . Though can’t say it’s coaches fault .
These recruitment issues have been happening since Bennett left
Big name signing was Widdop then next big name was Hunt (we know how that went)
So to hear people say it’s Flanno’s fault we arent signing players. It’s a CLUB problem not any coach!
We know the problem runs deeper then the head coach, and unfortunately until we get backroom Sorted NO-ONE of exceptional talent will come!
and this is how we come to players like
-Illias
- RFM
- Lawrie (old management re signed)
- Rava (old management re signed)
-Fifita (old management signed)
So much dead wood! Can’t get rid of them all in 1 off season!

John moz

Dragons recruitment issues for years not the coaches issues.
Millward has been a hiding for years he is why Dragons have signed players to ridiculous contracts . We have not signed a marquee player in his early 20s from another club ever.
Hopefully new Ceo has the power and experience to find a GM and a recruitment guy for 2026. The Dragons are so behind other clubs bulldogs got a Gus Tigers got a Richardson and are still buying players for 2026.

Luciano signing he is on a huge salary and the highest paid forward in the Dragons not putting in every week on the money he is on has been disappointing.
The bloke seems to be more interested in showing off that bloody ridiculous hairstyle of his instead of getting into some hard yakka .

He is undoubtedly good in attack , however his defence at times leaves a lot to be desired . As you have said Moz
he is being paid a huge sum yet has not really been earning it on a weekly basis - certainly no Sua nor Jack De Belin .

Sloan Ranger

The bloke seems to be more interested in showing off that bloody ridiculous hairstyle of his instead of getting into some hard yakka .

He is undoubtedly good in attack , however his defence at times leaves a lot to be desired . As you have said Moz
he is being paid a huge sum yet has not really been earning it on a weekly basis - certainly no Sua nor Jack De Belin .
He's the poster child for our poor management and recruitment. And that's up against some pretty stiff competition.

Letting him go the first time was the right decision. He left us to do bugger all and we resign him on better money. Genius.

bathtime

Up until this game we were an average side but at least playing consistent footy and (mostly) making the opposition earn their wins. Now it looks like we're a mediocre side who give up when things get tough. So what happened? Over-trained too close to the game? Players looking forward to the long weekend? Afflicted by a mystery virus just before kick-off? Old Flanno is making promises but I can't see how he turns this around. We'll lose the next game by thirty and management will be guzzling crownies while congratulating themselves on the improvement.
sharks got smahed by a similar score . Blow outs part of modern game. six agains and possession , one team can quickly get gassed

gorilla

Looks like Tarzan, plays like a brioche