Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R3 v Cowboys

Draginzaaar

Although I do agree that Hunt doesnt seem to find the grass often with his kicks (and surely this comes up in the video reviews), I think he is under pressure due to our poor sets more often than not.

The other thing is I think its a ploy to kick to Lomax every time, let him work out of his corner and he is far less of a threat when it comes to catching attacking bombs.. he is doing so much work.. it could also be that they see lomax/bird as much less of a linebreak threat versus suli/rava..
Yes, he's kicking from our side of halfway so no pressure on their back 3. They were making 60 Metres per set. Us...30.

RFMs bombed try
Add the Bird to Sloan one, six points gone begging plus Flanno jr kicking away a try after that powerhouse Luch break. That was the reason we wanted him to come home. We handed them six when Sloan just failed to get downward pressure on a grubber. He did well to even get a finger on it as he had to turn full circle then dive just as the Cowboys came piling thru the line.

Sloan doesn't ground that ball in the in goal, I mean come on mate, do you want to stay in the NRL?
Harsh, take a gander at the footage. Like I said in earlier post, when he saw the ball kicked he had to stop in his tracks, turn full circle then dive almost in the one motion. A less aware and agile guy wouldn't have gotten within cooee of the ball. Becoming tired of you Sloan bashers. The guy has bulked up, improved his defensive attitude and is just as dangerous in attack. Yet you still whinge.

st.phil

Add the Bird to Sloan one, six points gone begging plus Flanno jr kicking away a four pointer after that powerhouse Luch break. That was the reason we wanted him to come home. We handed them six when Sloan just failed to get downward pressure on a grubber. He did well to even get a finger on it as he had to turn full circle just as the Cowboys came piling thru the line.
K Flan kicked for Suli and Rava - hardly the sprinting team

maestro1

We lost possession 56%-44%. We give any team that much extra possession, we lose.
The Cows would have beaten any team with that much possession. 28 extra tackles were gifted them from bombed tries and a 7 tackle 20 metre restarts. That is a 54 tackle turnaround.
Cannot give any team more possession. We are not a good enough team/squad that can win with less ball. Teams with freaks can manage that. We really don't have a Manu, Walsh, Latrell, Chrichton type that can score freakish tries to keep us in games. We need to grind teams into the ground to win. Unfortunately the Dolphins and Cows did that to us. It is no secret that the game plan to not let STGI beat you is to make minimal mistakes. Even the Titans did it to us in round 1 in the first half. Then Brian Kelly spilled a ball and we scored immediately after that. The Tits made another error straight after that and we scored again.

maestro1

K Flan kicked for Suli and Rava - hardly the sprinting team
That was a big error by KFlann. If he turned it in to Sloan, he scores. Our outside backs were never gonna win the race to that ball. He would have been better taking the tackle. Sloan mustn't have let him know he was there, but KFlann should have known.

The Cows would have beaten any team with that much possession. 28 extra tackles were gifted them from bombed tries and a 7 tackle 20 metre restarts. That is a 54 tackle turnaround.
Cannot give any team more possession. We are not a good enough team/squad that can win with less ball. Teams with freaks can manage that. We really don't have a Manu, Walsh, Latrell, Chrichton type that can score freakish tries to keep us in games. We need to grind teams into the ground to win. Unfortunately the Dolphins and Cows did that to us. It is no secret that the game plan to not let STGI beat you is to make minimal mistakes. Even the Titans did it to us in round 1 in the first half. Then Brian Kelly spilled a ball and we scored immediately after that. The Tits made another error straight after that and we scored again.
They had 53% possession in round 23 last year against the Broncos and lost 30-14.

TheRev

o We left 3-4 chances out there.. we are picking on the RFM one because it was by far the easiest to score.. but every one of those missed opportunities puts us 4-6pts in front, eats up a few minutes with the kick while we get a breather.. and instead of defending their fast backs... we most likely get the ball back for another set (I say most likely.. because it would be short kickoffs if we led by 20).. versus handing them the ball back for 6 or 7 tackles while we scramble to get back on side.. its night and day stuff.. I understand good teams can handle that.. but we need things to go our way with this roster...

o Sloan was there very late in support on the KFlan break.. he loomed up right at the last second where he had already summed up his options and was looking the other way to execute what he thought was the best play.. even if Sloan had of called loudly, I think it was too late for him to turn around.... look... make a decision...pass, all in the 1-2 seconds before he got pole-axed and likely knocks the ball on.

Dragon David

Drinkwater had a blinder. Hurt our slow moving defense over and over. Weren't we looking at him at one stage. Pity we did not land him.
I said ages ago we should have gone hard to sign this guy but people laughed at my suggestion.

Our recruitment leaves a lot to be desired. The idea would no doubt be to determine if the current crop of players have the qualities and abilities to play first grade rugby league. Identify the really good ones to retain and the really bad ones to get rid of on a gradual basis.

We do have promising juniors coming through and hopefully getting the right coaching and development needed to one day be playing first grade.

Flanno does have a big job on his hands, but he will handle it and make us a force I'm sure.

Auntie.Gerald

For us to beat the Cowboys needs our best team

We had 4 important players out !

If the following 4 players were out for the Cowboys on the weekend i reckon it would have a 50/50 who wins

ie players of same position............not saying our players are as good but they are what we have in our best 17 and are required !!

Sua - Nanai
Fmolo - Tamalolo
Liddle - Robson
Sele - Cotter

Mojo

Harsh, take a gander at the footage. Like I said in earlier post, when he saw the ball kicked he had to stop in his tracks, turn full circle then dive almost in the one motion. A less aware and agile guy wouldn't have gotten within cooee of the ball. Becoming tired of you Sloan bashers. The guy has bulked up, improved his defensive attitude and is just as dangerous in attack. Yet you still whinge.
Sloan played heaps better than Latrell did last weekend!

TheRev

I said ages ago we should have gone hard to sign this guy but people laughed at my suggestion.

Our recruitment leaves a lot to be desired. The idea would no doubt be to determine if the current crop of players have the qualities and abilities to play first grade rugby league. Identify the really good ones to retain and the really bad ones to get rid of on a gradual basis.

We do have promising juniors coming through and hopefully getting the right coaching and development needed to one day be playing first grade.

Flanno does have a big job on his hands, but he will handle it and make us a force I'm sure.
I'm hoping over time Flanno can rectify this side of things (if he can keep his job), as a fanbase we obsess over juniors getting opportunities.. but we are dieing on a cross of our own making when we dont chase quality 1st graders and just hope to god that those juniors will save us.. but they never do.. and you can't blood too many at once either.

Gus is a perfect example, he copped so much flack for signing externally over the last 2yrs... and maybe 2 or 3 of his signings were just greedy/overkill (although with injuries they will be laughing), but he knows that if 1st grade is winning, more quality players will come in the future.. and juniors will be more patient and actually get gud in nsw cup.. learn the lessons instead of doing it in 1st grade... like all the good clubs do.. most of the gun kids we r jealous of have been so patient.. and those dogs lower grades are nasty also.. beat the crap out of our steelers yesterday..

But we havent been in a mindset (nor have we had respected coaching or recruitment staff) to really go after other players... we are now.. Shane gets it.. but we are a hard sell.. doesnt mean we should stop trying ofcourse..

sammymills

How do they say he didn’t have downward pressure. This rule for me is bullshit. I remember it cost us from dufty once doing the same thing. If the ball is on the ground and you have a hand/finger to it it should be considered grounded. Otherwise what is the exact velocity of force needed to be considered‘downward pressure’, or is it just made up on the day by the bunker