Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Radio Coverage in 2005

The Whippet

Well I listen to 2GB and I don't usually have a problem with Ray Hadley and yet I still think very highly of Brian Smith as a coach. Don't know how that figures.

greeneyed

Graeme Hughes has always been the best caller around.... shame he has not been used by Channel 9 instead of the pathetic callers they have now.

greeneyed said:
Graeme Hughes has always been the best caller around.... shame he has not been used by Channel 9 instead of the pathetic callers they have now.

"Stop the Presses"!!!"

I agree wholeheartedly.

Though I doubt 2SM will be doing games live, you only gotta look at their website to see they dont have the dosh.

http://www.2sm.com.au/

Great program though, talkin sport...when ya type talkin.........................

iggy plop

roosterboy60 said:
Did anyone see the Sun Hearld today? It said in it's backpage column that it is possible that 6 Radio Stations including an FM Station could be doing League this year.

At first I had to look 2 times to make sure it said this year but it did. Apprently 2GB is looked at scaling back there coverage this year ( :roll: ) and don't want to pay as much for it's final year.

It also says 2SM has put in a offer and 2UE are putting in a proposal this week.

Sensational news. About time this happened the current situation is a farce.

It's just a shame that the NRL thought the exclusivity deal was good for the game. I wonder what Gordon Tallis would have said about if he was on the board. :D

iggy plop

eelavation said:
2SM have the platform with Graeme Hughes at the helm to absolutely demolish the pathetic tripe we've had to put up with over the last few years.

even if they use a similar line up to their week day show, which includes non leaguies Gav Robertson and Texas Walker and former first grader Jim Smith they know more about the then Hadley ever will.

They should include Alf Paranihi as well.

Seriously though, you are right. 2SM would provide A class coverage. They know how to have fun, but they can sure delve into the issues without stooping to the levels Hardley does.

Graeme Hughes is the best caller around IMO.

iggy plop said:
It's just a shame that the NRL thought the exclusivity deal was good for the game. I wonder what Gordon Tallis would have said about if he was on the board. :D
True. I have fond memories of having a choice of radio callers and it was four (Sydney) stations who had league on Sat & Sun arfternoons - gotta be better for the game than just one :roll:
But that was also back when all of the games were on at the same times (3pm kick-offs, just the one night game) so radio had lots to braodcast and talk about, not the one-at-a-time staggered kickoffs to suit Foxtel TVs ratings :roll:
Video killed the radio star...

eelavation said:
2SM have the platform with Graeme Hughes at the helm to absolutely demolish the pathetic tripe we've had to put up with over the last few years.

even if they use a similar line up to their week day show, which includes non leaguies Gav Robertson and Texas Walker and former first grader Jim Smith they know more about the then Hadley ever will.

whilst i like the show, Robertson and Walker are useless twats. I used to listen to the back end of the show, but now i dont because of those 2 galahs.

shadowboxer

i hate to say it but the ABC is great. 2GB is shameful and i guess the news that Hadley is returning doesnt surprise me. He was thinking about chucking it in and letting andrew moore have a go, which would have been good but obviously we are stuck with the unfunny goings on of the hadley etc, oh and the walking heart attack.

choc_soldier

I really do hope that GB gets stripped of its rights when the current deal expires. Their coverage is a joke... they induce counselling sessions on truckers who like silly songs - it seems that footy is a secondary thing on there. But unfortunately in life, some dreams do not come true, no matter how hard you wish, and this may be one of them.

The ABC is 100% pure footy (to borrow their catchphrase). They may be a bit boring to some people, but it's very insightful, and not every piece of furniture is sponsored by something - Morrow, Warren and Hamilton (along with MG when he is on there) is a very good team.

Even though I am not a big fan of them because of their music format, I think Triple M would make a good fist of it - I have occasionally listened to some of the Swans games on there, and they do a great job.

Graham Hughes would do a top job calling on either Radio or TV. I hope 2sm does go for it. In know who i will be listening too and it won't that Idiot on 2gb.

The Toecutter

I agree with the lads that said it would be great if 2sm called it. Heaps is the money. I can take Hadley in small amounts, the call of the games ain't that bad its the stuff before and after I dont like. That guy that does the sports show after hadleys lot is the goods I reckon when he calls the games sometime.

Freak

Could this have anything to do with Singo not getting his own way with the Central Coast bid??

Either way I'm sure 2GB won't let it go unless there is some serious incentives for them.

I don't mind the actual Rugby League call by 2GB but unfortunately it just gets spoilt by the nonsence. Hopefully the scaling back is the nonsence!!

2Ue was good a few years back when they had Greg Radley, John Gibbs, Daryl Brohman and Greg Alexander. If they had the rights now, maybe Andrew Voss would be calling the games, only problem is if he's the only one he's also gotta do Channel 9.

Grantwhy

2GB don't do that bad a job when actually calling a game, it's the before and after that I have a serious problem with (i listen to less 2GB than i watch of the Footy Show :p which is very little :lol:)

greeneyed

innsaneink said:
greeneyed said:

"Stop the Presses"!!!"

I agree wholeheartedly.

Though I doubt 2SM will be doing games live, you only gotta look at their website to see they dont have the dosh.

http://www.2sm.com.au/

Great program though, talkin sport...when ya type talkin.........................

Insane... sorry... I can't handle that. I'm going to go and get a scotch and drink it quickly.

iggy plop

The Toecutter said:
I agree with the lads that said it would be great if 2sm called it. Heaps is the money. I can take Hadley in small amounts, the call of the games ain't that bad its the stuff before and after I dont like. That guy that does the sports show after hadleys lot is the goods I reckon when he calls the games sometime.

I can't cop Hadley and 2GB's total disdain for RL. Hughes is a first rate pro who was born to play and call rugby league (and cricket :D )

Go Heaps and 2SM!!

Rexxy

Hughes is awful. All mangled vowels and self importance - and total lack of light and shade. And humorless too boot.

Wilko, Walter, Voss, Radley, Kennedy, Moore. All streets ahead of Hughes.

drake

Hughes by far. I'd love to hear him calling again.
Hadley is a goose, I listen to ABC, if they're not calling it, I don't bother.
If I ever hear the 'Convoy" 10-4 joke again...