Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Raiders fury at Kiwi rorts - Wiki lured by 'illegal' offer?

thickos

Raiders fury at Kiwi rorts Wiki lured by 'illegal' offer
Doug MacDougall
Thursday, 23 February 2006

The Canberra Raiders are furious over the loss of former favourite son Ruben Wiki to NRL rivals the New Zealand Warriors after the overseas club was found to be in breach of the salary cap. Raiders general manager Don Furner lashed out at the Warriors yesterday after it became clear the ex-Raiders veteran was lured across the Tasman on "illegal" terms.

A preseason check into the Warriors administration by NRL salary cap auditors found various undisclosed infringements made by the club's former management.

Former chief executive Mick Watson, who resigned at the end of last season after five years in the job, headed the previous management team.

Wiki signed a three-year contract, believed to be in excess of $400,000 a season, with the Warriors in July 2004, ending his 11-year career with the Raiders.

At the time, the Raiders admitted they weren't even close to matching the Warriors' price, with $750,000 over three seasons their best offer.

The Raiders reacted angrily yesterday, claiming Wiki would still be with the club had the Warriors kept to the rules.

"We tried really, really hard to retain him and then all of the sudden you realise you're up against something you can't win against, something that's not a level playing field," Furner said.

"It's very frustrating, because he should still be with us."

"Nothing against Ruben, I don't begrudge anyone looking after themselves, But when New Zealand [signed Wiki] - which would now appear illegally - we were the ones that suffered. Yeah, we're very angry."

On the Gold Coast yesterday Wiki, one of the four recruits in 2004 believed to be central to some allegations, remained silent on the issue.

"The management will sort that out and the boys will just concentrate on footy," he said.

"Everyone will probably have a chat [with management] but ... it's not our problem mate."

While the full extent of the Warriors' salary cap breach hasn't been revealed, the club has gone into damage control, fearing the NRL will strip it of six competition points before the March 10 season kick-off.

The Bulldogs suffered a harsher penalty in 2002 for salary cap breaches, when they fell from the top of the ladder to wooden spooners after being stripped of competition 37 points.

Furner believed the Warriors deserved to start the season with less than zero points, but stopped short of saying they should be kicked out of the 2006 competition.

"That's probably too harsh," Furner said. "I'd certainly [say] points is really the way the club gets affected and, unless [the salary cap] isn't going to be policed properly, sometimes a monetary fine can be paid."

The Raiders were criticised after a horrific trading period in 2004 when Luke Davico and Wiki - both high-profile representative players - were lost to rival clubs after the anti-tampering deadline passed on July 1.

The loss of centre Joel Monaghan to the Sydney Roosters days later compounded the pressure, as rumours of club disharmony began to surface.

The losses led Raiders coach Matt Elliott to announce he would take a more hands-on role with recruitment in the future.

"We're very, very disappointed. You know we copped a lot of criticism for not retaining Ruben from our fans, even from our own players," Furner said. "We had a fair understanding about what we were up against in terms of the money, and we knew we could never ever match it. "[He's] one of our favourite sons, nobody wanted to see Ruben go. The players loved playing with him."

The Warriors have until close of business tomorrow to respond to the preliminary findings of the salary-cap investigation.

Meanwhile, the Raiders will play Jim Beam Cup teams Windsor and Wentworthville in a four-quarter trial match at their former home ground, Seiffert Oval on Saturday.

http://canberra.yourguide.com.au/de...y_id=460889&category=general sport&m=2&y=2006

OVP

Excuse me, but what the hell is wrong with guaranteeing a player a job after he retires ? What the hell has that to do with player payments and why should it even matter to the salary cap ? Are the NRL saying you cant be employed at a club after you retire ? What right do they possibly have to do that ? I think its high time the Salary Crap was challenged in court ...

Steelers4eva

I heard on the news this morning the NRL may suspend, fine or cancel the contract of any of those players who knowingly signed contracts knowing the club would be in breach of the cap. Personally I think that would be very hard to prove.

sooperdooper

ther Raiders are angry an rightfully so...
OVP its not the job that there angry about apparently there are other 'hidden' things

OVP said:
Excuse me, but what the hell is wrong with guaranteeing a player a job after he retires ? What the hell has that to do with player payments and why should it even matter to the salary cap ? Are the NRL saying you cant be employed at a club after you retire ? What right do they possibly have to do that ? I think its high time the Salary Crap was challenged in court ...

Where does it stop though?
You have to draw a line somewhere.

it was public knowledge that wiki and price was offered work after their contract had finished. THE NRL APPROVED THE CONTRACTS!

OVP

innsaneink said:
Where does it stop though?
You have to draw a line somewhere.

WHY ? They are human beings too. They need to guarantee their future, not just for themselves but for their family as well.

thickos

Forget about the job after he retires, fact is he was offered massive $$$ to leave us, money that is now in question. We couldn't compete on the same playing field, and we lost an icon of the club as a result.

f**king pissed off.. :evil:

OVP said:
WHY ? They are human beings too. They need to guarantee their future, not just for themselves but for their family as well.

Yeh.....400k pa would be such a struggle

thickos said:
Forget about the job after he retires, fact is he was offered massive $$$ to leave us, money that is now in question. We couldn't compete on the same playing field, and we lost an icon of the club as a result.

And people want to get rid of the cap.....we'll see incidents like this tenfold without restrictions.

skeepe

taxidriver said:
Just how did the Raiders win those titles in the 90's ?

Karma is a wonderful thing.

By having one of the greatest teams in history. If you're referring to the salary cap issues, you would already know that the Raiders only went over the cap as they had winning bonuses added into the contracts of many players. It was these incentives and these incentives alone that put them over the cap, not the systematic cheating of the Warriors or Bulldogs.

But don't let the truth spoil a good rant eh taxidriver?

OVP

innsaneink said:
Yeh.....400k pa would be such a struggle

Duh. Thats when he's a player ... whats he to do when he retires ? And why should they forbid him to be employed by a club when he retires ?

Thickos said:

Thats fair enough ... i have no problem if its the money thats the problem. I'll side with the Raiders if that is indeed what the problem is. But not employment after retirement. That would be evil if they forbade that ... the thing is, we dont really know as the salary crap is so draconian, anything is possible.

thickos

taxidriver said:
Just how did the Raiders win those titles in the 90's ?

Karma is a wonderful thing.

Being ahead at full-time in the grand final from memory... :roll:

If you're comparing this issue to the fact that the Raiders went over the cap due to increased player payments due to performance incentives (i.e. guys that made Origin and test sides had an increase in pay), you're comparing apples and oranges.

Name one player recruited to the Raiders from another NRL club during that period of the early 90's. They were all from Qld (Mal, Belcher etc) or local juniors (Clyde, Daley and others). We had to shed players big time in 1992 as well, think the Warriors will do that?

taxidriver

Fact: Raiders knowingly rorted the cap on the way to winning the titles

Fact: Warriors appear to have rorted the cap, have won nothing and will be punished.

Fact: Both sides were wrong

My Opinion: Aside from the dogs, the raiders are the last side who should be whining like stuck pigs

hrundi99

taxidriver said:
Fact: Raiders knowingly rorted the cap on the way to winning the titles

Fact: Warriors appear to have rorted the cap, have won nothing and will be punished.

Fact: Both sides were wrong

My Opinion: Aside from the dogs, the raiders are the last side who should be whining like stuck pigs

Fact: You don't know what you're talking about.

OVP said:

yeah, that'll just be wonderful for the game, onya Clive.