Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rally 'round the Flag

We are a passionate lot.

There are more Eels at the Penrith Forum, than there are Panthers.

Seems we are the most vocal lot.

However some of us are losing the plot.

In the last few days we have exceeded our Smith bagging quotas, and started bagging one another.

I'm not saying that we should not be heaping it on Smith, but it is getting monotonous and a bit boring.

It's OK to agree to disagree, but we should be drawing the line at personal insults, as we all have one thing in common.

Anyone would think we just won the wooden spoon.

Like it or not, we have the same coach for at least another season, and we have a list of players that we can be feeling optimistic about.

Surely we can be a bit more positive in our discussions, as we are all very passionate about one thing............the best footbal team in the world.

slippery eel

Twizzle said:
We are a passionate lot.

There are more Eels at the Penrith Forum, than there are Panthers.

I think those westies dont own computers cause their dole cheq isn't too much and the money they do get goes on ciggy's and grog!. By the looks of them they probably wouldnt know how to use a computer. :D

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
god bless the westies tho!

now that we are in a forum like this, i think i mught pop over there and offer congrats, because truthfully, penrith and parra, well for me anyway, im always gonna have a soft spot for the next door neighbour!
I haven't been that passionate about a g/final since '01, and before that, since... well... never, i was born in '86 so i couldn't very well be then! :)

in saying that, Twizzle i agree with you, having an opinion about Smith (and believe me i do... :x :twisted: ) is one thing, but personal insults are going off track...

((( PS Twizzle, thanks for telling me about this b'board! I owe ya one! i feel home! :D :lol: )))

Twizzle said:
Anyone would think we just won the wooden spoon.

Like it or not, we have the same coach for at least another season, and we have a list of players that we can be feeling optimistic about.

Surely we can be a bit more positive in our discussions, as we are all very passionate about one thing............the best footbal team in the world.

Yeah, when personal insults overtake the rational airing of differing opinions it gets a bit much.

But after our season ending in September, I reckon its natural for people to want to vent a bit about some negative things, before regrouping and getting positive with the support for 2004?

So we've had a month (to the day) since Round 26, and I agree Twizzle its now time to focus on doing the best with what we've got for 2004 and giving support to our Eels!

fish eel

I think we've got plenty plenty of reason to be confident for next year.

Our second half of the season was good, Melbourne game aside (which probably cost us a spot in the 8, the dent it put in our for and against). There was plenty of ticker shown to get back in contention for the 8. I'd be interested to see a ladder for the last 13 rounds to see where we'd fit in.

Adam Dykes finally started to look like the Dykes we purchased. Should be interesting between him and the pommie. Mick Witt will be better, and we should have Burtie back in the line up.

I think we've also bought well, we will have genuine depth in the forward pack - which was our achilles this year. I also think we'll be right for outside backs, not as much depth as I'd like, but we do have versatile players - Burt, Vaeliki and Graham. Morris can slot in at 5/8th, thorman may also be able to be used out wider in the centres, though I havent seen enough of him.

I'll be disappointed if we are not pushing for a top 4 position....who would be the competition against us? Roosters, Penrith...then who, dogs have lost some players, maybe Canberra, Brisbane are getting older....Newcastle if they dont get injuries because they dont have any depth at all. The always disappointing St George? The erractic Warriors?

Some other people in other topics have mentioned the need for us to be tougher....to play a different style. I think this has already been identified by the coach, reflected in the purchases of guys like Pearson and Cannings whilst the two young Cowboys will work work work ala Ian Hindmarsh.

We'll definately be stronger next year, whilst others will come back to the field some more. Clearly, we should be a top 4 side, and once there we'll be in a position to win the whole damn thing.

Great thread Twizzle, top of the class 8)

Refreshing posts by all :D

I reckon the reason why the panthers site is pretty dead, is that they are all still pissed ;-) , lol

eloquentEEL

fish eel said:
I think we've got plenty plenty of reason to be confident for next year.

Our second half of the season was good, Melbourne game aside (which probably cost us a spot in the 8, the dent it put in our for and against). There was plenty of ticker shown to get back in contention for the 8. I'd be interested to see a ladder for the last 13 rounds to see where we'd fit in.

2nd or 3rd. we had a relatively easy run in the back half of the season, but we only lost 3 games. the only team to do better was the dogs who only lost 2 (but they also had a pretty easy 2nd half of the season).

Personal insults are not a valid form of expression, I say.

"You act like we won the wooden spoon," you say. True, the season wasn't a complete waste, but come on - we've had 7 years now to 'build the team up' and 7 years to at least win ONE Grand Final and we have come up short every year.

I am starting to get sick of the club - not the team, but the club. I mean, the whole point of having a coach and team is to try to win the Premiership EVERY YEAR on the coach's contract. I don't think BS has been trying to do that, and I would certainly expect things to be done if things don't change.

I heard this guy on the radio yesterday say how he's been a Manly fan for 12 years, and during the GF changed to Penrith as MAnly is a heart-breaking joke. I would not EVER go to those lengths, but I have joked about supporting the WArriors or Knights who look (at the moment) to have much more success than we will have.

I have finally admitted I have joined the anti-Smith campaign. But I will give him another shot - if he proves to me that he has changed his coaching techniques and recruitment policies to suit our needs and we end up being competitive next year to the good teams, I'll gladly eat my words.

fish eel

I don't agree. While our second half of the year was an improvement, we didn't show any sign of ability to compete for the entire match with a top 8 team.

I doubted Penno and Melbourne's positions in the 8, but they proved me wrong. At this present stage, unless drastic changes are made to the style of play, we won't be competitive for a while.

fish eel

Eelementary said:
fish eel
. At this present stage, unless drastic changes are made to the style of play, we won't be competitive for a while.

I believe that is on the cards, with our recruitment for next season. time will tell though....

Eelectrica

I guess it's up to us as individuals what we wish to believe for next year. I choose to believe that we will have learnt from the mistakes of this year and can rectify them next year.

I know our record against the top 5 sides was 0-8 but with some new players and a change of attitude we can get back to being competitive again. Until next season starts I'm not going to believe otherwise and hopefully we'll all be believers well into next season.

If nothing else I've got the yearly beating of the Broncos in Brisbane to look forward too. :lol:

JessEel

Eelementary said:
I am starting to get sick of the club - not the team, but the club.

i agree with you there... i never hate the players, only the officials who seem to make poor decision,
after poor decision
after poor decision...

i only hate this club when they release my hard working, and dearly loved juniors...
which is every year...

don't dislike BS as a guy, he is a great guy to talk to, and he appreciates us as fans...
i dislike BS as a decision maker...

Misty Bee

JessEel said:
Eelementary said:
I am starting to get sick of the club - not the team, but the club.

i agree with you there... i never hate the players, only the officials who seem to make poor decision,
after poor decision
after poor decision...

i only hate this club when they release my hard working, and dearly loved juniors...
which is every year...

don't dislike BS as a guy, he is a great guy to talk to, and he appreciates us as fans...
i dislike BS as a decision maker...

That pretty much sums up how I feel. One can be an Eel supporter and not be a fan of elements within it. As for me,I expect the club - all clubs, in fact, to actively work towards winning the premiership. Sadly, not all do. penrith were content to be a Poker machine empire until Shane richardson and John lang came aboard. Look at them now. Souths are content to be in the comp, and are doing nothing about improving. Canterbury, on the other hand, well...

The reason I love this code is because I believe it's a wonderful sport to be a part of. We hated Canterbury for the salary cap rorting last year. Drug Cheats stand alone as the single most despised class of player we can have. We all hated Super League for what it did to the code. Players who change clubs are 'gold seekers' and despised for loyal clubmen, who probably don'y have the skill. even players like Fittler, who was absolutely shafted by Penrith, copped it from their clubs fans.

At the end of the day it's al about hitching your wagon to the clubs fortunes. When parra win, Monday is a great day. When they lose, it's a tad bleak. The euphoria that Penrith fans have at present is a wonderful experience, and is addictive. I have had the good fortune to live through the greatest run a club has had since 1966. That euphoria is addictive, and I want to experience it again.

Yet, as Parra fans, we all have different opinions on all of the nuances of the club. Just as our club's district is diverse in culture, history and demography, so are our beliefs.

However, the one thing I have noticed since 1975, when I first cheered the eels on, is the comeraderie that exists between Parra fans. In grahd final week up here in defacto Knights territory, a person walking along the road in an Eels jumper would give the clenched fisted salute as by blue and gold decked out ute would drive by. Unkowns at a party would soon become a mate upon finding out that you both support the Eels. It'slike a huge bug movement, a society whose only membership is a love of the Eels, and whose prime rule is to respect other Eels fans and recognise that they are special.

Infighting between Eels fans is sad. Especially when 10 people say the same thing, and one is singled out.

Unless requested by considerable numbers of people on this forum, I won't delete these events, in line with the FRF policy. Slander and potentially libellous incidents will be gone in a second. HJ's bickering? No. You can all see what is happening for yourself. One is entitled to defende one's self. However, if your general consensus would show a preference for not seeing it at all, then I'll bow to those wishes.

I echo the senitments of those who have spoken before me. Lets all act like the Eels Army again. :D

Eelectrica said:
I guess it's up to us as individuals what we wish to believe for next year. I choose to believe that we will have learnt from the mistakes of this year and can rectify them next year.

I know our record against the top 5 sides was 0-8 but with some new players and a change of attitude we can get back to being competitive again. Until next season starts I'm not going to believe otherwise and hopefully we'll all be believers well into next season.

If nothing else I've got the yearly beating of the Broncos in Brisbane to look forward too. :lol:

That is one hell of a poor record that we have to pull back.

I think we can be competitive again, but there are some people that really need to pull their fingers out, and I'm not just talking about Vella or Wagon or B. Smith for that matter.
Wasn't Reddy supposed to have been one of the most aggressive forwards to have played the game in the last 30 years??
Isn't he our defensive coach??

Misty, mate, BRAVO.

Let's continue this wonderful tradition of comradery.

UP THE MIGHTY EELS!

UP THE MIGHTY EELS ARMY!

Brian Smith and Dennis Fitzgerald take note: I will ALWAYS support you when you have the club's interests at heart, but I (and many other Eels fans) want to see changes next year. Players like Burt, Lyon, VAeliki, Hindy, Morris, CAylo, Hopkins (and others) - they all deserve to be competitive and win Premierships. So why don't you get your fingers out and make it happen?

If we make the Top 4 next year, I'd be quite content. At least it is a MAJOR improvement. But we must look at going all the way.

GO THE EELS IN 2004 AND FOREVER!

JessEel

wow Misty, you can write a whole lot, really quickly!
your positive attitude towards being an eels fan is infectious! i feel the same, i can't imagine what g/f week was like in Newcastle, but here in eels territory it was just as good. I friend an i decorated a large section of a major road in blue and gold, and i can't tell you how many beeps and cheers those colours brought!

i love being an eels fan, because i love those players, and all my posts are just a reaction to my hurt for always having to say goodbye to them.

i don't care about winning, i just like to see them as happy and passionate as us! its just... :roll: sometimes i think i picked the wrong team for that...

Eelementary said:
Misty, mate, BRAVO.

UP THE MIGHTY EELS!

UP THE MIGHTY EELS ARMY!

If we make the Top 4 next year, I'd be quite content. At least it is a MAJOR improvement. But we must look at going all the way.

All the way is the ONLY way we should always be looking.

Misty Bee

Suitman said:
Eelementary said:
Misty, mate, BRAVO.

UP THE MIGHTY EELS!

UP THE MIGHTY EELS ARMY!

All the way is the ONLY way we should always be looking.

And when we get there, the Rugby League world will know what it's like to be part of the Eels army. A Parra premiership win makes the Panther celebrations look like winning a frozen chook at the Pendle Hill Bowling Club! No other fans can dismantle a stadium in 1 hour! Parra Leagues, on Grand Final day 1986, sold (in today's values) $500 000 worth of alcohol, and it was all at half price!

That's why we must maintain pressure to ensure that our club knows what we want. We deserve far more than the ability to nag players after games, and name drop. Big deal. Being part of a rugby league legion that swarms over the opposition on Grand Final day, like we did in ,01, is what it's all about.

And that's why we are the only mob of fans to put together a thread on the Panthers forum on behalf of our fan base. Geez I'm proud of the way us Eels fans have responded to that. None of this bagging of other teams crap that they and Easts are into. The Eels army, in the interests of sportsmanship, has shown it's strength, and dwarfed the opposition as usual.

Being an Eels fan is an honour and a privalidge!