Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random Tigers articles from the media

It wasn't that long ago the players were saying how impressed that a coach gets in there and shows them the way, a few even mentioned that he was showing them up.
They are coded to not have contact, so I assume AD was good to be tackled or otherwise Benji was just letting him know, he chose the wrong manager. hahaha

Nutz

I sort of like it.

Here is the thing - Benji loves footy. He has heaps of flaws. He is an emotional bitch at times. I am pretty sure he gives them emotional BS instructions like "just play footy boys" when they are getting ready for games and it's so stupid.

At the same time if he can somehow add some smarts to go along with that passion I think he may get it together.
Na mate, I'm talking about contact drills. I know through experience that a coach needs to keep clear of it.
You can't have a hot head resent a coach. I've seen it before.
You don't see other coaches do it, not to my knowledge anyway.

Tiger Ted

AD obviously want more money and the only way he'll get that is as a ½-⅝ leader.
What club will pay him around 800k after several knee recos and aging. He's an arm grabber, slow off the mark and can't jump due to knee.
If he wants out I would definitely let him go regardless of the media backlash.
We have at least three centres that can hold the forth till season's end:

Tu’itupou - obvious choice to play outside To'a
Taylan May - should be good to go in a couple rds.
Faataape - not the worst
Feledy - has had his chances
Makasini - last two games
Naden (last year imo)
Lobb - worth a try out wide
Tito - been around and still young. Defensive issues but hasn't been given an opportunity. Give him a target rd to work towards.
Assuming May is fit & adapts quickly to playing footy again after a long layoff then him & Toa are glaringly the best combo we have for this season.The rest of them apart from Makasini who is a greenhorn & not ready are not NRL std centres.With respect to Tito he’s a winger or fullback.

Nutz

Assuming May is fit & adapts quickly to playing footy again after a long layoff then him & Toa are glaringly the best combo we have for this season.The rest of them apart from Makasini who is a greenhorn & not ready are not NRL std centres.With respect to Tito he’s a winger or fullback.
Those two are my first two as well. I must say that Tu’itupou is experienced from Souths and has been the inform back in all grades imo.
I wouldn’t be upset if he got the nod until May is fit.

Nutz

If your like me Ted, I always like seeing new players come in when our current ones are failing.
I think it stems from me continually being let down by these merkins and I hope new blood will change things.

Nutz

Besides, it's a professional sport. How many chances do we have to give blokes like AD who continually arm grabs in D and holds off waiting for someone else to make the tough initial contact. Has anyone else noticed this?

I was a massive fan of the guy. I think his defense has been great this year compared to prior years and his performances significantly improved. I think he has outplayed Galvin in the halves with less time in the role.

In stating that I am extremely hopeful he is gone. I think he is an inconsistent half. He might develop some consistency in his game later in his career but I think upgrading his position is the best way to improve the team.

Nutz

I was a massive fan of the guy. I think his defense has been great this year compared to prior years and his performances significantly improved. I think he has outplayed Galvin in the halves with less time in the role.

In stating that I am extremely hopeful he is gone. I think he is an inconsistent half. He might develop some consistency in his game later in his career but I think upgrading his position is the best way to improve the team.
I was a fan too and I agree he has improved and is a handy kicker but for me, he doesn't bring enough to the table to warrant an upgrade.