Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random work day thoughts

clarency

So work is quite repetitive and aside from thinking about the constant fighting with the missus, I can't help but have the same re-occuring questions plaguing my mind...

Is this week's Perth match going to achieve a higher attendence than CC?
Is the AFL v NRL arguement majorly formed as an extension of Melbourne v Sydney?
If that's true; would I (we) follow AFL if it weren't prodominately Melbourne based?
Is State of Origin hurting the spread of interest around the nation as it presents NRL as a 2 state competition? (I raised that issue before but people seemed to focus on finance rather than interest...)
Are the loudmouth supporters of the CQLD bid going to get a team in spite of their miniscule population?
If every team in Sydney were relegated to the NSW cup except 4, which 4 teams would stay in the NRL (considering crowd support, financial strength, and future)?

What do you think?

So work is quite repetitive and aside from thinking about the constant fighting with the missus, I can't help but have the same re-occuring questions plaguing my mind...

Than CC when exactly? This match needs to attract around 17k to even think of having a side there.
Is the AFL v NRL arguement majorly formed as an extension of Melbourne v Sydney?
Historically yes, but now, no.
If that's true; would I (we) follow AFL if it weren't prodominately Melbourne based?
Only after a lobotomy. If it were based in Adelaide, it would still be sh*t.
Is State of Origin hurting the spread of interest around the nation as it presents NRL as a 2 state competition? (I raised that issue before but people seemed to focus on finance rather than interest...)
No, as the NRL incorporates 3 states, one territory and another country.
Are the loudmouth supporters of the CQLD bid going to get a team in spite of their miniscule population?
Not if there is any sense.
If every team in Sydney were relegated to the NSW cup except 4, which 4 teams would stay in the NRL (considering crowd support, financial strength, and future)?
F*ck off - no teams will ever be relegated. The only way sides leave the comp is if they become insolvent - there is as much chance of the next insolvent club being from OUTSIDE Sydney.

redvscotty

Than CC when exactly? This match needs to attract around 17k to even think of having a side there.

Historically yes, but now, no.
Only after a lobotomy. If it were based in Adelaide, it would still be sh*t.

No, as the NRL incorporates 3 states, one territory and another country.
Not if there is any sense.
F*ck off - no teams will ever be relegated. The only way sides leave the comp is if they become insolvent - there is as much chance of the next insolvent club being from OUTSIDE Sydney.

This.

we'll certainly beat the pathetic 8K. Avg this year is 12,500 at Gosford so I'd be mighty peeved if we don't.
yes and no, Sydney generally doesn't follow any sport that passionately
no see above
no, it is the domestic showcase and if we could get it on at a decent time is a great vehicle for the game in non RL areas
not a cats chance
Wests, St's, Doggies and Souths
What do you think?

I think it's nearly home/game time!

FastEddie

No the AFL argument is an extension of the fact its a sh*t game, played by potato farming descendants of third world micks who wear singlets, fumble the ball, get a point for missing, blindside people because they're cats and because its a f**king sh*t game played in the 3 most backward states of Australia by a bunch of queers in tight shorts who look like they've stumbled out of the Taxi Club.

It's the number one sport in a city where the winter average is 10 degrees, they have trains running down the middle of their main streets and their fans get to the game turning right from the left hand lane. It is a game descended from spastics, played by spastics, watched by spastics and hosted in the most spastic city of them all.

Melbournians think they have culture as if sipping a Lavazza in their 3rd world sh*t tip of a city makes them flash. I know why they drink coffee in their CBD .. that's because there's no f**king bars, pubs or clubs (or at least semi decent ones) within a 10 minute cab ride of the city. Their CBD is as pretty as parramatta, hurstville or chatswood and the place is f**king cold.

Because it is such a sh*thole, everyone ends up at Crown by 1am because there is nowhere else to go and they think the Yarra is very European. Kim Jong Il should throw a nuke or 10 at the f**king joint with the first 2 hitting the MCG and Comrade Vlad's office.

Khan9t of a joint

Perth Red said:
clarency said:
we'll certainly beat the pathetic 8K. Avg this year is 12,500 at Gosford so I'd be mighty peeved if we don't.
Which pathetic 8k is this?

Mar 27th 2010 Manly Warringah 36 Newcastle 12 12,138
Apr 10th 2010 South Sydney 28 Newcastle 10 16,098
May 15th 2010 Sydney 18 Newcastle 34 10,018

There are two more games remaining at Gosford - Sharks v Canterbury on July 3 and Manly v Tigers on July 25, the latter of which will no doubt fill the joint I imagine.

Being fair dinkum, how can you compare 5 or 6 games per year at Bluetongue with 1 or 2 games per year at ME Bank? Both regions would need the same amount of games each year to draw a realistic comparison...

And there should be no comparison. Perth only needs to focus on it's own abilities to firld a home team regardless of what happens in Gosford.

Oddly - Perths best chance of entry is if Gosford gets the Bears in. Yet blind hatred of NSW sees Perth fans bag Gosford at every opportunity - there is no bigger case of shooting one's self in the foot in the RL world.

the question was asked, I simply gave an answer, will beat what Gosfords been getting (with the advantage of teams drawing supporters from Newcastle and Sydney I might add) yep reckon we will.

I know it will be more likely that two teams will be in rather than one, it's the only reason I think the Bears in Gosford is a good idea!

What do you think?

1. Maybe, we'll see. Perth may get a great crowd because this is the first league game in ages being played there. But overall CC would emrbace a local side a lot more quickly than Perth would in my opinion

2/3 Not so much Melbourne v Sydney. Our current NRL grew out of the old NSWRL comp, same with the VFL becoming the AFL. Sydney probably would, but you could say vice versa for Melbourne, as when it comes to sport you grow up following the sports that are overall the most popular in your respective culture. If badminton NSW's most popular sport when we were all kids we'd probably be following that.

4. No, because the bulk of rugby league supporters in Australia are from NSW or QLD, and the bulk of our players come from NSW, QLD and NZ. Also because it's such a popular contest it acts as a selling point for rugby league in general. SOO is an advertisement of what rugby league stands for to other states, it's the best of the best, it doesn't matter who's playing.

5. Wouldn't mind seeing a 4th team in QLD, they develop enough players they're worthy of one.

6. It wouldn't happen. The comp in the near future needs the foundation clubs of NSW to survive, they're not going to relegate all but 4 when the NRL simply relies on Sydney as it's base.

Lego_Man

No the AFL argument is an extension of the fact its a sh*t game, played by potato farming descendants of third world micks who wear singlets, fumble the ball, get a point for missing, blindside people because they're cats and because its a f**king sh*t game played in the 3 most backward states of Australia by a bunch of queers in tight shorts who look like they've stumbled out of the Taxi Club.

It's the number one sport in a city where the winter average is 10 degrees, they have trains running down the middle of their main streets and their fans get to the game turning right from the left hand lane. It is a game descended from spastics, played by spastics, watched by spastics and hosted in the most spastic city of them all.

Melbournians think they have culture as if sipping a Lavazza in their 3rd world sh*t tip of a city makes them flash. I know why they drink coffee in their CBD .. that's because there's no f**king bars, pubs or clubs (or at least semi decent ones) within a 10 minute cab ride of the city. Their CBD is as pretty as parramatta, hurstville or chatswood and the place is f**king cold.

Because it is such a sh*thole, everyone ends up at Crown by 1am because there is nowhere else to go and they think the Yarra is very European. Kim Jong Il should throw a nuke or 10 at the f**king joint with the first 2 hitting the MCG and Comrade Vlad's office.

Khan9t of a joint

Best post i've seen on LU this year...

Coaster

Khan9t of a joint

Almost scary how you repeated my rant i had in private a couple of days ago. Im sitting here atm in 3 degree weather and if i hear another Victorian tell me how wonderful this joint is, im going to flip out.

What Brutus? Mate, get out of your private collection of vouyeristic dressing room pics before you post next time.

I'm missing the ET one, anyone got it?

I'll swap it for a saucy Stan Jurd snap from his Norths days.

FastEddie

Is anyone sick of seeing Nathan Hindmarsh's freckle?

No, but I'm sick of seeing the plodding carthorse flop 40 times per game and have 12 carries for 43m most weeks. I haven't seen someone stunt a half break or momentum since Matt Parish crueled Balmain in the early 90s

Ian McCann was quite good at that as well.