Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Razzle Dazzle

niall

It may be unnoticed by many, but after watching that try we got tonite, the commentator said "thats the best attack ive seen from parramatta all year"

now as i heard that my mate mentioned to me "isnt that a normal try for parra to score" (hes been in the uk since last year"

but tbh it really is true, plays like that along with major risk taking, throwing the footy around, chip and chase early in the count or even kicking for the winger from a scrum used to be the norm for parramatta, it was something expected from them and although it was always just as amazing, it was a regular occurence.

its just sad to see a season of games which consist of the same " 4 hitups, 2 passes wide then kick downfield" attacking plays, even tonite with nothing to play for we only took 1 or 2 risks all game.

i dont know if its in our coachign staff or the players themselves but someone should make a compilation of attacking plays in 2005 and remind the team that week in week out that was the attacking plays expected from the eels...

comments?

ParraAds

Sure the razzle dazzle has been missing....

But it all starts up front with our piss weak forward pack who make no metres, get very few offloads and don't move up well in defence.

I reckon the likes of Hayne/Inu/Burt would have scored about 40 tries between them this season had we had a Ryles, Creagh or Petero in our pack.

Great switch of play by Hayne to Keating, great pass from Mateo to Inu, great pick up of a horrible pass by Burt, and terrific vision and kick by Burt for Keating making the follow-through up the middle of the field for the try under the posts.

Fantastic skill, but these guys should have been combining like that all season for some similar tries. Why we didn't is anyone's guess. That try had nothing to do with forwards making or not making momentum. That try is why we pay (some of) our outside backs so much money...

yy_cheng

Why because master coach said that the game is not like that anymore and that we should play percentages and complete our sets.

The problem is that our players are not those types of players and to ask a tiger to change it's stripes, well, ......

Why because master coach said that the game is not like that anymore and that we should play percentages and complete our sets.

Absolutely spot on.

For example - Cayless gets bagged to the sh*thouse, yet when he is playing ball at the line we start to look a little dangerous.

But we don't do that because Hagan is sh*t.

yy_cheng

The majority of our forwards used to pass.

Caylo, Hindy, Piggy, Chad.

Maybe Wags selectively and Fui can just run hard.

All that has gorn and so has our 2nd phase play.

2nd phase is one way of tiring the opposition as they make the tackles but they don't count

torpedo

You need to coach a side to their strengths as a coach, not coach them to play a game that you picked up from a coaches manual.

spiderdan

You need to coach a side to their strengths as a coach, not coach them to play a game that you picked up from a coaches manual.
i think this is the main reason why the raiders have done so well late in the year.

when you look at their playing squad, especially considering they have their top two players in most key positions injured or out (1,6,7,9) plus the others, it is phenomenal to think they play the way they do.

it's a classic case in point of a coach seeing the strengths of individual players and creating a synergy around it.

hagan's philosophy that you need to play boring because that's how you complete sets and that's how you win games is a load of crap. all it does is create slow predictable play so the opposition doesn't get so tired defending. i really hope he changes his strategy in the off-season.

It also allows group tackles that slow the ball down. Sure, you can complete your sets of six, but you're not gonna get very far when the opposition isn't forced to think in defence.

its been missing ever since Burty has been missing, yet some people dont rate him................:-k

The Engineers Room

Early on I was wondering where all this attack was hiding all year. Cayless passed before the line a few times and we made a tonne of metres off it. It's a shame we just missed the final polish or we would have led comfortably in the first half. Then with the game gone, we gave up and played like we did all year.

Bigfella

The problem with Hagan's no risk philosophy is that we don't do the other things that you need to go with the high-percentage footy:

1. Quick play the balls
2. Bodies in motion to at least give the appearance of having options in attack
3. Line speed in defence
4. Goal line defence

Whch is why we were never competitive against Manly Melbourne Cronulla and would not have threatened the comp this year.

Most of those are not issues of personnel but structure and coaching.

Sterling

The problem with Hagan's no risk philosophy is that we don't do the other things that you need to go with the high-percentage footy:

1. Quick play the balls
2. Bodies in motion to at least give the appearance of having options in attack
3. Line speed in defence
4. Goal line defence

Whch is why we were never competitive against Manly Melbourne Cronulla and would not have threatened the comp this year.

Most of those are not issues of personnel but structure and coaching.

Cronulla was very lucky to get that penalty on the hooter remember? was a very tight game.

fish eel

Great switch of play by Hayne to Keating, great pass from Mateo to Inu, great pick up of a horrible pass by Burt, and terrific vision and kick by Burt for Keating making the follow-through up the middle of the field for the try under the posts.

Fantastic skill, but these guys should have been combining like that all season for some similar tries. Why we didn't is anyone's guess. That try had nothing to do with forwards making or not making momentum. That try is why we pay (some of) our outside backs so much money...

Easy.

Cast your mind back to the numerous press conferences and pre game interviews. Going into matches, we had such an emphasis on ball control, possession and our completion rates. Such a focus breeds conservative football and hence delivered us all that exciting one out rubbish all year.