Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD 22: Parramatta Eels v Canberra at TIO Stadium Darwin 8.30pm AEST 9/8/14

eloquentEEL

I wonder if Ricky will bring in Cornish or move Milford to halves and Robinson to fullback. Either way, it'll be more dangerous than Campese and we'll need to be on our game. Good thing is that some of the boys should really be switched on, purely because of the Ricky factor.

Have you mentioned in this thread or any other that you are going up to Darwin mate?
I am sure most of the people on here would love to know you are going and just how loyal a supporter you are.

It will be my second game this year.The last game I went too we won in Rnd 1.

TBH it was more a fluke Parra are playing at the same time im going. Ive been planning too see NT for the last few yrs. And work dried up so thought why not.
Damm im really honest in the morning until I have a cup of tea and my imagination kicks in.

Joshuatheeel

We should get a win, but hoping it aren't to hot. Considering we are playing the following Friday night, some hot weather could really stuff us up for the following week (we aren't the most mentally strong side). There is also the extra travel to factor in.

Parramatta Eels keen to show ex-coach Ricky Stuart and his Canberra Raiders they've moved on

Parramatta players say Ricky Stuart's departure last year came at the right time and backed coach Brad Arthur for redeveloping the culture of the club. Stuart will come up against his former club for the first time since his controversial single-season stint at the Eels ended in September. His sacking of 12 players by overhead projector created unrest and then his team claimed a wooden spoon and he walked out on a rich three-year deal to join Canberra.
Stuart is now on the verge of leading another team to the wooden spoon. The Raiders slumped to their third consecutive loss after going down 54-18 to the Warriors on Sunday.
They are 15th on the ladder, and are above Cronulla only because they have a better points differential.

By contrast, the Eels are flying and remain in top-eight contention having won 10 games this year – double the number won when Stuart was in charge in 2013.
Parramatta back-rower Joseph Paulo said while Stuart was a "good man" the club was better placed with Arthur at the helm.
"When Ricky left it was the right time," Paulo said. "We were ready to part ways and move on. He had stuff to do with his family and he had to honour his family first. We were happy for him to do that. Ricky made those hard decisions [to release players], we’ve moved on. It was tough to see all your good mates leave like that but it's happened.
"We were happy that we could have a new coach [Arthur] – someone that we had two years ago who we really enjoyed. We knew he was tough but we really enjoy playing for him.”
Arthur has the Eels on the verge of returning to the finals for the first time since their 2009 grand final appearance.
Paulo praised him for turning the club around.
"When you're winning it's easy to set a culture because everyone is confident and everyone is in a good mood," Paulo said. "Brad has laid a platform for all of us to run with and it's worked.
"Everyone enjoys playing for Brad and he has brought a different culture to this club. He coaches his kids on the weekend and is a family man and a grounded guy, which is what has kept this team together and going forward.
"We are here enjoying the new coach and playing under Brad. I've seen [Stuart] around and said hello.”
Stuart will be spared a hostile reception by the Eels faithful as Parramatta are taking their home game to Darwin on Saturday night. Veteran back-rower Ben Smith, who was among the dozen players Stuart said had no future at the club, said the players would not be distracted by the Stuart factor.
"We’re not going to worry about that," Smith said. "We’ve got a great coach and support staff. The young boys coming in bring that enthusiasm and they are quality players. You’ve got the older boys who can steady the ship and lead by example. Hopefully in the years to come we’ll see Parramatta back in that top area."

Ricky Stuart has moved on and so have the Eels

PARRAMATTA chief executive Scott Seward has put some perspective on Saturday night’s game against the Ricky Stuart-led Canberra Raiders in Darwin, insisting the club’s sole focus will be on picking up a valuable two points rather than retribution against its former coach.
Stuart will coach against the Eels on Saturday night for the first time since his controversial departure last season, a decision which drew condemnation from Parramatta supporters after he walked out only one year into a three-year deal.
In his 12 months in charge, Stuart put a broom through the Eels, his tenure becoming infamous for the day when he informed 12 players they were no longer wanted by calling them into a room where their names were placed on an overhead projector in front of their teammates.
Since his departure, the club has gone from strength to strength under Brad Arthur. So much so, a victory over the Raiders would increase the Eels’ hopes of playing finals football.
Seward insisted, however, that playing against Stuart would be no source of motivation for the players.
“We have moved on,” Seward said.
“We’re probably just worried about ourselves and getting a win and getting in the eight. We have a real philosophy at our club now, we’re worrying about ourselves.
“It’s about us getting better as a footy club. We don’t care about any other club to be honest, whether it’s Canberra or whoever.
“Ricky coached us. That’s fine, he moved on. We’re happy where we are now. It’s a pretty big game for us. I think this way — we probably don’t even think about.
“Since Ricky left there is a lot of new people here. To be honest we probably don't even think about it. In a way it is irrelevant to us.
“Been, gone, next, move on.”
The game shapes as a big one for veteran Ben Smith, one of the 12 players given their marching orders by Stuart. Smith eventually stayed and will be named in the side today to travel to Darwin. While he may seek some personal revenge, Arthur has no plans to speak to any of the players who were there on Stuart's watch.
“I won’t speak to them because then it puts it in the back of their minds,” Arthur said.
Arthur’s sole focus, like the rest of the club, is on securing a third consecutive win and pushing for a place in the top eight.
“He is doing a terrific job,” Seward said of Arthur.
“We’re certainly a lot happier where we are this time this year than the same time last year. It’s just nice that we’re discussing playing final footy.
“Last year we couldn’t get out of last. It doesn’t matter who we’re playing and who the coach of the other team is, we just have to go out there and get the two points.
“Hopefully everything falls into place. To me, we have to win this week. We still have to win a couple of more as well, regardless of who it is, it is irrelevant.
“We have moved on.”
That said, the Eels have missed an opportunity to attract a big crowd to Parramatta Stadium by taking the game on the road — the decision to play the Raiders in Darwin was made last year, before Stuart’s departure.
“I think there would be plenty of our members and fans who would have liked the game to be at Parramatta,” Seward said.
“But we submitted out request back in September before Ricky had even left.’’
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...013370257?nk=4c18f6480f48118ab7ed52fbb8c2cc81

He's still got to stay in his lane. Where the team plays is none of his business, as is how the club earns enough to pay his wages.

84 Baby

He's still got to stay in his lane. Where the team plays is none of his business, as is how the club earns enough to pay his wages.

If I were CEO or Chief of Ground Selection, I reckon I'd be running it past the coach to get his thoughts, given that the coaches (players also) have an disproportionate amount of power & influence on success (read failure) compared to their employers. Prime example is Stuart still having a job.

End of day, yes the club can tell the coach regardless of his thoughts, he'll play where he's told, because I'm a reasonable guy and I would have hired a reasonable coach and he would understand that we are playing in Darwin to get paid $X more than in Parra & that if he really wants to play in Parra perhaps the coach could take an $X pay cut to facilitate it. But I'd still run it past the coach beforehand because it's simply good management. And we're not the Tigers