Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd 27 v Panthers

Dragonsdiehard

Gave up watching with 20mins to go of the last game of the one of the most lacklustre and forgettable seasons in a long list of lacklustre and forgettable seasons..... already 15 years since our last premiership....we have devolved or digressed into the easybeats of the NRL.... for crying out loud our only attribute right now is the all too rare skill of being able to play out of form or injury-decimated teams back into form!!..... Catch yas in six months or so.

Black Panther

On that performance Penrith are nowhere near the best team in the comp. Cleary's kicking game is off, Dylan Edwards is playing like a hack, Yeo not the dynamic forward he once was. Too good for us but I don't see them getting a 5th title on that performance.
Training run my friend, no injuries was the key.

wittyfan

At different times he had various / obvious options but often refused to take them and adversity through injuries was his only real catalyst for change.
Ilias being dropped was his one big coaching moment despite continued poor performances by many.
Just 5 wins from 17 games after Ilias was dropped and nepo baby son was moved to halfback.

I think this has more to do with K Flan being more effective at 6, rather than any miracles worked by Ilias.
If anything, LKT should have stayed in reggies and Glover been promoted to firsts. He has been steering that KoE side around quite well all season.
I was in favour of giving Ilias a lifeline, but I've seen enough and it's time for him to go and soak up a few bucks in the Super League where all the other NRL also-rans go to shine.

John moz

Last game of the season dumb footy again . No attack or on last tackle didn't throw the ball around nothing to lose but again boring to watch.
Kyle Flanagan kicking on last tackle has no idea to run the ball on last.
Coach Flanno has cost the team success this season by sticking up for his son kyle.
Bring on Atkinson next season look what a difference he did for sharks v Bulldogs last night .

Harry Bath

I think this has more to do with K Flan being more effective at 6, rather than any miracles worked by Ilias.
If anything, LKT should have stayed in reggies and Glover been promoted to firsts. He has been steering that KoE side around quite well all season.
I was in favour of giving Ilias a lifeline, but I've seen enough and it's time for him to go and soak up a few bucks in the Super League where all the other NRL also-rans go to shine.
I agree Glover was the obvious choice at half, Flanagan and LKT should have fought out the 5/8th spot. Anyway I am not the coach so I am probably wrong, what I don't think I am wrong about is that the Board again went off prematurely in extending Flanagan for another 2 years which was a mistake.
Why they didn't wait until towards the end of 2026 is beyond me, no other team was going to poach Flanagan. My guess is that Flanagan will be a dead man walking should the dragons not perform by round 8 next year.

Slippery Morris

Thank god the season is over as it has been hard to watch. Flanno should really flog these guys for the next few weeks rather than have Mad Monday / End of season trips.

It will be sad not seeing JDB in the red v again. He gave it all most games.

One possitive for 2025 is how good the youngsters performed in their debut year. They never let us down and if anything it was the more experienced guys that let them down.

His game plans of bash and barge.
And we still have 17 like any other team in a game.
He drops Illias after a few close losses yet a 5/8 who missed heaps of tackles which led to tries and his son who has played in 16 losses.
It all rests on the team's defensive skills and the line speed in defense. Our wingers should be trained to remain on their wing and mark the opposite winger.

Our fullback and lock should take care of ashortage of numbers in defense, not our wingers.

Trifili13

It all rests on the team's defensive skills and the line speed in defense. Our wingers should be trained to remain on their wing and mark the opposite winger.

Our fullback and lock should take care of ashortage of numbers in defense, not our wingers.
What, like good teams?