Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd2: 4:05pm Parra v Wests Tigers GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 16/3/25

Look, if the fans know who the best football staff are, the club's decision makers will know. We've already seen Bellamy and Bennett turned us down. We try to get the best people but they don't want to come here. If we keep investing in our pathways things will change. But we can't just stop spending money due to the NRL side shitting the bed. It's all the more reason to keep spending on poaching (and keeping) the best junior talent.

To many times in management roles I see a bit of a boys club. Not just in sport but in general. What makes you think this isn't happening now at Parra.

I said you guys will make finals. I also like Canberra. Next year they'll go close. Many don't but I do rate Ricky. Over and over again he builds a tough and physical side and they cause upsets multiple times a year.

It was nice to turn the tables as clubs, but rosters evolve as the great Gaia cycle of league creaks over (except if one is a glamour club).

I have enjoyed visiting your sacred “next round thread” as you have a lot of entertaining participants including my buddy Gaz.

A couple of our players are heading into therapy now to help them cope with winning.

I’ve showed the way, it’s really up to you to go f**k with the panthers and sign as many smug as you can.

Well, you seem to know everything about anything, surely you have some names

The people we have basically aren’t good enough so finding someone better is not solving the NY times crossword blindfold.
You're the one saying they need to be arseholed. Name some replacements, merkin, or get back in your box.

Last week was woeful but getting pantsed by Melbourne away in round 1 wasn’t a massive surprise really. I was ready to push it aside and start fresh this week.

Today was just absolutely inept though… I’m not exaggerating but that was one of the worst Eels performances I have seen period. I’ve seen us get pumped by 50 plenty of times but today when considering the opposition it was laughable really.

Any half decent side would have put the Tigers to the sword within the first 20 minutes, they were deadset putrid. Fair play to them once they managed to get over for one they realised they were in a training session and rightfully put us to the sword.

I have two young sons, the eldest is 7 and isn’t really into his footy yet but he feigns interest in Parra as he knows it means so much to me. He sat down with me and watched the last 15-20 minutes or so, I think purely because he heard me carrying on and knew I was upset and wanted to support me.

I might have let the moment get to me but I did something that I never ever thought I would do. I turned to him and said ‘Mate you know you don’t have to support Parra if you don’t want to’. He didn't say a word.

I will always support this rabble and I hope in time he does as well, it’s always been a dream of mine to take the boys to the footy on a Sunday arvo. Like what I used to do with my Old Man. But days like today I honestly thought I’m probably doing him a favour if he chooses to support another team.
I'm going to take my seven year old to the Dragons game and he's already said he will be supporting them. He barely remembers 2022. He thinks of Parra as a team that loses all the time, like the Dockers.

Its how it goes, natural selection.

My kids hated the Tigers from conception.

And the ongoing threat is that

“you’ll end up exactly like your father if you go for his club”

And no one is having that.

To many times in management roles I see a bit of a boys club. Not just in sport but in general. What makes you think this isn't happening now at Parra.
Boys clubs are awesome. It's how shit gets done. Penrith's coach is related to their captain ffs. Everyone else is related to Greg Alexander. At the Storm, Bellamy said he wants his son to take over his job. If anything, our club is the opposite of a boys club. If it was, we would probably have cashed up benefactors selling cheap real estate to our players.

D06673AE-88DF-4F77-9390-671D14FE1C80.jpeg

So you’re trying to tell me that I have to sacrifice my precious hard earned democratic voting rights in case Ryle’s kid can play second row?

King-Gutho94

We're going to get nil'd by the bloody tigers. Seems like Ryles isn't as good as some were making out here.
Well we did give Arthur 264 games and 11 years and were basically in the same position when he took over at end of 2013.

Ryles has had a sample size of less then 1% of that tenure which is 2 games and been left with a mess worse then a shit ham sandwich to deal with.

So I'll give him a slight grace period for the time being.

He may have made some mistakes already with recruitment granted and i thought our attack look horrendous today against what used to be the worst defensive side in the comp.

It was like a pub team coming together on Friday with everyone trained together.

But it's also quite clear we have a bunch of players who lack any sort of resilience or any footy IQ having been dumbed down by the previous regime.

No players in motion in attack and getting stripped on the edge in defence was just a continuation of the rubbish we have seen for the past decade.

Old habits are hard to remove and some of Arthur's favourites were probably our worst players in this performance which is a bigger concern then the actual coaching right now.

Wally21

I’m as embarrassed as everyone else on here and yesterday’s performance was garbage.
However, Ryles deserves an opportunity to show what he can do. As others have said, not 11 years, but as King Gutho says above, it’s been 2 games, 1% of the 11 years the last coach had.
with so much money tied up in Paulo, Matterson, Penisini, Lane and to a lesser extent Cartwright Kelma, and Lussick, who should be the nucleus of our 1’s he has been given turds which are mostly impossible to polish.
Let’s not even start on the space cadet who is getting paid twice what his real value is at our club, let alone what the Knights will pay him.
In terms of who he has brought to the club, I can see Iongi getting better, Jack Williams has really impressed, Samrani looked good yesterday and perhaps Papali will also get some game time this year to show what he has. We also, all know what JAC can do if he stays fit and out of trouble.
But let’s be honest it’s probably more like 2027 before we should expect to be challenging for anything near the top of the comp, after he moves on the legacy deadwood who should be leading the team, but have proved they are incapable or past it.

King-Gutho94

The reality is this downward spiral started under the stewardship of Sarantinos and ONeil in 2021, the replacements for the 6 or so players that left where such poor quality and that only continued used as poor recruitment continued unabated.

Pou will carry on about clubs at the bottom etc , when we basically had the opportunity to strengthen the roster and those in charge failed. Not certain it’s the cause, but having a Tigers life member in charge hasn’t worked well.

we need a Gus Gould or even a figure like Shane Richardson running the football side of the club, until we put an alpha figure in charge we will go nowhere.

There’s a couple of senior forward ssigned long term who are basically stealing a salary, when your 2 best forwards today were A 19 year old prop who has a PO for next year and a 21 year old hooker not in the top 30 tells the real story. Time to move on and reset the football dept
Recruitment has been poor no doubt.

MON and Sarantinos got off scot free with the debacle that was the NRLW side in 2023 that they assembled.

I doubt they will escape any scrutiny if this train wreck of a season continues down the likely path we can all see it going.

Weather Dean widders could coach or not who knows but that was a debacle he got given that year.

We finally got rid of BA which was well overdue.

But it's truly concerning and laughable that some crucial people in the organisation think MON is the Frank Poniessi of the West.

I would go and get Matt Cameron out of Penrith.

Whatever it takes bring him back to Parramatta.

Wally21

Recruitment has been poor no doubt.

MON and Sarantinos got off scot free with the debacle that was the NRLW side in 2023 that they assembled.

I doubt they will escape any scrutiny if this train wreck of a season continues down the likely path we can all see it going.

Weather Dean widders could coach or not who knows but that was a debacle he got given that year.

We finally got rid of BA which was well overdue.

But it's truly concerning and laughable that some crucial people in the organisation think MON is the Frank Poniessi of the West.

I would go and get Matt Cameron out of Penrith.

Whatever it takes bring him back to Parramatta.
I have worked for big corporates for over 30 years in sort of senior roles and the one thing I’ve learned is there are so many idiots masquerading as board members, directors and CEO’s. Often companies are successful despite the rabble that runs them.
What is certain however, is that any org will be better set for success with the best leaders in these positions that can be attracted. Based on their CV’s, MON and Sarratinos are far from the best.

Honestly this talk about CEOs and board members is a poor excuse. Who did we badly miss yesterday? The experience and ball playing of Gutho, the punch of Reg and yes even the finishing of Sivo.

Obviously Mitch is the biggest loss and thank f**k that is temporary.

Bring on JAC, Hawkins, someone for Penisini and maybe even someone for Hopgood.

Need to fix that edge JR.

Hopefully they find their mojo soon, otherwise there is not many wins in this club in 2025.

Wally21

Honestly this talk about CEOs and board members is a poor excuse. Who did we badly miss yesterday? The experience and ball playing of Gutho, the punch of Reg and yes even the finishing of Sivo.

Obviously Mitch is the biggest loss and thank f**k that is temporary.

Bring on JAC, Hawkins, someone for Penisini and maybe even someone for Hopgood.

Need to fix that edge JR.

Hopefully they find their mojo soon, otherwise there is not many wins in this club in 2025.
Everything you point out is a fair assumption Gronk. The disaster yesterday was not immediately the CEO’s or HOF’s fault. However. They have been a part of the deterioration of the club. So if we are going to look to rebuild, it should include having the very best available in the front office as well.

Shows how clueless Bea Arthur is how many years did he have Paulo as co captain and him in the leadership group??

As my old pop would of said he couldn’t lead a choko up a vine.

Pazza

i think ryles needs to have some more patients on how he reshapes this side

first thing i think we need to get players back to where theyre comfortable, Will goes back to the right, Lomax to the wing, I remember Russell being a decent defender at centre, williams to the middle, less mins for Hopgood.

Then bring in some more experience, our whole bench yesterday would have been lucky to have 40 first grade games yesterday. we had 6 players yesterday in single digit games. dont get me wrong, i like promoting youth but when you got a whole pack of proven first graders in cup and the team gets belted like that 2 weeks in a row. lets look at the long game here. lets bring in JAC (was going to happen anyways), Matto and Prob Cartwright.

Everything you point out is a fair assumption Gronk. The disaster yesterday was not immediately the CEO’s or HOF’s fault. However. They have been a part of the deterioration of the club. So if we are going to look to rebuild, it should include having the very best available in the front office as well.
I think the assumption is that us punters know what the CEO and or Board do and whether individuals are doing a good or bad job.

I know the “buck stops here” but I also know there is a tendency for blue collar workers or minnow white collar workers to draw uninformed conclusions that senior executives are impostors. Worse, the internet just loves to find scapegoats and I take these allegations with a grain of salt.

We are losing, therefore you must be shit is such a superficially braindead conclusion that so many people on here apply to people in the Eels office, when in reality they know nothing about them or their competence.