Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd9: 6pm Parra v Sharks GAME DAY THREAD @ Suncorp 2.5.25

clap GIF

They deserve at least a baby clap for the much improved effort over the whole 80 mins.
A bit of ill discipline and some interesting decisions by the officials but overall, better than Rnds 1-4 and Rnd 6.

I liked the energy Samrani brought to the right edge - some of us have been saying in here for a while that he might make the transfer into the pack, and maybe he will.
I agree that thief that he replaced should be tapped on the shoulder forever.

PS - He’s going on the shit list

Joshuatheeel

Disappointing, but great effort...

- we lack some experience, but better for that hit out. Count how many NRL games our second rowers, hooker, fullback have compared to the sharks....but our boys did good
- gave them to many penalties to get them out of their half, when we were getting on top. At least 4 times I think
- the try with sharks player in the bin probably killed our chances, chasing from then on
- bit unlucky on a few occasions
- 2 tough bunker calls I reckon
- Russell effort is great, massive! Every squad need's a player like him! He did nothing wrong. But reckon he struggles to set up his winger/pass/beat his opponent one on one. We are creating space his side, but it's stopping at Russell
- first 20, we don't move ball much without Walker
- Smith is doing good, but reckon we need a second hooker in the 17
- Samarini did good if his min's at edge, give him that spot
- we had 6 line breaks to sharks 4
- 33 missed tackles each. Defence is improving. Definitely lot more work required, but looking like it's getting better
- completion rate only 78% need it up towards 85%

all up, good effort, massive improvement. Plenty to build on. Sharks are a good side - top 6.

Eelogical

Ok, it wasn't meant to be.

Too many lapses in defence, and too many occasions of rushed attack without thought to ball control and building territory and momentum.

But underneath that, some promising stuff compared to the last two years - and still just a couple of players (edge forwards mainly) away from a squad that could compete for reaching the top eight - maybe next year?
When we win two in a row is when I know we're on a roll. In the meantime we will get more bruises during the rest of 2025. 2026 is too far away, just like Sunday.

DaveMc

Yes mate, typo
Yeah, agreed. Was thinking it during the match, he needed the spell but it’d be good to have a zippy little bloke that could come on for him. In truth, the best this year would for him to be the bench hooker - maybe starting Hopgood there isn’t the worst idea for the first 20 or so.

DaveMc

Am I silly thinking that the elephant in the room is Ryles’ apparent unwillingness to play Matterson or Cartwright ahead of Kautoga? He’s just not very good, and either of those options would be better, even if they’re on the outer for whatever reason.

Delboy

Or just to put shit on merkins. Maybe you should stick to talking about footy. Any solid analysis come out of Crestwood Oval through the week?
Seriously, what the heck does that have to do with anything, at least be sensible and not make child like catcalls that make you like look a school kid.

Enough anyway, let’s not bother with each other.