Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Read the last line from the Warriors Media Release.......

In that case it is a stupid decision by the Warriors to let him go. He is talented and could become a good player still, just has to have time to get back on his feet, he's had countless knee operations and setbacks. He wouldn't have been costing them much and could have been a great player in years to come.

Hollywood Jesus said:
A bit like Dave Woods too, Suity. That guy shoulda played for Australia, he was that damned good, but injuries just killed him.

I was a fan of David Woods, a good centre and was our best player when we were struggling in 1994-95. Represented Country that year I think.

But when he left to go to Penrith, he wasnt the same player as he was at Parramatta.

The Engineers Room

PARRA_FAN said:
Hollywood Jesus said:
A bit like Dave Woods too, Suity. That guy shoulda played for Australia, he was that damned good, but injuries just killed him.

I was a fan of David Woods, a good centre and was our best player when we were struggling in 1994-95. Represented Country that year I think.

But when he left to go to Penrith, he wasnt the same player as he was at Parramatta.

If you ever noticed he could only tackle players side on. He would let them go level with him and tackle them that way. It was dangerous and always looked like he would miss.

eels_fan

I read an interesting article that points out that the new NZ coach, Tony Kemp, has axed every single Australian player that was part of the playing roster over there. There isn't a single one left. He forced Sullivan to quit, and two others, cant remember their names, he released them and told em to leave.

DvdHntr said:
PARRA_FAN said:
Hollywood Jesus said:

If you ever noticed he could only tackle players side on. He would let them go level with him and tackle them that way. It was dangerous and always looked like he would miss.

Dave Woods made the train on squad for the Kangaroo tour in 1994..... it was a shame injuries held him back. The guy could get injured anywhere....and they were usually odd injuries...

Ron Jeremy

Mighty player woods, use to be along with Scott Mahon my favourite player, Wood's Shoulder wasn't the main problem, it was his knees & hamstrings aswell.

I remember Woods in the latter part of 94 absolutely blitz teams.

We won our last 3 games of 94 27-12 over the Saints, 40-12 over the Roosters & 23-16 over Penrith, in that 23-16 win over Penrith....Woods was that damn crook due to the flu he wasn't even going to play, he not only played but he made the break to seal us victory over Penrith with Buettner scroing outwide.

I also recall plenty of woods in 89, he was super young, but he was great along side Kenny & Sterlo, i remember when we played the Tigers at Parra stadium, well over 24,000 there...and The Tigers at that point where the shizz, Woods marked Andy Currier that day & Woods not only kept him very quiet he also took a great intercept of Currier, Currier made a break and just as he was about to draw the full-back Woods could seen to calling Currier to pass, he passed right into Wood's hands & stopped a certain try, we lost that game even though we jumped to a 10-0 lead early......but still was a great game to watch.

Ron Jeremy

Mighty player woods, use to be along with Scott Mahon my favourite player, Wood's Shoulder wasn't the main problem, it was his knees & hamstrings aswell.

I remember Woods in the latter part of 94 absolutely blitz teams.

We won our last 3 games of 94 27-12 over the Saints, 40-12 over the Roosters & 23-16 over Penrith, in that 23-16 win over Penrith....Woods was that damn crook due to the flu he wasn't even going to play, he not only played but he made the break to seal us victory over Penrith with Buettner scroing outwide.

I also recall plenty of woods in 89, he was super young, but he was great along side Kenny & Sterlo, i remember when we played the Tigers at Parra stadium, well over 24,000 there...and The Tigers at that point where the shizz, Woods marked Andy Currier that day & Woods not only kept him very quiet he also took a great intercept of Currier, Currier made a break and just as he was about to draw the full-back Woods could seen to calling Currier to pass, he passed right into Wood's hands & stopped a certain try, we lost that game even though we jumped to a 10-0 lead early......but still was a great game to watch.

eels_fan said:
I read an interesting article that points out that the new NZ coach, Tony Kemp, has axed every single Australian player that was part of the playing roster over there. There isn't a single one left. He forced Sullivan to quit, and two others, cant remember their names, he released them and told em to leave.

I hope PJ Marsh is one of them. I'll have him back too.

GoParra

Kemp is a git, a first class git who has no idea how to coach, which is a blessing, but I honestly can't see him lasting throughout next season

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
bartman said:
Jess, is Sean going to play in England? There are heaps of teams over here - Superleague plus three national divisions, and then something called the conference. I'm sure he'd get a run if he brought his boots with him!

sorry to bring back something so far back, unfortunatley mate, he's gone to england to work, not play, heath l'strange said that he lost all will for the game, which is stupid, he had enough talent to make some money out of this game.

wheels, sully, stranger, good god i am a curse :(

No curse Jess! Just throw some salt over your shoulder or something :)

We're talking about guys who put in week to week effort that takes its toll on their bodies. And they're not earning much $$$ to make up for it. So they're more likely than contracted first grade guys to look for other work options, or find it difficult to keep their league interest up...

Unfortunately it's the way things go in the game these days, compared to when players had to have a day job to make a living, and fitted in the training and games around that.

fish eel

Kemp is a git, a first class git who has no idea how to coach, which is a blessing, but I honestly can't see him lasting throughout next season

Its interesting.

Warriors punt their coach, have one win but are back to a rabble.....souths punt their coach, have a win, but whats to follow?

We stay rock solid behind smithy....have a nail biting win followed by a 50 point effort and all of a sudden we're buzzing and looking at beating brisbane :D