Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reasons why people dont watch League :)

Gav-bt

The latest reason why Rugby League is failing, from Bigfooty's resident knowbuggerall North Shore Manly supporting (Allegedly) dickhead.

i am convinced that if cronulla chose to go back to their traditional jumpers, as well as st george, souths, manly etc.. sales would hit the roof.
it was definitely good watching the cronulla sutherland sharks running around that game.

i also believe that the changing of the strips from year to year is a reason why so many fans do not wear their clubs colours to the games. at an afl game, your hard pressed finding anyone without their colours.
the NRL needs to stick to a jumper and run with it. im sure that if there was a guarantee that the jumper wouldnt change for 20 years, a lot more people would buy one, and thus wear it to the game.

Twenty years?
emdgust.gif

When you need a bit of comedy in your life, just mosey ondown to Bigfooty creek for the daily rant of their resident clown.

Eh Moff, I thought those North Shore types were well educated.

Not so Gav. I get exposure to them 2-3 times a week, they gave the perception of intelligence, the reality is something quite different a lot of the time :D

Was that Nicko or Briedis?? Probably Nicko im guessing. He is a goose, did u see when he tried using that GH alias but got caught out?? lol, i found it funny. We can only keep trying to educate these people on bigfooty. High volume website tho, i put up a thread about a collingwood player getting caught out having a flog in the car, and at last look, over 4,200 people had viewed it! (And thats in about 2 days). I heard it was ed and buckley lol

Moffo

Gav-bt

Moff, I must confess, I let that nicko get to me, I don't like arguing too much, but over there you just can't avoid it. I suppose I am letting out all my frustrations. I don't hate the bloke, I just think he's bloody wrong in almost everything he says.

I don't know anything about the GH alias, but someone called 'Zad' made a trolling appearance at totalrugbyleague.com soon after I gaveBriedis the address, the post had all the hallmarks of Nicko.

He's no friend of Rugby League!

MistyBee9-11

Hsad a quick look at that site, clicked on the Rugby ELague page, and saw nothing but stupid posts by moronic victorians. Some of the garbage that 'Joffaboy' posted re the Salary Cap would have made the average WRL post look like a thesis written by the president of MENSA!

My advice - steer away from that faecal sludge of a forum - and stick with the damn good one you have here (or come to www.ausiepub.com for a quick chat and schooner;))

Gav-bt

Ate least JOFFAOBOY is honest, you couldn't claim the same about nicko.......he's a total fraud.

"i also believe that the changing of the strips from year to year is a reason why so many fans do not wear their clubs colours to the games. at an afl game, your hard pressed finding anyone without their colours."

Is this joker's dickheadness a naturally occurring event or did he have to work on it?
2002_26_09crowd.jpg

S

SpaceMonkey

Oi, I live on the North Shore!!! But then again I get my brains from across the Tasman....

Gav-bt

Spacemonkey, you don't happen to live near this clown do you?

Willow, shove the Dragons in his face, I'm sure the north shore snob would love it, he lives in Dee Why, personally, I prefer North Curl Curl., it's slightly more upmarket. ;)

Re Post 6: Wheres Wally?(Or seeing its st george fans, perhaps the question should be, where isn't a wally??) :D

I dont mind it actually. We can only keep plugging away at the promotional side of league, it already draws quite a few lurkers, which i guess is the first sign of an interest. We got 4 times as many posts as the RU section, put it that way!

Cheers,
Moffo

L

legend

Misty Bee, I must say I am very impressed with Aussie Pub. You and The Vodka Circle have done an excellent job in creating a very social and entertaining forum. I havent signed up for the forums as yet but I am an active lurker.:)

M

Ms.Storm

Hi Gav
Have you noticed Nicho is keeping a bit quiet of late....? He's definately sitting back after some stinging attacks;)

He does make some outlandish statements and seems to revel in the fact when rugby league makes the headlines for the wrong reasons.

I am afraid I don't like that JoffaBoy at all.:(

Gav-bt

Hi Ms Storm,
I've missed all the fun you seem to have had at Nicko's expense. I am pretty sure that he is the 'Zad' character who trolls on totalrugbyleague. Zad likes to call our SL players overpaid, just like Nicko does. He doesn't seem to have much stomach for a fight over there though, he makes his post but doesn't come back to argue any points with the TRL forum heavyweights.

LoyalBulldog

WILLOW:
"i also believe that the changing of the strips from year to year is a reason why so many fans do not wear their clubs colours to the games. at an afl game, your hard pressed finding anyone without their colours."

Is this joker's dickheadness a naturally occurring event or did he have to work on it?
2002_26_09crowd.jpg

Please tell me you aren't that ignorant. He's right about that - go to an AFL match you'll find 75%+ of the crowd in club colours. League - you'll find the two teams supporter armies and scatterings around the ground equating to 50%- of the crowd. Sorry mate but that picture only tells a small story and you know it.

dog

"Please tell me you aren't that ignorant. He's right about that - "
WTF are you talking about Tim?
The picture paints the obligatory thousand words required and if you cant see that,I cant help you.

Are you promoting the half-arsed view that RL crowds are down because you decided to wear black at your last Bulldogs home game?

imported_bronco

I would've thought the picture was self explainitary, obviously not to some.

Back to the topic, I do to a certain degreeagree that all these jersey changes may effect merchandise sales. I for one wouldn't bother buying a Broncos jersey at present because I know they won't be wearing it in a year or two. I haven't brought a jersey since 1999 and now that ones out of date.
On the other hand you only have to look into the crowd at any game and you see plenty of people decked out in their clubs latest jerseys. Just look at willows picture and theres plenty of fans there in the Dragons latest away stripped strip.

The whole 'colours issue' is something that comes and goes. Saints supporters are now showing up in the red and white jersey. This wasnt the case beforehand.
The wearing of jerseys is a relatively new thing. Its looks great but decades ago, the idea was to wear a red shirt and bring along lots of red and white streamers.

Gav-bt

How does the changing of jerseys affect merchandise? You Aussies and Kiwis are still new to the concept of away jerseys and teams changing designs. Look at the situation in the SL were most teams are now changing both home and away kits every year. Does it affect the numbers who go out and but a jersey each year? Looking at SL crowds, I would argue that if anything it might encourage sales of team jerseys.

Our friend has obviously never seen the opening weekends of the EPL where the stands are a sea of red, white, blue or whatever colour the home team plays in, withtens of thousands of supporters wearing the club colours.

HappyRock001

Maybe league should keep a few of the incidents that are occurring under wraps like the other codes do....stories that unfold are big issues in league but if it happens in union or afl they dont really make an issue of it...with the Wayne Carey story the only exception.
Also Big Footy is really a afl site isnt it? I have been in there on the odd occassion but find this one has heaps more league info for us diehard supporters!

Gav-bt

Littlebunny, Bigfooty is indeed an AFL site, so much so that unless you post on the Aussie Rulesrelated forums, your number of posts isn't counted.

On the League keeping things under wraps argument, my opinion is, "any news is good news!". The Bulldogs newsgrabbed the attention of news organistationsWorldwide; the Carey incident got no mention in the UK.