Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Refereeing & Video Refs

Card Shark

What’s everyone’s thoughts on it so far?

I was in favour of a big crackdown on rule breaking last year but I must admit I’m as impressed with the standard of refereeing & bunker decisions this year as I can ever remember.

What was people’s thoughts on the last play in the Eagles & Dragons game, with the “escort” used to protect the winger under the bomb? I thought he got there first, so he’s entitled to be there, as long as he then doesn’t move.

It’s another wormhole about to open.

They HAVE to start getting blokes off tha tackles player in the good ball zone. They HAVE to start using the bin on the FIRST occasion.

They are losing control.

No wonder teams are struggling to score from inside the 20.

Weaponhead

The Dogs got away with murder in the ruck against Souths. Melbourne are going back to wrestlemania. Penrith laid all over us in the tackle.

Refs will need to get some control back in the ruck as coaches are all over any changes in interpretation.

The footy is better so far but they need to read the flow of the comp to keep the quality high.

I await the coach storming into video box, only to find Beau Scott.

Then the boot of his car.

Surely

What’s everyone’s thoughts on it so far?

I was in favour of a big crackdown on rule breaking last year but I must admit I’m as impressed with the standard of refereeing & bunker decisions this year as I can ever remember.

What was people’s thoughts on the last play in the Eagles & Dragons game, with the “escort” used to protect the winger under the bomb? I thought he got there first, so he’s entitled to be there, as long as he then doesn’t move.

I’m against the escort rule anyway, if the only way you can score is by putting up bombs then bad luck if you have to run around defenders to take the fullback out.

Card Shark

Good point.

They want to protect fullbacks & wingers but if they aren’t allowed to get any protection, they’ll get smashed when they land instead of in the air.

I’m against the escort rule anyway, if the only way you can score is by putting up bombs then bad luck if you have to run around defenders to take the fullback out.

Reasons why the escort rule is dumb

1) you can tackle an attacking playing in the air if he has caught the ball. Apparently it’s less dangerous than attacking a defending player.

2) you can run blocks (escorts) for kickers.

3) you stand next to the ruck in attack and just get in the way without retiring the 10.

4) you can stay on the field in bloodied clothes and drip blood everywhere unless someone subjectively decides there is too much blood. Well guess what geniuses, you only need a drop of blood to infect someone and the rule was introduced to try and avoid BBVs.

5) 2nd marker can stand as far as 3 metres behind the marker.

6) scrums

7) you can now get penalty tries for not being fast enough to get to the ball without contest

8) 40/20s. Always thought this was dumb. Why is a 40/20 better than a 30/30 or a 20/40. It’s just a 40+ metre kick that goes out. Should apply to all 40+ metre kicks that go out if it is such a great skill

9) Wrestling. Mega subjective approach in applying the greyest rules in the game. Just count them off. 1,2,3 penalty.

10) Cameron Smith

The point off the rant is the game is being run subjectively and illogically. The rules are so f**king millenial in that they try and account for every single, miniscule, possible scenario and you can’t.

Keary said last night that he doesn’t even know what the escort rule is and they should just make it that you can’t get in the way under any circumstance

That would make too much sense Luke

Good point.

They want to protect fullbacks & wingers but if they aren’t allowed to get any protection, they’ll get smashed when they land instead of in the air.

Which is maybe why the chasers should be made to stay 2 metres back or be offiside.

That would take the shitty bombs out of play altogether.

Of course in this modern, pc, fix everything with a rule world that would only apply to a diagonal kick from more than 30 metres out that doesn’t spiral, only goes 35 metres high, is not into the sun, lands 1.5 metres inside the field of play was kicked by a player with a single digit number wearing Nike Mercurial Superfly VI Elite boots, with no blood on his jersey, no FKL on his wristband and a proven blood alcohol level of 0.00 for 3 consecutive birthdays.

Cheese sandwich

Which is maybe why the chasers should be made to stay 2 metres back or be offiside.

That would take the shitty bombs out of play altogether.

Of course in this modern, pc, fix everything with a rule world that would only apply to a diagonal kick from more than 30 metres out that doesn’t spiral, only goes 35 metres high, is not into the sun, lands 1.5 metres inside the field of play was kicked by a player with a single digit number wearing Nike Mercurial Superfly VI Elite boots, with no blood on his jersey, no FKL on his wristband and a proven blood alcohol level of 0.00 for 3 consecutive birthdays.
What's wrong with that rule? Ray Charles could referee the game if they brought that in.

The 'shielders' should be permitted to physically defend the space of the defender attempting to take the bomb / field cross kick..

Imagine watching someone like the Flying Feki about to leap high as before him Doogs is swatting attackers like flies.

A short sharp right here, a swinging stiffy there. The clubs trainers could take up permanent positions at the four corners of the ground and on the ready.

It will be on. Can you feel it Toddy? I can.

The 'shielders' should be permitted to physically defend the space of the defender attempting to take the bomb / field cross kick..

Imagine watching someone like the Flying Feki about to leap high as before him Doogs is swatting attackers like flies.

A short sharp right here, a swinging stiffy there. The clubs trainers could take up permanent positions at the four corners of the ground and on the ready.

It will be on. Can you feel it Toddy? I can.

Quigs. The game’s greatest finker.

I like it

Quigs. The game’s greatest finker.

I like it

It would be like introducing some Yank Grid-Iron into the working mans game along with a bit of additional biffo.

It would certainly stop a few of those show pony wingers farting in church. There'd be a lot more Fathead Ferguson type of noses on display in the NRL.

It would be like introducing some Yank Grid-Iron into the working mans game along with a bit of additional biffo.

It would certainly stop a few of those show pony wingers farting in church. There'd be a lot more Fathead Ferguson type of noses on display in the NRL.

Remember when the Fathead nose was the norm?

I’m feenin’ for the old days now

Remember when the Fathead nose was the norm?

I’m feenin’ for the old days now

That and those Cauli ears.

Mate played for Dapto decades ago and he told me the story of an end of season trip. One of the blokes in the squad had a shocker of a broken nose. One that sprawled onto the one side of his face. Anyhowse ... end of season trip, all on the piss to parra levels. Bloke with bad nose flakes out.

One of the heathens goes into the dunny and does a number two and then returns with a smidgen of the said same number two. They get this bloke who is out to it and gets his nose and moves it up off his cheek and rubs the remains on the underside unexposed side of his nostril.

the mate said for two days the poor bloke kept complaining of smelling shit everwhere he went. Even his food. The rest of the blokes told him he was dreaming as they couldn't smell a thing.

Yeah I like the idea of more bent noses in the NRL.

Card Shark

Well I’ve changed my mind a bit after the conclusion of the Storm / Warriors game.

That penalty to gift the Storm the penalty goal to level the scores was a joke.

The Storm guy tried to play it way too quick & I doubt the refs had even called “held”.

It’s a worry for tomorrow’s game as we will be pinged for everything!

Cools & I will be there to make sure the refs know if they aren’t fair! ;)

Big Bloke

Well I’ve changed my mind a bit after the conclusion of the Storm / Warriors game.

That penalty to gift the Storm the penalty goal to level the scores was a joke.

The Storm guy tried to play it way too quick & I doubt the refs had even called “held”.

It’s a worry for tomorrow’s game as we will be pinged for everything!

Cools & I will be there to make sure the refs know if they aren’t fair! ;)

It was Cecchin though who gave the penalty and he’s the closest we have to a fair ref.

He’s proved himself to be the best ref and less likely to make square up calls.