Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Revelations give Knights members reason to care

Frederick

Revelations give Knights members reason to care
By ROBERT DILLON

THE five Newcastle Knights directors seeking re-election to the club's board are no doubt hoping that the majority of members submitted their votes long before picking up yesterday's edition of The Herald.

The biennial poll closes on Monday, and the new board will be announced two nights later at the club's annual general meeting.

Of the 3500 members, chances are most of those who intend to vote will have already done so, but for those who are waiting until the last minute, The Herald's revelations yesterday about the disintegration of the Knights-Wests Group joint venture should provide food for thought.

In a series of documents seen by The Herald, Wests chief executive Phil Gardner left no doubt about his opinion of the men responsible for running the city's footballing flagship.

In correspondence with Knights hierarchy, Gardner informed them directly that he believed they were guilty of "a lack of teamwork, buck-passing and a 'not my job' mentality, descending into petty back-biting".

He had also noted a "poisonous blame culture" and felt there was "open warfare between coaching staff and management".

Gardner's comments were the last thing Newcastle's incumbent directors needed in the countdown to an election.

After a year of turmoil, on and off the field, there were already questions being asked about the powers-that-be.

There have been issues aplenty in the past 12 months: the coup that removed former chairman Mike Tyler, the sacking and payout of chief executive Ken Conway, the cleanout of a host of long-serving local juniors, the Kirk Reynoldson affair, the collapse of the liaison with Wests and the announcement of a $1.3 million operating loss for 2007.

Just how all this impacts on voting remains to be seen.

Insiders say interest in this election, behind the scenes, has been less than overwhelming.

And Knights members have traditionally been indifferent to their club's financial position on the night of the annual general meeting.

A couple of years ago, for instance, questions from the floor referred to pressing issues such as the price of pies and the size of numbers on the scoreboard at EnergyAustralia Stadium.

At most Knights board elections, less than a third of the members eligible to vote actually do so.

But if Gardner's comments yesterday combined with a quick glance at the bottom line on the Knights' 2007 financial statement jolt the remaining two-thirds of members out of their apathy, then there is still time for a late rush to the ballot box.
LINK

Karmawave

What concerns me is these topics are the least responded threads in this forum.

I don't know if it is that people don't care, or don't like to face reality.

Would also be interested to know how many forum posters are Knights members, and if they have/intend to actually vote at all.

I can just imagine some of the members going down the list ticking blokes they know the names of without even looking into who best fits the club for the board.

macavity

have already voted, and filled dad's out for him too.

i tried to respond this morning and the computer ate my post.

long story short

apathy breeds irrelevance

and we as a voting mass are unfortunately irrelevant. those that do vote are largely voting on whether they recognise the name or not. the total lack of elucidation of positions certainly doesnt help people make an informed choice. if you read through the info sent with the ballots, all you would garner is all of the candidates want the knights to succeed. oh, and Corco thinks we are financially great just how we are.

some of the questions asked at AGMs show the absolute irrelevance of the members. we need a shake up. unfortunately the Arthurs and Beryls that make up the majority of the voting members aren't equipped to shake things up, and regardless don't want to do it.

We will continue floating along until something forces the hand. like insolvency.

Pika

Sad as this sounds, I pay zero attention that goes on in the board rooms etc.

Guess I just prefer to have my head in the sane regarding these issues.

Luke Hatherley

Karmawave said:

Would also be interested to know how many forum posters are Knights members, and if they have/intend to actually vote at all.

I can just imagine some of the members going down the list ticking blokes they know the names of without even looking into who best fits the club for the board.

Lack of information doesn't exactly help, Board Position descriptions aren't clear and you are left to wonder whether the incumbent did a poor job or if the new guy is any better.

I am unable to attend the AGMs but I am a paid member have been since I was able to(99), but are they really going to listen to me, I've sent emails asking for Board PDs to guage whether the person applying is suitable but have so far recieved no response.

Karmawave

Sorry to hear the lack of response Luke.

I have a feeling one of the reasons for that is because the current Knights set up as it stands really doesn't welcome ( or want ) change to how the board stands currently.

Karmawave

Also does anyone else notice that this forum always has a high number " viewing " but not all that much activity through actual posts given its comparison to the " viewing " numbers?

Often the Knights forum will have 20-24 people viewing but it seems like tumbleweed is blowing through here sometimes...

Luke Hatherley

Karmawave said:
Sorry to hear the lack of response Luke.

I have a feeling one of the reasons for that is because the current Knights set up as it stands really doesn't welcome ( or want ) change to how the board stands currently.
Well the less you know about what they do the less they can be held accountable for. The thing is though if they if they told the members what each individual board member is responsible for then maybe they would be cut a bit of slack as I'm sure it is a big task list for someone to take on.

Let me just say I thought the board did as well as expected considering the dramas of last year, but sometimes a change isn't a bad thing, only problem is the options for change probably aren't that much better.

We really need a strong figure head to take over this club and shake it up at board level. That should be priority number one and this should be another case of looking outside the Newcastle family once again.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

Karmawave said:

Probably because most peple don't understand what the hell the articles mean. I'll be the first to admit that things outside rugby league i'm dumb as dog sh*t with. Especially business and finances, all i know is that we had a loss of 1.3 million dollars and the board started blaming each other and not doing anything about it cuz they though it wasn't their problem. I'm too afraid to vote because I don't know anything about these guys and it's easier not to vote then vote and choose a trackhead. But that's just me.

antonius

There have been a lot threads on this subject in here over the years, and a lot of them became very heated. People care but I think it's the old apathy thing. Gardiner is correct our club is very amaturish in the way it's run, almost (as someone once posted in here) like the days when footy clubs ran chook raffles to raise money.

Hanscholo

Well i put it to the public of Newcastle who love to have a whinge in hindsight. If your concerned about the future of the Club, then make an effort. You should be voting.

I see one big problem with the election though, there is no group with an agenda that is wanting to put it forward for members to debate. Its the giant douche vs the turd sandwhich for the South Park fans. So in essence we will get more of the same or something we didnt want or didnt get to invest some thought into.

I think in the short term its up to the members to create the agenda via discussion in forums such as these and where neccessary outside. Perhaps even supporters groups pushing the agenda.

macavity

Hanscholo said:
Well i put it to the public of Newcastle who love to have a whinge in hindsight. If your concerned about the future of the Club, then make an effort. You should be voting.

I see one big problem with the election though, there is no group with an agenda that is wanting to put it forward for members to debate. Its the giant douche vs the turd sandwhich for the South Park fans. So in essence we will get more of the same or something we didnt want or didnt get to invest some thought into.

I think in the short term its up to the members to create the agenda via discussion in forums such as these and where neccessary outside. Perhaps even supporters groups pushing the agenda.

too dangerous, politically.

I think what we really need is candidates that actually tell us what they plan to do, instead of making sweeping motherhood statements.

I mean what is going to be different if we vote for, say, Allan McKeown instead of Helen the marriage celebrant?

All I can work out is the current guys think they are doing a great job, and Butts and Robbie Tew want to turn back the clock to when we swept everything under the carpet.

hardly inspiring stuff.

NthKnight

Karmawave said:
Also does anyone else notice that this forum always has a high number " viewing " but not all that much activity through actual posts given its comparison to the " viewing " numbers?

Often the Knights forum will have 20-24 people viewing but it seems like tumbleweed is blowing through here sometimes...

I think that "viewing" stat includes the Crusade and Knights Social Forums too which could give a false impressions of the numbers actually in here

Hanscholo

macavity said:
too dangerous, politically.

I think what we really need is candidates that actually tell us what they plan to do, instead of making sweeping motherhood statements.

I mean what is going to be different if we vote for, say, Allan McKeown instead of Helen the marriage celebrant?

All I can work out is the current guys think they are doing a great job, and Butts and Robbie Tew want to turn back the clock to when we swept everything under the carpet.

hardly inspiring stuff.

Problem is waiting for people to come forward with the skills, and the agenda is thirsty work at this club.

Other clubs that have a history of a political movement like the dogs for instance get a group of like minded and well qualified people and push them hard on a platform. They do all of the propoganda work needed within the member base and through that can make sweeping changes as we have seen recently.

That is what we need, but unless we as supporters start to want that kind of candidacy its not going to happen in the short term. I am willing to bet that a group standing for change without the backing of a strong supporter group would be cut to ribbons by fear mongering.

Imagine we had 4 people stand on a platform of trying to take the club into a public or private ownership model. It needs backing from the grass roots, and the best way i can see that happening is to get it some sort of consensus first within the supporter base then push some candidates.

You know the politics better than me in this area im sure, but sitting back and waiting for a group to appear with no backing I fear isnt going to happen.

macavity

don't get me wrong, would love a well organised group of professionals to make a run on a considered platform. hell, would be just as happy if the current mob enunciated some sort of plan and vision beyond "she'll be right mate, we are doing a bonza job".

i was solely referring to the Crusade with that statement. at this stage of our development we can't afford to be playing politics.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

Hanscholo said:

Who do I vote for? Wouldn't have a clue about any of them except Butts and Chief? It's easier not to vote.

Karmawave

Are you a member Knights Battler?

If you aren't you cant vote anyway.

If you are, you would have received a candidate information form with your voting form.

Serc

Karmawave said:

Mate if there were more posts in here some days I would have difficulty catching up after a long day! Very active forum I reckon.

Edit: Though I'm not a member it does not sound good enough that we have NFI about what the candidates want to see done with the club...no wonder the 'old boys' and names that people know seem to get in!