Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

#RiseForAlex R19 // Knights 8-22 Titans @ Hunter // Sun 2pm

Nuffy

The thing that annoys me the most is the fact that the place has (and it seems always will) be in need of an overhaul.

How do we fix it when we keep on needing to fix it every year?

One of the issues is Newcastle. I love the place more than most even though I don't live there anymore but it's so damn insular.

The average fan is more interested in where a player comes from than how he performs.

They want Mids as CEO rather than a proven sports administrator.

They would rather we run on a chook raffle basis rather than have a billionaire throw money at the joint.

The Herald spent 3 years tearing down the club and now they are bemoaning the fact that the joints a basket case.

I'm not sure the average Newcastle fan wants success at any costs, which is what is now required in the NRL.

Whats Doing

Bennett has hid behind star studded line ups all his coaching career.

His stint as Newcastle coach has shown he skills are not as good as everyone thought they were and his true ability brutally exposed.

He should go now as he is an embarrassment and has no interest in the side. His main priority is 2015 and has been for a while and needs to get out now before he well and truely fu%ks the place

Jobdog

In the presser this afternoon Bennett said "Maybe I'm too hard, maybe there are issues still there lingering in regards to what's happened to Alex so you'll have to ask them all individually because I don't intend to do that."

Is that something a coach should be saying?

Spot On

^ Hard to comment on without being part of the group. Who knows what's going on. But with the coach going there's little doubt a few of them are wondering more about the future, who's going, who's staying, who's going to be the coach, who's going to be the boss of the club etc, etc,etc.

History has shown this club falls to pieces under these circumstances and it has again.

Throw in the McKinnon tragedy and everything else that's happened this year and it's cluster f**k.

That said, it really was something to see McKinnon out there today. Really hope he gets through his situation and ends up walking his bride down the aisle. That would be something.

Jobdog

For sure mate, as I said earlier I'm not concerned we lost today.

Today was about the occasion more so than the result, but there were still a few interesting things being said in the presser post-game.

Alex28

In the presser this afternoon Bennett said "Maybe I'm too hard, maybe there are issues still there lingering in regards to what's happened to Alex so you'll have to ask them all individually because I don't intend to do that."

Is that something a coach should be saying?

Is he not going to ask because he doesn't particularly care anymore? His year is done - we aren't playing finals now. He can focus all of his energies on finding his next paycheck and leaving what should be a pretty good team playing like a rabble.

Knightmare

Winning two Premierships in 5 years was a blessing and a curse- too many people are still convinced it's only a matter of time until another Joey comes along and then all the years of underwhelming performances will be rectified. It's also a reflection on the town- as others have mentioned- even amongst our support base there's too many people who seem intent on hanging onto this insular, blue-collar, underdog image of the club in fear that we'll lose our "soul" if we move into the 21st century, change our administrative set-up or our funding model and hold players accountable for their worth in the squad instead of giving a free pass to anybody who "tries hard" or is a "local boy". Even the "Rise for Alex" song was (as pointed out on other threads) laughably similar to a Parker/ Stone parody song or some 90's cover band. But oh well- it was for a good cause and it was dedicated to one of our boys, so let's ignore the fact this was Newcastle's chance to advertise the team culture (and the town) to the NRL (and Aussie sport as a whole) and all that ensues is the old school bogan stereotype being further reinforced. I don't care if some people think it's blasphemous to criticise anything to do with #riseforalex- I'm sick of waiting for the team I care about to stop resting on past glories, move into the 21st century and give me any reason beyond habit to take the time out watching this team play.

I don't know whether this next point has to do with general form this past decade or the town's culture or both, but the Knights have not been a 'cool' team to support for at least a decade. Too many people are happy to keep wearing their old Knights truckers cap, their circa 2004 Best 'N Less red and blue supporters' jackets, wave their 1998 spec NRL team flag and keep hanging onto this idea that everything's ok and don't be negative about anything because it's "our boys" and they'll play for pride just because. Roosters fans have cool, modern looking supporter wear and classy logo stickers for their fans to display. Souths have managed to stay true to one of the most awkward colour schemes in the comp while turning out some of the smartest, most up to date merchandise and supporter wear. You can wear the gear of those teams and look reasonably up-to-date and socially acceptable. Most Knights gear outside of game day (and attending the game at that) would only be worn by the "YAY GIDLEY!" fan boys or the UFC shirt brigade.

The club should be paying as much attention to its' marketing department in the next 6 months as their coaching department...

Rod

Well what to say that hasn't been already. We have always had insipid games like that in us under Bennett but to think we produced one today was incredibly disappointing.

When we play like that it staggers me how ridiculous we look on attack. Our play-the-balls are so slow it's almost comical. We have absolutely no momentum and therefore no sort of backpeddling defensive line. Some of that is tacklers holding down of course but once we got a few penalties for ruck infringements in the first half of course the refs put their whistles away as we can't have a lopsided count can we :roll:. Refs were minor issue though I know, it's days like today you can fully understand what some blokes are talking about on here when they bring up our ineptitude in the wrestle.

Defensively we were hopeless and a decent team would have put a lot more points on us, we're lucky it was just the Titans TBH. So many pathetic arm-grabs and offloads allowed.

Just really disappointing. I guess no matter what we say the players will be feeling pretty embarrassed (well I hope they are).

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Yep, they were around the squad back in the Johns days too. My uncle used to work for the Newcastle police dept and he told me once that I'd be shocked the amount of stuff Knights players got up to during that era that was swept under the rug. I know the club has been trying in the past few years to change the culture but it's hard when it's so ingrained. Doesn't help that club legends that carried on that way are hailed as Gods by the fans. I mean I thought Brian Smith had cleaned it up a lot but we later found out we had blokes f**king trafficking drugs under his nose. I honestly don't know anyone we could bring in to change the culture. We need an overhaul and Stoney isn't our man. I wouldn't be against us going hard for Potter. He certainly managed to clean out the shit culture that Benji allegedly brought to the Tigers.

This kind of role shouldnt be left to the coach, their position is so unstable they would never be able to change the club culture with the players against them. If you want change, you need a strong CEO and a board that will back him no matter how bad the backlash is...

A few years ago, you would have said the same about the "Boys Club" culture in boardrooms being way too hard to shift. But that is already going away, thanks to a united Commission that will not bow to pressure, because together they have all the power.

If someone WANTS to change a culture within a business, but decides not to, it will be because they fear losing their job (then they wouldnt be able to do anything anyway). A good CEO, backed by a board that agrees this kind of change is needed, is how the Knights can change this culture...

If indeed Koukash has intentions to buy this club he needs to make sure he is very visible and that the players know he is the boss and pays their wages. By that it means he can hire and fire at will and with the money he has, paying out a player or coach who doesn't aim up will not be an issue. He can define the culture because it starts and ends with him. Like it or not leaders define cultures by deciding what is and is not acceptable. Koukash seems to be a man who does not tolerate stupidity or people who don't have a dig.

Misanthrope

One of the issues is Newcastle. I love the place more than most even though I don't live there anymore but it's so damn insular.

The average fan is more interested in where a player comes from than how he performs.

They want Mids as CEO rather than a proven sports administrator.

They would rather we run on a chook raffle basis rather than have a billionaire throw money at the joint.

The Herald spent 3 years tearing down the club and now they are bemoaning the fact that the joints a basket case.

I'm not sure the average Newcastle fan wants success at any costs, which is what is now required in the NRL.

I agree with all of the above. A big part of the issue is Newcastle.

For sure mate, as I said earlier I'm not concerned we lost today.

Today was about the occasion more so than the result, but there were still a few interesting things being said in the presser post-game.

It's concerning because if ever there was a day where the side should have been able to put aside their differences or gripes or concerns and just give their all - it was today.

If we can't get up for something as huge as #riseforalex, it makes you worry about the mindset of the team.

A loss isn't the issue - a dismal, weak, and ineffective performance is.

Tom155

Travis Meyn ‏@travismeyn 9h
Darius Boyd concussion test: Doc "how are you feeling?". Darius: "Are you serious? You're going to hammer me with questions?". #NRLnewgld

Noname36

This kind of role shouldnt be left to the coach, their position is so unstable they would never be able to change the club culture with the players against them. If you want change, you need a strong CEO and a board that will back him no matter how bad the backlash is...

A few years ago, you would have said the same about the "Boys Club" culture in boardrooms being way too hard to shift. But that is already going away, thanks to a united Commission that will not bow to pressure, because together they have all the power.

If someone WANTS to change a culture within a business, but decides not to, it will be because they fear losing their job (then they wouldnt be able to do anything anyway). A good CEO, backed by a board that agrees this kind of change is needed, is how the Knights can change this culture...

I agree, but that wasn't really what I was getting at though. It does usually fall on the coach to clean the players out that may be contributing to the poor culture. You can absolutely guarantee that unless it's a straight out sackable offence a club's board won't try and move players on without at least a bit of blessing from the coach.

That's what I was getting at...we need a coach that's going to come in fresh and move on any players that are contributing to the bad culture.

We obviously need to wipe it from the administration level too but I certainly don't think we should be hiring "one of the boys" to coach them either.