Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RL independence day arrives - NRL Independent Commission announced for November 1

Paul J

Sadly, our IC will not get anywhere near that model whilst ever News LTD keep on wheeling and dealing in their own interests.

They will continue to bleed our game dry even under a new structure. It just won't be as obvious as it is now.

Just having a chuckle at the title of this thread :lol:RL independence day arrives - NRL Independent Commission announced for :lol:November 1:lol:

My understanding Brutus, is that the IC will completely remove NEWs from ownership of the game, which is reason enough to go ahead with it.

The fact it will grow the game nationally is just a huge bonus.

Surely not, you mean like an ex lawyer and general News stooge automatically getting the CEO job? No that would never happen under an independent set up!

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ould-take-shape-next-week-20100831-14fmd.html

Commission could take shape next week
Brad Walter
September 1, 2010

THE first commissioners for rugby league's new independent body could be appointed as soon as next week, with officials involved in the negotiations confident they are on track to meet the November 1 deadline.

With just two months today until the independent commission is due to take over the running of the game, there have been concerns that time was running out for the parties involved to reach agreement.

But behind-the-scenes discussions between the key stakeholders has created optimism that developments will accelerate quickly after tomorrow's meeting of the ARL board.

The key to how soon developments occur is the QRL, as the NSWRL, News Ltd and the NRL clubs are now in agreement on the model for the independent commission.

Under the proposal they have agreed to, the 16 clubs, the NSWRL and the QRL would each have one of 18 votes - although they would only be able to remove commissioners, not appoint them. Instead, the eight commissioners would decide on the replacements for any departing colleagues.

Until now, the QRL has been campaigning for a college of 48 votes - one each for the 16 clubs, eight for both state bodies and two for each of the eight commissioners.

But with the other parties - including News Ltd - steadfastly opposed, officials hope that the four QRL directors on the ARL board will tomorrow endorse the 18-vote model.

While the NSWRL holds the balance of power on the ARL board by a 6-4 majority, both states have just one vote on constitutional matters and 75 per cent support is needed for any motion to be passed. If the NSWRL and QRL reach agreement, representatives of the ARL, News and the NRL restructure committee, headed by Gold Coast chief executive Michael Searle, are expected to meet next week to begin choosing the first commissioners.

It is understood a number of compromises have been made by each of the parties to get negotiations to the stage they are and the QRL remains the only obstacle to News handing back control of the game.

NSWRL general manager Geoff Carr said yesterday that he was confident progress would be made at tomorrow's ARL board meeting.

''Every time we meet we have to keep moving forward on this,'' Carr said. ''Everyone is still working towards November 1 and Thursday's meeting is where we hope progress will be made.''

Paul J

http://www.rleague.com/db/article.php?id=37545

From rleague.com

Very interesting...

IF the Queensland Rugby League continues to block the Independent Commission, News Limited has an ace up its sleeve. An endgame.

It will simply give the 16 NRL clubs its share of the game for nothing - and let them overthrow the ARL administration. That's what I've been told. With all the players contracted to the clubs, it would be a very short battle for control of the game in Australia.

It's something the ARL board should bear in mind when it meets tomorrow to continue discussions. Thankfully, we have read in the last couple of the days, it looks like News won't be forced to enact such a dramatic and divisive manoeuvre.

The Sydney Morning Herald today reports that the identity of some commissioners could be known as soon as next week and that we are on track for a November 1 handover.

With television negotiations to begin in the summer and expansion bidders waiting in the wings to learn their fate for 2013, we really can't afford to wait any longer.

Steyger

Your wish is my command. :D

LOL. Collingwood have 57k "match day members" meaning that there are 57k people who are members that can gain entry to a home game. Of course all of those members will not turn up to any individual game. It's not rocket science is it ?? Fair dinkum. That said, Collingwood averaged 59k a game in 2010 which in anyone's language, is a fine effort.

Coaster

LOL. Collingwood have 57k "match day members" meaning that there are 57k people who are members that can gain entry to a home game. Of course all of those members will not turn up to any individual game. It's not rocket science is it ?? Fair dinkum. That said, Collingwood averaged 59k a game in 2010 which in anyone's language, is a fine effort.

How many teeth?

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...s-for-november-1/story-e6frexnr-1225913054080

Commission aims for November 1

* By Dean Ritchie
* September 02, 2010 12:00AM

RUGBY league's desired Independent Commission will move another small yet significant step to reality at an ARL board meeting today.

Directors from Queensland and NSW rugby league governing bodies will meet in Sydney for further talks about having the commission ready and started in just eight weeks - on November 1.

Final approval will not be reached today but progress will be made, according to ARL chief executive Geoff Carr.

"We know the time line that has been set and we are working toward that," Carr said last night.

"We have to make further progress [today] and we have to keep pushing forward.

"But there is still a fair bit of legal work to get through."

There were reports last night that the search for rugby league's eight commissioners could in fact start as early as next week.

But Carr denied this, saying: "That won't happen. We will be discussing the principles of setting up a commission.

"There are still the nuts and bolts we have to agree on."

The QRL has been in talks with News Ltd and the NRL clubs about finalising the commission on November 1.

"That is our desired date - that is the date everyone is talking about," Carr said. "There is an expectation of progress being made at the meeting."

Once established the greatest challenge for the new commission will be finding eight commissioners who are genuinely independent and not aligned to any club.

Goddo

I see Dean Ritchie read and rehashed yesterdays SMH... bit disapointing, he is the only jurno at the Telegraph that is any good.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ew-league-commission-plan-20100902-14ri4.html

ARL backs new league commission plan
September 2, 2010 - 7:17PM

The ARL has thrown its support behind plans to set up an independent commission to run and administer rugby league in Australia.

The ARL board met on Thursday where it was revealed plans for a draft of the new constitution, which will be required for the new structure, are already being prepared.

"A substantial amount of the detail to be included in that constitution and surrounding documentation was also resolved today," ARL CEO Geoff Carr said in a statment released on Thursday night.

"While there is still a lot of detail to be worked through, everyone is working towards the date of the November 1, 2010, as the most convenient date for the restructure to occur."

AAP

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...n-up-for-leagues-new-body-20100902-14rqx.html

Constitution drawn up for league's new body
Brad Walter
September 3, 2010

A CONSTITUTION for the new independent commission is close to being finalised as the pace accelerates for a handover by the ARL and News Ltd on November 1.

The revelation follows an ARL board meeting yesterday in which directors voted for a 26-member model commission to take over the running of the game. The new body will be known as the Australian Rugby League Commission and comprise of the 16 clubs, the NSWRL, the QRL and eight independent commissioners. A further meeting of the ARL board will be called in coming weeks to change the existing constitution of the league once the new constitution is drafted.

To do so will require the QRL and NSWRL both agreeing as the states have one vote each on constitutional matters and a 75 per cent majority is required. However, QRL directors now appear ready to support the 26-member model after initially wanting a college of 48 votes, which would involve the 16 clubs each having one vote, the two state bodies having eight votes each and the eight commissioners having two votes each.

With News Ltd and the ARL, the partners in the NRL, both in agreement, the establishment of the independent commission would now seem a mere formality.

It is believed the breakthrough came after a series of behind-the-scenes meeting between a sub-committee of NRL club chairmen - comprising Wests Tigers chairman David Trodden, Souths Sydney's Nicholas Pappas, Manly's Scott Penn and Brisbane's Daryl Sommerville - and QRL directors Bruce Hatcher and Terry Mackenroth.

The Herald was also told last night work on the new constitution had begun some time ago and it was close to being finalised.

Talks about the identity of the eight independent commissioners are likely to start soon, while lawyers work behind the scenes to begin transferring television deals, sponsorship deals and stadium deals from the NRL to the new body.

The NRL will then be wound up and the ARL Commission will take over the running of the game on November 1.

Meantime, a year older and wiser, the Gold Coast will be out to ditch their ''chokers'' tag on a night that won't just test the Titans' mettle.

The stakes may be higher for arch rivals Brisbane as they try to extend an amazing run of 18 straight finals campaigns with a big win over fellow top-eight hopefuls Canberra at Suncorp Stadium tonight.

But the fourth-placed Titans will be out to achieve more than a home NRL final when they line up against another top-four aspirant in the second-placed Wests Tigers at Skilled Park on the same night.

For the second straight year the Titans are finals bound - and for the second straight year their mental strength has been called into question. Alarm bells were ringing after the Titans' 2009 finals crash followed their spectacular 2008 season freefall.

And they weren't getting any quieter when the Titans were upset by the lowly Sharks last round with a finals tilt in sight. But Titans coach John Cartwright believed the heartache of the past had only steeled his side as it looked to silence the critics.

Asked if his side was mentally stronger, Cartwright said: ''I think so. The intensity has picked up. We would like a top-four spot secured, but that's in our hands. We don't have any excuses.''

Former Test forward Anthony Laffranchi - who returns from a shoulder injury to replace Luke Bailey (thumb) in the front row - was more forthright. ''We had some pretty good form coming into the finals last year and bowed out in straight sets,'' he said. ''We got that taste of defeat which is hard to swallow at that time of year. We are probably in a better mental state this time around.'' And they will want to have their heads right. The Titans will be tested on an emotional night that will also be retiring dual international Mat Rogers's final regular season home game.Wests Tigers skipper Robbie Farah was looking well beyond a top-four finish. ''I thought from the start of the season we can win the comp and my opinion hasn't changed,'' he said.

with AAP

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-plans-to-lead-commission-20100904-14v7i.html

'I'm staying put' - Gallop plans to lead commission Josh Rakic

September 5, 2010
The NRL CEO tells Josh Rakic that he is determined to continue as head of the game.
Independent commission or not, NRL chief executive David Gallop has no intention of relinquishing his position as the game's top administrator and plans to assume an Andrew Demetriou-like role once the much-vaunted commission is established.

Speaking openly for the first time about his aspirations for season 2011 and beyond - by which time the commission is expected to be up and running - Gallop said the new governing body would operate in a similar fashion to that of the AFL and he intended to lead it.
''I envisage I'll be the chief executive of the new structure,'' a jovial and candid Gallop told The Sun-Herald. ''The same role I'm in now. In the AFL system, [AFL chief executive] Andrew Demetriou is actually one of the commissioners too, but I'm not sure how that's proposed under our structure. The structure will be quite similar, I think.

''If they [Queensland Rugby League] or anyone else has an issue with my involvement, well, they'll have to work that out. I'm staying.''
Having overseen the game's most prosperous period - record crowd attendances, television audiences and commercial sponsorship - Gallop denied criticism that he couldn't serve on the commission given his working relationship with the game's current owners, News Ltd.
''The most debilitating part of rugby league is the long-held grudges and personal agendas that dominate what should be rational discussion on issues,'' he said. ''The 'family back home' analogy is a good one because I think the other thing that happens in rugby league is that most of the issues are actually only interesting inside your family.
''And so stuff gets written and you read it and you think, there's only about 50 people in the world who actually care about that and there's literally thousands who just love their team and want to follow the footy. They don't care about politics.
''The key part of the independent commission in my view is that people who hold key positions within clubs shouldn't be on the board, the governing body of the game.
''To me, that's the aspect of independence that's most important. Because it's very difficult to sit in judgment of a salary cap breach at a club when someone from that club is on the board of the game. We've had that in the past and it does make it difficult. I certainly don't have any alliance to any of the 16 clubs.''

While he fully intends to be involved in the commission, out of respect and professionalism Gallop has played no part in its coming about.
''I don't tend to go to the ARL meetings when they're talking about this particular issue.
''The key stakeholders in the game have indicated that they want me to have a role in the commission going forward so it's easier if I'm not part of the actual negotiations.
''But I think it's really important that the make-up of the new structure is a mixture of people with hard-core footy experience and experience with the business of footy, mixed with people who've got experience from other parts of the community that you can pull down on when particular issues come up.
''You also need someone who's actually making decisions and I've tried to get that balance right over the years. I'm a big believer in the 16 clubs as a forum but also, as one leading player agent likes to say to me, someone's got to drive the bus and make some decisions. And that's important.''

Gallop - still just 45 years old - defended the much-maligned process of developing the new structure, arguing it was a complex journey.
''It will definitely happen and it will be a good thing but it's fundamentally more complicated than some people realise because you're not merging two banks where the two businesses are very similar and able to assimilate easily.
''You're actually taking a massive amateur, grassroots organisation that's pretty loose and you're merging that with a fully professional business.
''And putting it under one structure, that's not like a merger in the business community, that's a merger with massive complications attached to it.
''It's actually made more progress than I thought it would a few months ago because there's an underlying realisation that it is the right thing for everyone to be working towards.''

Despite unprecedented criticism of Gallop for the NRL's handling of the Melbourne Storm salary cap rort, the delay in creating a commission and the Bulldogs betting scandal, he insisted the job was as rewarding as ever and he had never thought about walking away from the game he has led since 2002.
''Every year has its own set of challenges but I think one of the reasons the game's had such massive growth in crowds, membership, participation at junior level, sponsorship and licensing is not only the freakish talent of our players and the closeness of the competition, but the fact that when a hard issue comes along you deal with it appropriately. You're never going to please everyone and that's a part of the job, any job, that I've understood since day one.
''If you talk about job satisfaction, then seeing the product on the field, the closeness of the competition, the commercial growth - all of those things are important. But also, I get job satisfaction from dealing with the hard issues appropriately. That all makes it worthwhile. I'm still loving it. I still love watching the footy, too.''

I thought Independent is not just supposed to mean independent from individual clubs, but most importantly having no affiliation with News Limited. Would that be too much to ask for?

Goddo

I don't mind the Gallop puppet remaining in place, so long as the people pulling his strings have rugby league at heart, and no hidden agendas.

applesauce

''The same role I'm in now. In the AFL system, [AFL chief executive] Andrew Demetriou is actually one of the commissioners too, but I'm not sure how that's proposed under our structure. The structure will be quite similar, I think.

WTF! Get rid of this bloke now!

Oh dear. Independent? How indepenent is this body going to be when the News Ltd puppet is telling them he WILL be CEO even before it's been put in place?