Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RLW Comment - Sharks Defense

Qld-Sharkie

Now I know alot of people dont rate "The Mole's" page but in this weeks RLW he comments that the Sharks have hit a wall since David Gillespie was forced to quit as defensive coach due to work commitments.

Against the bunnies we let in some really soft tries. Our attack is inept, our defense on the slide....is it deja-vu all over again.

No one has mentioned anything about cement leaving. Is this a surprise to forumites? :crazy:

First I've heard of him leaving, but I still don't see how everything learnt over the past 6 months can suddenly go missing from people's brains just because the person who taught it has gone elsewhere.

Nullajet

Based on what I saw of the 'soft' tries we let in and relating it to Cement leaving..one can only assume that Dykes had previously been miked up to Gillespie to tell him where to stand and when to move up in the defensive line....go figure!!!

Qld-Sharkie

Nullajet said:
Based on what I saw of the 'soft' tries we let in and relating it to Cement leaving..one can only assume that Dykes had previously been miked up to Gillespie to tell him where to stand and when to move up in the defensive line....go figure!!!

Yeah Dykes was the only one to miss tackles last week...

Tackles Misses
Anderson 7 3
Covell 4 3
Dykes 9 5
Ciraldo 16 4

Go figure !!!

spider

Yeah Dykes was the only one to miss tackles last week...
2 of his misses were bad - they also resulted in tries

no one disputed he was the only person too miss a tackle

spider said:

Isn't that left side where Gallen usually defends?

To be fair one was a fuggen disgrace of a forward pass that Bean should of pulled up...not that Dykes would of got him anyway.

Qld-Sharkie

spider said:

Agree he was woeful, his misses probably stuck out more due to the tries.
But our defence has been averaging 8-12 points per match (Someone correct me if Iam wrong, my intenet is worse than dial up at the moment otherwise I would verify it) is it the same? Or has it increased or decreased over the past few weeks?

Maybe its just me.... and Iam getting the 10 week loss jitters.

spider

carch - your right mate

it was that one as well - too which i did at first jump up and throw stubby cooler at the ref on my tv

spider

Qld-Sharkie said:
Agree he was woeful, his misses probably stuck out more due to the tries.
But our defence has been averaging 8-12 points per match (Someone correct me if Iam wrong, my intenet is worse than dial up at the moment otherwise I would verify it) is it the same? Or has it increased or decreased over the past few weeks?

Maybe its just me.... and Iam getting the 10 week loss jitters.
last 5 rounds we have averaged 16 - 17 points against us per game

Chest Pain

First posted by QLD-Sharkie
Now I know alot of people dont rate "The Mole's" page but in this weeks RLW he comments that the Sharks have hit a wall since David Gillespie was forced to quit as defensive coach due to work commitments.

Maybe the same sort of thing last year at the beginning of our losing streak, ET's involement finished up about the same time. See Thread on ET Interview.

Nullajet

The asotasi try looked fwd pass at first watch..and it almost looked as though Dykes 'stopped' expecting it to be called...ya cant do that!! Mind you he had already gone up to quick and too far apart from his fellow defender to have made a diff.....but in replay I reckon it was flat pass..

Dykes was caught out creating a hole that should ot have been there twice and they lead to tries..they weren't missed tackles in the classic way in that he didnt even get a hand on the oppponent.....but make no mistake he was responsible

Nullajet said:
The asotasi try looked fwd pass at first watch..and it almost looked as though Dykes 'stopped' expecting it to be called...ya cant do that!! Mind you he had already gone up to quick and too far apart from his fellow defender to have made a diff.....but in replay I reckon it was flat pass..

Dykes was caught out creating a hole that should ot have been there twice and they lead to tries..they weren't missed tackles in the classic way in that he didnt even get a hand on the oppponent.....but make no mistake he was responsible
It looked like his leg gave way as he tried to turn as well.

I like Dykes but him going to the UK is a good thing if his leg is doing what I think it is.

Chondricthyes

carcharias said:
It looked like his leg gave way as he tried to turn as well.

I like Dykes but him going to the UK is a good thing if his leg is doing what I think it is.

It amzes me that people on here, even people who seem to be quite knowledgable , thought Dykes was the answer in our halves.

He just gets too injured and when he's injured he plays like crap. Its like having a bloke off for a sin bin with the hole he creates.

His injured attack COULD NEVER make up for his NON EXISTANT injured defense..never.

He has been injured since PRE SEASON FFS!

It was dead obvious last year and I've been saying it all this year.

Greater minds than mine were seemingly blind to this , but not anymore...