Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robert Mears

Gus22

Gobbso said:
Gus22 said:
Is Mears fit?

He looks overweight to me.
I don't recall him looking as podgy in previous years as he currently does.

Is it just my perception or has anyone else thought along these lines?

He's one of the fittest in the team Gus. He put on some much needed size in the off-season and so far, has continued to maintain it. Apart from Rex Wright floggin him at training throughout the week, Mearsy also plays oztag in the Liverpool Competition at Wattle Grove. He just loves the game. In my opinion he is the best hooker in the club at this moment in time. I'm glad Sheens hasn't dropped him just because Hollywood is back. Mears has been in superb form for Wests Tigers since returning from injury.

In my opinion the trimmer version was more effective - scoots out of DH generally seemed a lot quicker. I thought last year he was the best hooker at the club, not so this year (so far anyway).

His form has been solid but hardly superb. Not much between he & Senter at the moment & I agree with others that a choice needs to be made between the two (or Farah), as two rakes is a luxury we can't afford.

braz

i agree that mears has not been at his best since returning.

i think his service is fine but his dashes from dummy half don't seem as effective.

shame to see senter reverted back to his two penalties a game routine on sunday. i thought we had seen the last of that.

gr8_1

Everyone has different views. I guess thats part of the beauty of footy. Some people see games differently than others. I guess its just an opinion.

I still think Mears has been good this year without been flash.

Gobbso

Snide the Tiger said:
Gobbsy - get your black and white glasses off mate!!!

Just because he plays PL for the Maggies does not make him the champion you describe!!!!

Mate he could be playing for Cronulla's Premier League side, and i'd still rate him. I always have rated him. Apart from Cherry Mescia in my opinion he's always been one of the best hooker's i've seen. Him playing for the Tigers is an added bonus. As i said that's my opinion. It's like how some people rate Kimmorely, some people don't. "Opinion's are like arseholes...everyone's got one".

Tap Twist Snap

I don't know what game people were watching on the weekend but we went heaps better when Mears was at hooker.. the halves got the ball quickly which in turn got it out to the backs which has been a huge problem. Some of his runs wern't the best and he doesn't make a huge amount of meters once tackled. However they are timed heaps better than Darrens runs and his passing is game is 100 times better. There is no way that he deserves to be on the bench this week compared to Senter. But thats the way it is going to be until next season when Farah will be starting hooker and all will be solved.

Mears form is ok,but he is still in front of Senter for the 9 jumper in my opinion.

Blocker Shaw

those of u bagging mears must have rocks in your heads. one only needed to see the raiders game to see the difference someone that can pass well from dummy half can make. when were the tigers at their best? in the first 30 and last 10. and funnily enough this was when mears was on the field. as soon as senter came on he almost instantly let canberra back in the game, with a stupid forward pass when we on attack. and then backed that up by giving away an even more stupid penalty with a minute remaining. i feel that had either of these events not happened the tigers win by 30+.

sure, not all the momentum made by the forwards can be traced back to the hooker, but we sure lacked any menace or threat going forward when mears was off. and it was the same forwards playing under senter as mears.

and i dont mean to bag senter either. as a balmain fan for the past 15 years i know the qualities that darren has. unfortunately it is some of these qualities which should be keeping him out of the top 17.

but u also have to remmeber that if he was dropped to premiers, darren may well take hooker, which means farah would either have to play nrl or a compromise would have to be made. although darren could play 2nd row too i guess..