Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rogers

beekershark

Great point Aries.

Deano is sitting around at home. A few thou sign on and match payments would probably do it.

Quint

I edited this post as I know what point I want to get across but don't now how to go about it without offending some here.....
Better to keep the peace Me thinks

Shark

Personally I reckon Mat has all the money he'll ever need, and has enough earning capacity to remain very comfortable for the rest of his life EVEN IF he never plays another game of footy ever again.

So, if he came back to us, it would be for the good of the club and a personal desire to see the club get back on track.

Still, I agree that Union will not let him go easily.

Mat and Deano. 2 shire kids who grew up in the cradle of our club. Back playing for us, tiny pay cheques but plenty of fun and glory.

Pinch me, I'm dreaming...

According to his biography Matt would be the first to cheer if the Sharks won the comp, a lot of his mates are still around the club. So he's still got a soft spot for the club. Winning the comp with the Sharks was something he didn't get to acheive.

I'm pretty sure at this stage of his career challenges would be more important than money. What's the most challenging thing he could acheive?

1)Waiting around for 4 years, to win a Rugby World Cup? (He might be too old by then)
2) Win a comp with the Sharks.
3) Super 12 win with the Waratahs
4) Bledisloe Cup/Tri Nations

beekershark

it's no secret that mat rogers is a good mate of Ryan McGoldricks, they were thick as thieves during ryans time at the tah tahs and mat seemed very keen to encourage ryan back to the sharks.

I agree with Shark here, i think mats motives these days are more sincere than $$$. he wouldnt be the first union convert to yearn league. blacklock obviously, zuess, andrew walker, and talk that lote is also very close to a deal back at the broncs.

imasharkie

beekershark said:
it's no secret that mat rogers is a good mate of Ryan McGoldricks, they were thick as thieves during ryans time at the tah tahs and mat seemed very keen to encourage ryan back to the sharks.
]

Now I know why McGoldie holds his spot in the 1sts because being a mate of Matty's he gets to become a mate of Stuey's geez I hope this is not another CA and JA thing. I can't beleive he's holding down the centre spot in front of Kent.

Special K

Kent is only just back from injury :?

Mcgoldy has been solid in his time and shouldn't be dropped.

Quint

ShireShark said:
:? i think it means that at least one of the people on here personally knows mat rogers

No shit Sherlock :lol: ,I thought Jimbo may have been taking the piss outa me,hard to tell when the words are typed not spoken

beekershark

As highlighted in another new threadm Rogers has given some pretty clear indications in his column today of his return next season.

Well seeing that people have the good oil on Rogers.
Does his decision depend on being granted a certain playing position on the team?

DJDL

I'd have him back in a flash. But I don't think anyone is worth more than about $250 in this day and age.

Play him at fullback. This should be Peach's last year

cheese

if he comes back ......anywhere BUT the wing......... langys greatest mistake was letting that genius bake on the wing for all those years...

preferable 5/8 or fullback .....depends where our greatest weakness is though i spose ......could be a great centre too ...he's certainly got the bloodline

beekershark

I don't know of anything set in concrete yet cheese, Infact I think it's pretty much as Rogers himself wrote in his column.

It's going to be expensive to sign him, let's be honest, that's why i proposed last for us fans to post what we thought was a worthy price to pay him per year.

realistically he would be commanding a salary that is top 10 % in the nrl , being a wallaby etc etc, so pay wise he would be in a list of such names as :-

lockyer
tallis
fittler
kimmorley
barrett
Gower
etc etc

Elite level is what im getting at, the club needs to decide if they can afford him and if he's worth it to the club.

I say yes and yes to those questions personally.

He shares the same level of passion for the club as deano, ET etc and is sick when they lose.

I guess that if the terms were right, reading what rogers said today, then he is 90 % certain of being a shark again next season