Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rooney Stays with Penrith.

Pantherjim.

Mar 11 - Luke Rooney has agreed to remain with Penrith until at least the end of season 2008.

“This is great news for the club,” Michael Leary, General Manager of Rugby League Operations at Panthers said today. “Not only is he one of the finest wingers in the game today, he is also an essential part of our plans to go forward over the next few years.

“We are gradually welding all the links in the chain.

“With Luke Lewis having already signed, and Craig Gower letting us know that he intends to remain with the club for life, we are confident of keeping together a team that will only get better.”

Rooney, 22, a Penrith junior (St Dominic’s), made his first grade debut for Penrith in 2001.

He has played in five Tests, three Origin matches for NSW and for City. He scored two tries in Penrith’s 2003 Grand Final win and is one of the surest players under the high ball.

Asked what had made him decide to stay, Luke said: "I've never really wanted to go anywhere else - I like being in Penrith and playing with my mates.

"I'm heaps happy here and just looking forward to another good season. I can't wait."

Source: http://www.panthers.com.au/

Fantastic! Good Onya Luke! Of course being a former Dom's boy myself I never doubted your loyalty. You can take the boy out of Penrith, but you can't take Penrith out of the boy!

Pantherjim.

Pantherjim.

lyon is a saint said:
describe rooney in 2 word's = over rated
:iwstupid:

Describe your Player Analysis in a single phrase: "Jealous of N.R.L clubs because their stars choose to be loyal, stay with their junior clubs and play with PRIDE and PASSION."

Something that your cashed up Pommie club could never replicate no matter how many players it poached from the N.R.L.

Develop your own juniors for f*cksake, and get back to me in the not so distant future when you've developed some intelligence and a real appreciation for the code. :roll:

Pantherjim.

Munky

Pantherjim. said:
lyon is a saint said:
:iwstupid:

Describe your Player Analysis in a single phrase: "Jealous of N.R.L clubs because their stars choose to be loyal, stay with their junior clubs and play with PRIDE and PASSION."

Something that your cashed up Pommie club could never replicate no matter how many players it poached from the N.R.L.

Develop your own juniors for f*cksake, and get back to me in the not so distant future when you've developed some intelligence and a real appreciation for the code. :roll:

Pantherjim.

Absolutely owned!

AdamH

sparkeel said:
Pity he won't be staying in the NSW and Australian team this year ;-)

Dang, u mean the world's best winger will be injured around rep time. What a shame. :D

sparkeel

World's best winger pfft :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Get your head out of your arse mate. I can guarentee the only rep jumper he will get is City V Country

Bulldog-Power

while a very good winger definetly not the world best winger

with out the ball willie tonga was giving him he wouldnt of done nearly as well in the tri nations

I reckon matt utai could perhaps be one of the worlds best wingers... luke rooney could never have scored those two tries in the grandfinal that utai did (and obviously because he wasnt playing but thats not the point)

but theres definetly a bit of bias in there on my part

Pantherjim.

sparkeel said:
World's best winger pfft :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Get your head out of your arse mate. I can guarentee the only rep jumper he will get is City V Country

And I'm gathering you would Slot Petersen or Tahu into the No's 2 and 5 jerseys for the Roos???

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Pantherjim.

Munky

The only mistake I have seen Rooney make in a big game was in City Vs Country last year, other than that he is solid and safe as houses.

Bulldog-Power, Rooney would never have let Matt Sing jump over three time for an identical try either.

To you Tahu lovers, how many tries were scored down Rooneys wing against him in the 3 origins?

Far less than what Turnstile Tahu let in, in his one Origin game.

Rooney the best winger out of dummy half in the game, in the first few tackles he will always make good ground and at the end of the game he has the ability to go straight through the middle off a dummy run as he did vs the Bulldogs at Penrith last year.

Pantherjim.

sparkeel said:
Petersen isn't even in first grade you fool and Tahu will be picked before the over rated Rooney 8)

:shock:
I do apologise, you are correct, It's John Morris and Luke Burt this year... but how was I to know after all, Petersen didn't do such a bad job at winger last year. (Albeit still no where near the calibre of Rooney)

I'd say it's all a bit of a gamble really putting Luke Burt and John Morris on the wings instead of Tahu and Petersen, but, anyway..... that's your coach :lol: :lol:

Brian Smith..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Pantherjim.

Pantherjim.

Munky said:
To you Tahu lovers, how many tries were scored down Rooneys wing against him in the 3 origins?

Far less than what Turnstile Tahu let in, in his one Origin game.

Agree Whole Heartedly.

Tahu is a good winger, but I'd never pick him for the Blues or the Roos over Rooney.

Pantherjim.

Pantherjim.

sparkeel said:
Luke Burt and Eric Grothe are actually on the wings and Johnny Morris is 5/8.

Must be an N.R.L website stuff-up because I could have sworn I saw in the line up in your game against the Tiges this Saturday Morris playing at No 5.

Still, I'd prefer Petersen starting to being on the bench if I was an Eels fan.

Pantherjim.

C.P

lyon is a saint said:

Im with that statement. However Pantherjim your reply is classic

[/quote]Pity he won't be staying in the NSW and Australian team this year
Also a true statement. I have posted my thoughts on this recently on the panthers forum. He was picked as scraps for the SOO last year. Is a just adequate winger who is benefitting from a lack of quality Australian wingers in the competition