Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rooster Rob Finch pushes C0ck son's barrow again

Brown blows up over ref chief's late call
By Greg Prichard
July 18, 2004
The Sun-Herald

St George Illawarra coach Nathan Brown is fuming that he was told of a crucial rule interpretation change only a day before the Dragons' 18-14 loss to the Sydney Roosters on Friday night.

Brown was talking about a NRL directive that defenders should be able to lie on a tackled player longer because dominant tacklers were not getting the reward they deserved.

Referees boss Robert Finch told the Dragons about the change at lunchtime on Thursday.

A furious Brown, obviously upset after losing on Friday night, approached NRL chief executive David Gallop in the dressing room afterwards and asked: "Do you reckon the Roosters would have known about that on Thursday lunchtime or earlier?"

Finch has defended his methods of communicating with clubs after Brown raised the issue.

NRL coaches were made aware of the directive through telephone calls from Finch, who is the father of Roosters halfback Brett Finch.

The Dragons received the information - related to dominant tackles and the fact referees would allow defenders to stay on the tackled player for a fraction longer from this weekend because it was felt the play-the-ball had become too fast - just before lunch on Thursday.

Finch said yesterday he could not believe his integrity would be questioned over an issue he believed had been blown out of proportion.

"It wasn't a rule change," he said. "It had been noticed that the amount of time defenders were being allowed to stay on the tackled player had decreased and we wanted to get it back to where it should be, that's all.

"We're talking about a fraction of a second here and I rang a number of coaches that I was due to ring this week to let them know that we were going to work to get it back to where it should be from this weekend.

"I'll be speaking to the rest of the coaches in the coming week.

"It isn't something so major that it demanded a memo being sent out.

"If it was a rule change or something else dramatic it would have sent out as an official memo. But this was just reiterating exactly what the rule stands for."

Finch said he spoke to coaches all the time and did not issue information in any particular order.

"I speak to the coaches at least once every week or every second week," he said. "Sometimes I'm able to contact them straight away or I have to wait for some to ring me back or whatever.

"I get information out and I don't think I need to detail whether I get it to one club five minutes before another or whatever.

"This is not as big as an issue as some people are making out."

Asked to describe his conversation with Brown, Gallop said: "Nathan expressed frustration with a rule interpretation. I suggested he talk to Finchy about it. I think Nathan would accept that there may have been a more appropriate time and place to register his concern."

Brown said he was upset that he not learned the information earlier than Thursday when he was preparing the team to play a game on Friday.

"I agree it didn't cost us the game," he said. "But it is a big part of the game."

Finch said he had spoken to Brown since the match and would speak to him again this week.

"I don't want to get into a slanging match with Brownie or any other coach," he said. "My way is to keep the lines of communication open and that's what I'm going to do."
---------------------------

For an idiot, Brown has asked a very, very good question there
Looks like the Roosters got the inside track AGAIN

beekershark

I bet Stuart/via his son brett, was the first coach on the list to call.

It stinks .

Simple answer for the NRL is Absolve themselves from any hint of corruption or bias, do not employ anyone in judgemental positions who has family in clubs who will benefit or be hindered by your decisions.

Goodbye RObert Finch.

Hmmm, anyone remember 2002 when the rule for the dominant tackle was re-interpreted about 10 rounds out from the finals ?

beekershark

THe league is happy to take income from the betting agencies, yet if a signifigant factor in a teams performance was aletered in the interpretation of a jockey/trainers or starters or stewards actions in a race, without punters knowledge, people would be outed for at least 6 months.

Yet Rugby league seems to be a rule to its own, particularly when the roosters are involved.

It Stinks.

PJ

Simple answer for the NRL is Absolve themselves from any hint of corruption or bias, do not employ anyone in judgemental positions who has family in clubs who will benefit or be hindered by your decisions.

Simple answer is the NRL sets the rules and interpretations at the start of the season and leaves them as such until the next season.

Now I am pissed as I've ever been as I write this so if I can work it out surely they can

but it screwed the dragons over, isn't that a good thing? :lol:

dreary

Bastard_Squad said:
Hmmm, anyone remember 2002 when the rule for the dominant tackle was re-interpreted about 10 rounds out from the finals ?

Was changed just after Gould made his complaints in his newspaper column and a funny thing happened after that ... the roosters were playing inconsistent footy and had just been well beaten by the sharks, then suddenly won the rest of their games that season and won the title.

You make a good point about horse racing beeker - this whole thing is a joke and it stinks to high heaven

It's good the Dragons got done but I dont dislike them considerably greater than the Roosters - at least the Dragons are a fair team and they should have been competing on an equal playing field.

The Roosters are getting to be a serious problem, a real blight on the game, in a large number of areas.

Sharkman

So he hasn't rung all the coaches yet, are all the refs going to police this? If so, how can he not have spoken to every coach, if they aren't, then why the %$&^%&^% have we got more inconsistencies from the refs.

It's a sham. Another late comp "readjustment" to suit to the Roosters. 2002 all over again.

I dont trust Finch one bit.

Shark

What if a coach wasn't available to immediately take his call?

It's a major thing, that clearly has a major effect on the outcomes of games being played within a couple of days.

Surely, hand delivered written circulars should have been sent out, by registered courier, or a telephone hook-up arranged with each coach online, or at least a member of the coaching staff, and EVERYONE gets told at once.

Just sitting at a desk, calling blokes up in random (well, except for that first call) is just not on. It's a serious breach of ethics, in my book. Like I said, what if you get to 12 out of 15 coaches, but the other three aren't available to talk? What are you gonna do, leave a voicemail message?

"Hi Stuey, listen mate, bit of a change for this weekend, this is how it's gonna work..."

They are KIDDING. For once, I agree with Nathan Brown on this. And I think Gallop was good too, by treating it as a discussion between two blokes that didn't need further reporting. If it was a ref or Finch or someone, Brown would be on all manner of charges. Just ask the Tigers.

Thankfully Gallop is a cut above the rest of the fools. He needs to sort Finch out though.

SaintTPP

Guys, he hasn't even rung all the coaches yet to tell them (its should be done at the SAME time, not to give anyone a head start, its not just or fair one bit), make sure you scream out to the players today to remind them. I think its utter rubish that the Roosters didn't knowthis atleast a week earlier than anyone else, afterall, all Robert had to do was tell his son to pass it on the the coach. :roll:

"SHARKS: The only silverware you'll find at cronulla HQ is in the cutlery drawer. no titles since joining the NRL in 1969."

Yeah mate hows it going btw???

The only good thing to come out of all of this is the fact that you guys got beaten!!
:clap:

Red V. Is that the red V in the roosters jumper or the St. George-Illawarra jumper?

wittyfan

Red V said:
Guys, he hasn't even rung all the coaches yet to tell them (its should be done at the SAME time, not to give anyone a head start, its not just or fair one bit), make sure you scream out to the players today to remind them. I think its utter rubish that the Roosters didn't knowthis atleast a week earlier than anyone else, afterall, all Robert had to do was tell his son to pass it on the the coach. :roll:

Pffft. Robert Finch is a man of integrity. You'd think Waterboy Brown would be conditioned these days to handling disappointment. :p