Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Roosters after Monaghan - Canberra Times

Big Poppa Pump

Penelope Pittstop said:
Pump old mate :lol: You know how this type of thread sh*ts me and I've been waiting for you to join in with me.

Fair dinkum PP, its a joke.

These green germs need to ask themselves why he wants out.

Kaz

junior
He advised Hodges to go to the Roosters & the Broncos banned talking to him for several years because Bennett had a hand shake agreement with them.

A few of the Broncos have him as their manager & when it was time to talk about contracts the Broncos spoke to the players & said, talk it over the contract with him, we want nothing to do with him.

So it suprises me that he has 'spoken' to them about Hodges returning.

Unless the Broncos are just talking to Justin.

Pump, it's pointless trying to explain it to them. Any one with an ounce of common bloody sense would wonder why he'd knocked back a more than reasonable offer.

Kaz, you know much I like Justin, and I beleive one of his main problems is his manager. If he wants back in with the Bronco's I wish him all the best. Part of his future success will be about making the decisions which are best for him not others.

azza

Big Poppa Pump said:
God all of these inbred Canberra scum sh*t me. You lot are the biggest f***ing waste of space since the Rams. You bitch & whine like pansey ass pussies about the Roosters yet this guy Monaghan is the one who has told you to shove your offer up your collective lime green arseholes. We have done bugger all except be a much better club, a much better team & quite frankly a much better place to live than the shithole that is Canberra. Perhaps you mongrel merkinz need to ask yourselves why the guy wants out?

BTW, thanks again for Brett Finch. The guy is a superstar. You stupid f*** let him go as well.

You are a joke.

In other news... well done Roosters for your win of Friday... awesome stuff.

azza

Penelope that's true but Boy this pump fella... what a slimebag... I don't care what's happened it doesn't justify treating supporters of another club like that, what an ape. I am sure you're aware of some of the conduct of certain supporters of your club (not all of them, just a select few) in the NRL forum which make them the most hated of all.

No worries about the wrap for you guys... deserve it Sticky has got you playing well.

Pump is a long term friend of mine and Azzo, I think that perhaps you are one of the minority Raiders supporters who treat others with a bit of respect. It's the age old question of the chicken and the egg. Treat us with respect and we will do the same. Give us grief and we'll track you down and burn your house down ;-)

As for the conduct of certain supporters from MY club, poke 'em with a stick and they bite. It works both ways mate.

roosterspremiers2002 said:
can I reiterate

KEEP Monaghan

We'll KEEP Cross

We'll keep winning games

We'll be premiers again

end of story

I'm terrified we are going to lose Ryan Cross. What a gyp is we lose Cross to the Raiders. Raiders management have already released a statement that they will be trying to pillage him.

Isn't it funny how everyone accuses us of pillaging yet in the last 2 weeks there are at least 2 clubs happy to come and scab our off contract players before their rooster shorts hit the change room floors.

Heres a story from a Canberra Newspaper.

Canberra turns to Kidwell and Pritchard
By Bevan Hannan
Friday, 25 June 2004

Hard-tackling Melbourne Storm lock David Kidwell and promising Penrith back-rower Frank Pritchard emerged as new targets for the Canberra Raiders yesterday.

Club management also edged closer to extending the contract of rising half-back Todd Carney in another busy lead-up day to the National Rugby League's mid-year trading period.

While the retention of star forward Ruben Wiki stands as a major battle for the Raiders at the fall of the June 30 anti-tampering deadline, there were a number of new developments yesterday including:

Local junior Matt Gafa poised to sign an upgraded and extended deal that will tie him to the Raiders until 2006.

General manager Don Furner said the Raiders had positive discussions with Carney's manager on a bid to lock-up the teenager until 2008.

Canberra signalled a play for 20-year-old Panther Pritchard, who was named as 18th man in the Kiwi ANZAC Test squad earlier this year. Pritchard is likely to remain in Sydney although the Raiders are more confident of luring fellow Kiwi, and former Rooster's premiership player, Kidwell from Melbourne.

Six NRL clubs are queueing for the services of boom Raiders' centre Joel Monaghan.

Rising forwards Alan Rothery and Kris Kahler are yet to be made offers by the Raiders.

A leading player manager described the frenzied player market as "Super League-style of bidding".

Furner said the Raiders had made a decision to adopt a youth policy with its recruitment strategy, rather than paying inflated prices for established players. While Canberra would register expressions of interest with quality centres Brent Tate (Brisbane), Ryan Cross (Roosters) and Timana Tahu (Newcastle), Furner said it would be difficult for the Raiders to compete with offers inflated by interest from both rugby codes.

As a result Furner and coach Matt Elliott are sifting through the names of players who will become available on 1 July, while foundation coach Don Furner snr, and former great Mal Meninga are playing talent-spotting roles interstate.

"There are a lot players coming on to the market after 30 June," Furner, jnr, said. "We will be looking at 20 to 21-year-olds who can bring long-term value to the club."

Goulburn junior Carney is clearly central to the plans, while the Raiders are also seeking to sign winger Michael Robertson in the next week. Furner said the Raiders had every intention of keeping Rothery and Kahler, and were aiming to make offers before 30 June.

It is understood gifted goalkicker Gafa has all but signed a two-year deal. But the Raiders will have to overcome significant competition to keep prolific tryscorer Monaghan.

Manager Jim Banaghan said Monaghan would wait and see who the Raiders had on their books plus weigh up offers from six NRL clubs he expected to field next week. However, Banaghan made an ominous warning about the imminent bidding war.

"Joel wishes to be at a strong club, going forward and having the best opportunity he can to win a premiership and play representative football," Banaghan said.

"He has had a good couple of years and for some reason this year we are entering into the Super League domain of bidding.

"There is a good bunch of premium players on the market. There is also a number of clubs in the last couple of years who have been holding back and are cashed up."

Canberra CEO Simon Hawkins did not agree that overall player prices had returned to Super League days, but did admit he was surprised with the size of the bids at the top end of market. Banaghan also said Wigan chairman Maurice Lindsay arrived in Australia yesterday. The duo had a telephone conversation but were not expected to sit down and discuss an offer for Wiki until early next week.

So, Kidwell, Prichard, Brent Tate (Brisbane), Ryan Cross (Roosters) and Timana Tahu (Newcastle), are all being targeted by the raiders according to their own management. Monaghan is being targeted by 6 other clubs. Yet all we here about is the Roosters.

"Joel wishes to be at a strong club, going forward and having the best opportunity he can to win a premiership and play representative football," Banaghan said

Those comments s*** me no end.

Let me get things straight, I have nothing against the Roosters or their fans, but, it sounds to me like he's doing a Finch, and jumping ship from a club that is rebuilding and has the potential to be a force one day, so he can have it all now, now, NOW!

If that's the case I have no respect for him whatsoever.

Timbo said:
"Joel wishes to be at a strong club, going forward and having the best opportunity he can to win a premiership and play representative football," Banaghan said

Those comments s*** me no end.

Let me get things straight, I have nothing against the Roosters or their fans, but, it sounds to me like he's doing a Finch, and jumping ship from a club that is rebuilding and has the potential to be a force one day, so he can have it all now, now, NOW!

If that's the case I have no respect for him whatsoever.

If he has in fact stated that it would be very hard for him to stay there and look his team mates in the eye and them have respect for him. He has basically said (if alleged is true) that he thinks his team mates aren't good enough for him. David Kidwell will be a great buy if Canberra can get him. I'd be surprised Melbourne don't want to keep David he is a very handy player (an international) and very under rated. One of my favourite players.

i didnt start this thread to shit stir
simpley asking rooster fasn on their take on such an issue

you guys dont seem to be all that keen on him and would prefer to keep cross
me and most others arnt keen on cross and would prefer to keep monaghan, why the f**k cant we be running negotiations :cry: :lol:

seriously thou, do you guys think you will make a serious bid at monaghan or is this just some slime bag of a manager being a merkin?

Im also one of not many that rate Kidwell very highly
IMO if we re-sign monnas, robbo and wiki
plus sign Jason Smith (alrady done) and David Kidwell i will consider it a very good silly season
unfortunatly it looks like we will lose one possibly both of Wiki and Monnas :cry:

Here is a statement from Banaghan

Monaghan not a Rooster yet: manager
By Steve Mascord
June 28, 2004

Agent Jim Banaghan denied last night Canberra centre Joel Monaghan had been lined up to replace departing Justin Hodges at Sydney Roosters next season.

The Roosters, 56-0 winners over Wests Tigers on Friday night, are preparing to release Hodges on compassionate grounds to return to the Broncos.

The development has led to speculation that off-contract Monaghan, also managed by Banaghan, will be heading to Bondi Junction next year.

"I wouldn't think so," Banaghan said. "Joel is like every other player off contract at the end of June 30 - he is waiting until then and finding out his value on the open market."

He added that Hodges would be at the Broncos next season "if certain conditions were met".

Melbourne second-rower David Kidwell, yet to re-sign with the Storm, is set to receive a two-year offer from Canberra.

http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/06/27/1088274629733.html

Kidwell is meeting with our management today
i expect him to sign today, less money for us to give to monnas :cry:

ALL CANBERRA SUPPORTERS CAN REST EASY ROOSTERS WONT SIGN MONAGHAN NOW THEY JUST SIGNED RYAN CROSS FOR A FURTHER 2 YEARS

JUST ON KIDWELL HE WOULD BE A GREAT SIGNING HE IS A UNDERATED PLAYER